Imatge de l'autor

Michelle Rowen

Autor/a de Falling Kingdoms

57+ obres 8,982 Membres 326 Ressenyes 16 preferits

Sobre l'autor

Bestselling and award-winning author Michelle Rowen's books include the Immortality Bites series for Grand Central Publishing. She has been on the Waldenbooks bestsellers list as well as winning a HOLT Medallion for her first book, Bitten & Smitten. She has also written futuristic romantic suspense mostra'n més as Michelle Maddox. Under the new pen name Rachel Connor, Michelle is currently working on a pair of supernatural thrillers due out in 2011. (Bowker Author Biography) mostra'n menys

Sèrie

Obres de Michelle Rowen

Falling Kingdoms (2012) 1,791 exemplars
Rebel Spring (2013) 775 exemplars
Bitten and Smitten (2006) 708 exemplars
Gathering Darkness (2014) 629 exemplars
Frozen Tides (2015) 498 exemplars
Crystal Storm (2016) 407 exemplars
Fanged and Fabulous (2007) 374 exemplars
A Book of Spirits and Thieves (2015) 313 exemplars
Immortal Reign (2018) 305 exemplars
Lady & the Vamp (2008) 279 exemplars
Stakes & Stilettos (2009) 254 exemplars
Dark Kiss (2012) 243 exemplars
Tall, Dark, and Fangsome (2009) 228 exemplars
The Demon in Me (2010) 218 exemplars
Angel with Attitude (2006) 215 exemplars
Reign or Shine (2009) 198 exemplars
Nightshade (2010) 179 exemplars
The Darkest Magic (2016) 150 exemplars
Echoes and Empires (2022) 100 exemplars
Reign Check (2010) 98 exemplars
Blood Bath and Beyond (2012) 97 exemplars
Bloodlust (2011) 97 exemplars
Wicked Kiss (2013) 93 exemplars
Countdown (2008) 76 exemplars
Something Wicked (2010) 75 exemplars
Bled and Breakfast (2013) 50 exemplars
That Old Black Magic (2011) 46 exemplars
Hot Spell (2009) 34 exemplars
Reign Fall (2011) 31 exemplars
Obsidian Blade (2016) 27 exemplars
From Fear to Eternity (2014) 27 exemplars
Crimson Dagger (2016) 27 exemplars
Inevitable (2011) 23 exemplars
Legends and Liars (2023) 21 exemplars
Touch and Go (2010) 19 exemplars
The Cursed Heir (2018) 18 exemplars
Familiar (2010) 10 exemplars
Reign Storm 8 exemplars
Countdown (2014) 4 exemplars
El reinado inmortal (2018) 3 exemplars

Obres associades

The Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance (2009) — Col·laborador — 417 exemplars
Primal (2011) — Col·laborador — 321 exemplars
Kiss Me Deadly: 13 Tales of Paranormal Love (2010) — Col·laborador — 254 exemplars
Bewitched, Bothered, and BeVampyred (20-in-1) (2005) — Col·laborador — 127 exemplars
Once Upon a Valentine [Anthology 3-in-1] (2012) — Col·laborador — 22 exemplars
Bewitched, Bothered, and BeVampyred 2: Fangs Again (25-in-1) (2006) — Col·laborador — 19 exemplars

Etiquetat

Coneixement comú

Altres noms
Rhodes, Morgan
Data de naixement
02-17
Gènere
female
Nacionalitat
Canada
Llocs de residència
Ontario, Canada

Membres

Ressenyes

This was a pretty solid installment of the "Falling Kingdoms" series- it definitely moved the plot forwards, introduced a couple promising characters (I want to know more about Prince Ashur!), and I can see the overall plot being something I *really* get into. I'm for sure reading the next book!

I do think a couple aspects could use some improvement. Firstly- where tf are the adults in this book? Like, I know it's YA and adults generally don't have as much as a role, but come on. I especially had a tricky time reading about the rebel camp because it's seriously composed of ALL TEENS. I find it impossible to believe that no adults in Auranos are actively trying to protest the new king and also apparently never interact with Jonas's rebels. Side note: Jonas bugs me- how did this wishy washy boy with very little skill at thinking ahead become leader of the rebels??? I protest.

Secondly, the writing and dialogue is fairly predictable. Nothing in this book surprised me or went in a direction I couldn't see coming. This series gets compared to "Game of Thrones" quite a lot, but where GoT throws in sucker punches and rips the rug out from under you, "Falling Kingdoms" has (so far) gone down a much more predictable route. Fingers crossed for some more unexpectedness in the rest of the series!

Lastly, there is so much sidestepping and teasing in this book! I understand that it's a 6-book series and things build up over time, but all the chapters with King Gaius or the Watchers just seemed to be there so Rhodes could tease about what the true purpose is of the road. There's a fine line between building up and dragging things on, and Rhodes is straddling that line.

Also- UGH I was starting to have hope for Magnus as a character, but Chapter 23 just made him even a bigger jerk in my eyes. He's so aggressive and harsh towards Cleo and the way he pushes her around (literally) is just awful. I JUST WANT TO SEE MORE OF CLEO AND LUCIA TEAMING UP! YASSSS GIRLS YASSSSS.

So anyways. A good installment but there's plenty of room for improvement! On to book 3 :)
… (més)
 
Marcat
deborahee | Hi ha 28 ressenyes més | Feb 23, 2024 |
Falling Kingdoms By Morgan Rhodes I really liked this book. Many books claim to be very Games of thrones inspired but this is the first book that I think really captured the same brutally the GRR Martin has in that series. 
 
This books follows three different kingdoms that all used to be part of a larger country. One Country is in total power and the other two are just struggling to get surviving. This books follows all the teens in these places and it so fast paced novel. I was not expecting the death in this book and really grew attached to characters. I did see many similar topics that are in GOT so it was hard to give it five stars. I hope that after this book it really becomes something more individual and less predictable but I really loved how this book just captured me and and I liked all the characters.
 
This book is great for fans of GOT or Mortal instruments. 
 
Check out my video Review 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWzRzL-K7Dc
… (més)
 
Marcat
lmauro123 | Hi ha 88 ressenyes més | Dec 28, 2023 |
Falling Kingdoms By Morgan Rhodes I really liked this book. Many books claim to be very Games of thrones inspired but this is the first book that I think really captured the same brutally the GRR Martin has in that series. 
 
This books follows three different kingdoms that all used to be part of a larger country. One Country is in total power and the other two are just struggling to get surviving. This books follows all the teens in these places and it so fast paced novel. I was not expecting the death in this book and really grew attached to characters. I did see many similar topics that are in GOT so it was hard to give it five stars. I hope that after this book it really becomes something more individual and less predictable but I really loved how this book just captured me and and I liked all the characters.
 
This book is great for fans of GOT or Mortal instruments. 
 
Check out my video Review 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWzRzL-K7Dc
… (més)
 
Marcat
lmauro123 | Hi ha 88 ressenyes més | Dec 28, 2023 |
Video review coming soon!
 
Marcat
VanessaMarieBooks | Hi ha 88 ressenyes més | Dec 10, 2023 |

Llistes

Premis

Potser també t'agrada

Autors associats

Estadístiques

Obres
57
També de
6
Membres
8,982
Popularitat
#2,676
Valoració
½ 3.7
Ressenyes
326
ISBN
277
Llengües
10
Preferit
16

Gràfics i taules