Foto de l'autor

Andrea Cheng (1957–2015)

Autor/a de The Year of the Book

28 obres 2,213 Membres 96 Ressenyes

Sobre l'autor

Andrea Cheng was born on September 19, 1957. After receiving a BA in English from Cornell University, she went to Switzerland, where she apprenticed to a bookbinder, attended a school of bookbinding called The Centro del Bel Libro, and learned French. Upon her return, she received an MS in mostra'n més linguistics from Cornell University. She taught English as a Second Language and children's literature at Cincinnati State Technical and Community College. She was a children's author and illustrator. Her books included Grandfather Counts, Marika, The Key Collection, Honeysuckle House, Where the Steps Were, The Bear Makers, Brushing Mom's Hair, and the Year of... chapter book series. She died after a long illness on December 26, 2015 at the age of 58. (Bowker Author Biography) mostra'n menys

Sèrie

Obres de Andrea Cheng

The Year of the Book (2013) 723 exemplars, 25 ressenyes
Marika (2002) 262 exemplars, 5 ressenyes
The Year of the Baby (2013) 188 exemplars, 5 ressenyes
The Year of the Fortune Cookie (2014) 152 exemplars, 2 ressenyes
Anna the Bookbinder (2003) 80 exemplars, 4 ressenyes
Honeysuckle House (2004) 57 exemplars, 2 ressenyes
The Year of the Three Sisters (2015) 57 exemplars, 1 ressenya
Only One Year (2010) 56 exemplars, 6 ressenyes
Shanghai Messenger (2005) 51 exemplars
Goldfish and Chrysanthemums (2003) 49 exemplars
The Year of the Garden (2017) 48 exemplars, 4 ressenyes
Where the Steps Were (2008) 38 exemplars, 1 ressenya
The Lemon Sisters (2006) 37 exemplars, 1 ressenya
Brushing Mom's Hair (2009) 31 exemplars, 3 ressenyes
The Key Collection (2003) 29 exemplars, 1 ressenya
When the Bees Fly Home (2002) 23 exemplars
The Lace Dowry (2005) 22 exemplars
Tire Mountain (2007) 18 exemplars, 1 ressenya
The Bear Makers (2008) 17 exemplars, 2 ressenyes
Where Do You Stay? (2011) 15 exemplars, 1 ressenya
Eclipse (2006) 10 exemplars, 1 ressenya
Bees in the City (2017) 10 exemplars, 1 ressenya

Etiquetat

Coneixement comú

Membres

Ressenyes

Fourth grader Anna Chang loves reading so much that she’s often caught with her nose in a book, whether that’s in the classroom, at recess, on the bus, or even when walking! But as the school year progresses from fall to spring, she learns that some of the best memories are made in the here and now, with family and friends by her side.

This is a sweet book about the everyday adventures of childhood, from creating a homemade Halloween costume to sewing lunch bags from donated fabric scraps to making paper airplanes and taking them for a spin. Although a few heavier topics come up (such as some casual racism and a divorce that is far from amicable), the book remains optimistic overall.

Anna and her family are endearing, as are the myriad of folks in their lives from a caring teacher to a chatty crossing guard to an elderly neighbors with a penchant for giving away things he's no longer using. I could easily see why readers would want to progress on to the rest of the series to spend more time with these characters.

There is a great deal of diversity in the book; Anna's family is of Chinese descent, with her mother being an immigrant; her mother is also a nontraditional college student; there is the friend whose parents are going through a divorce; there's use of wheelchairs for both temporary and permanent disabilities; and so on.

This book is perfect for fans of Beverly Cleary’s Ramona series, especially if readers are ready to move on to a slightly older protagonist but not quite ready for the darker "problem novel" titles that pepper middle grade literature.
… (més)
½
 
Marcat
sweetiegherkin | Hi ha 24 ressenyes més | Jun 5, 2023 |
What a wonderful, sweet little book about kindness and friendship. It was full of goodness, and I highly recommend it to kids and grownups who love children's literature.
 
Marcat
Harks | Hi ha 24 ressenyes més | Dec 17, 2022 |
Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
 
Marcat
fernandie | Sep 15, 2022 |
4th grader Anna Wang is often reading a book. She likes them, but it's also an escape from complicated friendship dynamics. What I particularly like about this book is that Anna doesn't jump at befriending another girl when she gets the chance -- she takes her time and the friendship grows based on real connections. Her immigrant parents work very hard, but still make space for Laura (the new friend) to have a safe place to be as her parents separate and her father becomes threatening. There are lots of kind adults in Anna's life as well -- Mr. Shepherd, who struggles with asking for help getting in and out of his wheelchair since his wife passed away, Ray, the crossing guard, who checks in with her every day, Teacher Zhen at Chinese school and Ms. Simmons in her classroom. The book has a quiet energy to it -- many things happen day to day, and Anna reads many excellent books and altogether it's just a really nice book in itself. Like a slighly less zany Ramona with craft projects and reading.… (més)
 
Marcat
jennybeast | Hi ha 24 ressenyes més | Apr 14, 2022 |

Llistes

Premis

Potser també t'agrada

Autors associats

Patrice Barton Illustrator
Abigail Halpin Illustrator
Nicole Wong Illustrator
Ed Young Illustrator

Estadístiques

Obres
28
Membres
2,213
Popularitat
#11,589
Valoració
3.8
Ressenyes
96
ISBN
90
Llengües
1

Gràfics i taules