Foto de l'autor

Alan Parks

Autor/a de Bloody January

23 obres 515 Membres 44 Ressenyes 1 preferits

Sobre l'autor

Inclou el nom: Alan Parks


Obres de Alan Parks

Bloody January (2017) 157 exemplars
February's Son (2019) 90 exemplars
Bobby March Will Live Forever (2020) 56 exemplars
The April Dead (2021) 35 exemplars
May God Forgive (2022) 35 exemplars
To Die in June (2023) 9 exemplars
Bloody Hell, What's An Alpaca? (2012) 5 exemplars
Bobby Mars for ever (2022) 2 exemplars
Muerte en abril (2023) 2 exemplars


Coneixement comú

Lloc de naixement
Eastbourne, East Sussex, England, UK
Llocs de residència
Andalucia, Spain
Biografia breu
Alan Parks was born in Eastbourne, East Sussex in 1978. In 2004 Alan's Dad died of cancer after he also went through a long term illness and two liver transplants. One of his mottos was always 'live life for today, life is too short'. That philosophy has encouraged Alan to get out there and pursue his dreams.

Alan's life changed for the better (he is constantly reminded) when he met Lorna in 2003. Work consisted of fairly mundane, mainly managerial posts. In 2008, Alan and Lorna moved to rural Andalucía, Spain, and now live in an old Olive Mill, off-grid, with a menagerie of animals. [from Author Page, retrieved 8/1/2015]



Set in January 1973, this is a bleak story of detective Harry McCoy’s conflict with an influential family in Glasgow. Too much blood, gore, sex, drugs and alcohol. I had trouble warming to the story or any of the characters and won’t be picking up any others by the author.
VivienneR | Hi ha 10 ressenyes més | Jan 15, 2024 |
Glasgow in the 1970s this is a brilliant Scottish noir crime thriller that portrays that time brilliantly.
It is the second book in this series and personally i wish i had read the first book Bloody January first but it was still a great read and i will be looking out for further books by Alan Parks.
DebTat2 | Hi ha 7 ressenyes més | Oct 13, 2023 |
February’s Son by Alan Parks is the second book in his police procedural series featuring Detective Harry McCoy. Set in Glasgow during 1973, the story is both about a current set of grisly murders and about Harry McCoy’s troubled life – past and present. The mutilated bodies are the work of a well known gangster who appears to have gone off his meds and is spiralling downwards. Meanwhile Harry’s childhood best friend, Stevie Cooper, is competing for control of Glasgow’s underworld and also appears to know more about the murders than he should. Then when a ghost from their past shows up, they feel that they must finally retaliate.

There is a lot going on in this book and the stories entwine and overlap but the author keeps control and delivers a harsh yet engrossing story. Harry is carrying a lot of pain around with him and he often counteracts his feelings with drugs and alcohol. He is far from perfect, but he does his best to stay on the right side of the law most of the time.

I have enjoyed the first two books of this series and am looking forward to continuing on reading about Harry and his workmates and friends in the future.
… (més)
DeltaQueen50 | Hi ha 7 ressenyes més | Jul 6, 2023 |
Life is complicated for Detective Harry McCoy. He has been sent to another station with a mission to look into corruption, his father is struggling with his alcoholism, someone is killing the down-and-outs, a woman reports her child as missing and turf wars are about to erupt. on the positive side, he has an unexpected romance to deal with.
Parks is putting together a really impressive oeuvre with his Glaswegian Noir novels. Here the setting in the1970s is pitch perfect, casual references to fashion and music as well as authentic slang ground the narrative. McCoy is a great anti-hero but with ever increasing morals and the plotlines are wonderfully obtuse and yet tie in, offer some completion and leave the door ajar from episode 7.… (més)
pluckedhighbrow | Jun 15, 2023 |


Potser també t'agrada



Gràfics i taules