Imatge de l'autor
20+ obres 2,759 Membres 106 Ressenyes

Sèrie

Obres de Tim Federle

Obres associades

Etiquetat

Coneixement comú

Nom oficial
Federle, Timothy Michael
Data de naixement
1980-03-24
Gènere
male
Nacionalitat
USA
Lloc de naixement
Foster City, California, USA
Llocs de residència
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
New York, New York, USA

Membres

Ressenyes

Nate Foster may not be the world's best singer or dancer or actor or...anything, but he's taking Broadway by storm with his enthusiasm. This charming follow-up to [b:Better Nate Than Ever|13414183|Better Nate Than Ever|Tim Federle|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1391970255s/13414183.jpg|18707527] finds Nate understudying the title role in the new musical E.T. alongside his nemesis, the perfect Jordan Rylance who's starring as Elliot. Nate is funny and charming as a bumbling success. He relies on his BFF Libby via Skype and texting. He makes friends and enemies. He does some serious growing up and becomes an even more lovable character.

One important detail is that this story, unlike the first, lets Nate explore his romantic interests a bit towards the end of the book. If Tim Federle wants to write a third installment in the Nate saga, I'll surely read it! (Or probably listen to it, as Federle does a fantastic job narrating the audiobook.)
… (més)
 
Marcat
LibrarianDest | Hi ha 13 ressenyes més | Jan 3, 2024 |
A funny, wacky adventure about a boy who loves Broadway musicals. Nate and his best friend Libby cook up a plan to get him from small-town Pennsylvania to NYC to audition for E.T. The Musical while his parents are on vacation. Nate's amusing and self-deprecating narration make this a fun, heartwarming read. You really root for bumbling, lovable Nate as he miraculously makes his way through NYC and the Broadway audition process. My favorite scene had theater newbie Nate making a hilarious mistake when he was asked to read sides from the play. I was cracking up!

I put this book on my "LGBTQ" shelf because Nate is bullied in his hometown for being perceived as gay. Nate himself says he's "undecided" (he actually wants to say, "Hey, jerks, I'm thirteen, leave me alone. Macaroni and cheese is still my favorite food--how would I know who I want to hook up with?"). As the book progresses, it's clear that Nate is drawn to New York not just because of Broadway, but also because he sees out gay people and it's normal.

For musical theater lovers (and probably fans of the TV show Glee) this is a great pick. And even the author bio is funny: "Tim Federle is the author of over seven hundred emails." Ha!
… (més)
 
Marcat
LibrarianDest | Hi ha 51 ressenyes més | Jan 3, 2024 |
Federle kills it again with the audiobook. So likable and funny and emotional. Lots of swearing and teenage boy stuff in this, but I wasn't put off by it. It all came across as realistic, if a little too witty to be true. Fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and David Levithan look no further. This is for you. And if you liked [b:Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda|19547856|Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda|Becky Albertalli|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1402915678s/19547856.jpg|27679579] YOU MUST READ [OR LISTEN TO] THIS.

I will say that I've griped all year (so far) about the books I'm reading being too depressing. This one is sad as one of the main plot points is the tragic death of a young person. But somehow it was still enjoyable. Not saccharine, not maudlin. The story takes place six months after the tragedy, so it's not completely raw. The main characters have gone through the first stages and grief offscreen and are beginning to come to terms with life again.

Movie buffs will appreciate all the classic film references and the main character's habit of seeing life through the lens of a screenplay. I'm in my 30s, but I remember well being a teenager and wishing my life could be more like a movie (or a book or a TV show or a play - I wasn't limited by format). It really rang true.

At the end of the audiobook, Federle offers some behind-the-scenes stuff: his inspiration for writing the book, how he's similar to his main character Quinn, and the authors who've influenced him. He mentions the book [b:Mindset: The New Psychology of Success|40745|Mindset The New Psychology of Success|Carol S. Dweck|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1436227012s/40745.jpg|40330] as helping him to become a writer after being a dancer on Broadway. Thank you to the author of that book because Federle's work is so amazing for young readers! I hope he's working on a new one right now.
… (més)
 
Marcat
LibrarianDest | Hi ha 15 ressenyes més | Jan 3, 2024 |
Charming middle grade novel about a small town boy with Broadway dreams.
 
Marcat
secondhandrose | Hi ha 51 ressenyes més | Oct 31, 2023 |

Llistes

Premis

Potser també t'agrada

Autors associats

Estadístiques

Obres
20
També de
3
Membres
2,759
Popularitat
#9,298
Valoració
3.9
Ressenyes
106
ISBN
104
Llengües
2

Gràfics i taules