Imatge de l'autor

Stephanie Burgis

Autor/a de Kat, Incorrigible

62+ obres 2,240 Membres 193 Ressenyes 2 preferits

Sobre l'autor

Crèdit de la imatge: Author photo from official website https://www.stephanieburgis.com/about-me/

Sèrie

Obres de Stephanie Burgis

Kat, Incorrigible (2010) 465 exemplars
The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart (2017) 272 exemplars
Snowspelled (2017) 202 exemplars
Renegade Magic (2011) 158 exemplars
Stolen Magic (2012) 125 exemplars
Masks and Shadows (2016) 112 exemplars
The Girl with the Dragon Heart (2018) 90 exemplars
Scales and Sensibility (2021) 78 exemplars
Thornbound (2019) 70 exemplars
Moontangled (2020) 63 exemplars
Spellswept (2018) 56 exemplars
Congress of Secrets (2016) 49 exemplars
The Raven Heir (2021) 45 exemplars
Courting Magic (2014) 40 exemplars
The Underwater Ballroom Society (2018) — Editor — 40 exemplars
Frostgilded (2020) 30 exemplars
Claws and Contrivances (2023) 24 exemplars
Dueling Magics (2013) 23 exemplars
Touchstones: A Collection (2022) 21 exemplars
Spellcloaked (2021) 15 exemplars
The Art of Deception (2016) 15 exemplars
The Wrong Foot (2018) 12 exemplars
A Most Improper Boxed Set (2014) 12 exemplars
Undead Philosophy 101 (2012) 11 exemplars
Dangerous Flames 10 exemplars
House of Secrets (2016) 10 exemplars
Flying Magic (2016) 9 exemplars
Forbidden Magic (2017) 7 exemplars
Some Girlfriends Can (2004) 7 exemplars
Olivia, Invisible (2019) 5 exemplars
Futuristica: Volume 1 (2016) — Col·laborador — 5 exemplars
Shadow Duet (2017) 4 exemplars
Giant 4 exemplars
The Raven Throne (2023) 3 exemplars
Deadly Courtesies (2020) 3 exemplars
Fine Deceptions (2020) 3 exemplars
Fierce Company 3 exemplars
Locked Doors 2 exemplars
Spells for Home 1 exemplars
Foxwoman 1 exemplars
Crow 1 exemplars
Behind the Rules 1 exemplars
Accident of Birth 1 exemplars
Girl in Boots 1 exemplars

Obres associades

Running with the Pack (2010) — Col·laborador — 149 exemplars
Unidentified Funny Objects (1880) — Col·laborador — 90 exemplars
Willful Impropriety: 13 Tales of Society, Scandal, and Romance (2012) — Col·laborador — 82 exemplars
Bewere the Night (2011) — Col·laborador — 77 exemplars
Luminescent Threads: Connections to Octavia E. Butler (2017) — Col·laborador — 57 exemplars
Letters to Tiptree (2015) — Col·laborador — 54 exemplars
The Lone Star Stories Reader (2008) — Col·laborador — 23 exemplars
Future Bristol (2009) — Col·laborador — 21 exemplars
Jabberwocky (2006) — Col·laborador — 11 exemplars
Belong (2010) — Col·laborador — 8 exemplars
Insert Title Here (2015) — Col·laborador — 6 exemplars
Wicked Women (2014) — Col·laborador — 6 exemplars
Beneath Ceaseless Skies Issue #166 (2015) — Col·laborador — 6 exemplars
Wax & Wane: A Gathering of Witch Tales (2016) — Col·laborador — 4 exemplars
Beneath Ceaseless Skies Issue #210 (2016) — Col·laborador — 2 exemplars
BSFA Awards 2021: Awards Booklet (2022) — Col·laborador — 2 exemplars
Daily Science Fiction: February 2020 — Col·laborador — 1 exemplars
Daily Science Fiction: May 2014 (2014) — Col·laborador — 1 exemplars

Etiquetat

Coneixement comú

Nom normalitzat
Burgis, Stephanie
Data de naixement
1977
Gènere
female
Nacionalitat
USA
UK
Lloc de naixement
East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Llocs de residència
Wales, UK
Educació
Clarion West (2001)
Professions
fantasy writer
Relacions
Samphire, Patrick (husband)
Organitzacions
Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America

Membres

Ressenyes

"For God’s sake, is no one in this household available to bring me a cup of tea when I ring for it? Have I hired you all to do nothing?"
 
Marcat
Jon_Hansen | Hi ha 9 ressenyes més | Mar 4, 2024 |
{stand-alone/ omnibus Good Neighbours 1-4; fantasy, magic, necromancy, romance, light & fun}(2022)

Told in the first person, this is a collection of short series about Mia (who has metallurgical powers, hitherto unknown in this world) who lives, with her dad, next door to the unfairly attractive, outrageous necromancer Leander Fabian. A light and fun fantasy romance.

This reads as obviously a collection rather than a novel even though the chapters follow a timeline because information is reintroduced at the beginning of chapters. In spite of that, it works fairly well as one narrative, which is how I read it; usually I rate individual stories in a collection individually and then average out for the book but I'm rating this one as one story.

1- Good Neighbours

Mia and her father have, despite the friendly warnings from the locals who are suspicious of spellcrafters (not realising that Mia has magical powers), recently moved next door to a necromancer's castle. But Mia has secrets of her own and is happy to leave her neighbour alone and be left alone - until he sends his undead minions to her home.

This was fun and it looked like Burgis had fun writing this story.

2- Deadly Courtesies

Mia perforce agrees to accompany Leander to the Necromancers' Ball to be his second in a duel, accoutred in a metal dress of her own design. And maybe her new ally will turn into something more than just an ally ... if she'll let him.

Not quite as light-hearted as the first but Mia proves she's no damsel in distress, even if she has to create her own magical dress.

3- Fine Deceptions

Mia's dad and Leander's mentor find an excuse to send them to the other side of the country together - everyone seems to know how they feel about each other except Mia herself. Once there, they find the city even more prejudiced against spellcrafters than anything they've yet experienced, to the extent that the local magic wielders are living in hiding in fear of their lives.

A little bit more serious but still fun.

4- Fierce Company

The prejudices Mia and Leander encountered in their last adventure follow them home to roost. And, more scarily perhaps, Mia meets Leander's family.

Also deals with serious issues but fun and with a happily ever after ending.

(January 2024)
3.5 stars
… (més)
½
 
Marcat
humouress | Hi ha 5 ressenyes més | Feb 12, 2024 |
This is a fun short story that inserts a scene from Georgie's POV at the end of Claws & Contrivances. (We see the result of this scene in C&C, but since it's not Rose's POV it wouldn't have made sense to see the scene itself.) It's a cute and fun scene, though naturally it makes no sense without having read C&C. This is a fun bonus, though, especially for fans of Georgie and Amina.
½
 
Marcat
ca.bookwyrm | Feb 10, 2024 |
Very cute short story/chapter that takes place 3 years after the main book and adds to some of the side characters' storylines. This is absolutely optional, but it was very fun and fast to read.
 
Marcat
ca.bookwyrm | Feb 10, 2024 |

Llistes

Premis

Potser també t'agrada

Autors associats

Estadístiques

Obres
62
També de
19
Membres
2,240
Popularitat
#11,449
Valoració
3.8
Ressenyes
193
ISBN
119
Llengües
5
Preferit
2

Gràfics i taules