Imatge de l'autor

Chris Wooding

Autor/a de Retribution Falls

46+ obres 7,087 Membres 272 Ressenyes 21 preferits
Hi ha 1 un debat obert sobre aquest autor. Mira'l ara.

Sobre l'autor

Crèdit de la imatge: Chris Wooding


Obres de Chris Wooding

Retribution Falls (2009) 988 exemplars
Poison (2003) 765 exemplars
The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray (2001) 740 exemplars
Storm Thief (2006) 648 exemplars
Malice (2009) 457 exemplars
The Black Lung Captain (2010) 389 exemplars
The Iron Jackal (2011) 297 exemplars
The Ember Blade (2018) 254 exemplars
The Weavers of Saramyr (2005) 245 exemplars
Silver (2013) 240 exemplars
The Skein of Lament (2004) 193 exemplars
The Ace of Skulls (2013) 183 exemplars
Havoc (2010) 178 exemplars
Pandemonium (2012) 158 exemplars
The Fade (2007) 153 exemplars
Broken Sky #1: Escape the evil. (1999) 121 exemplars
The Ascendancy Veil (2005) 117 exemplars
Kerosene (1999) 109 exemplars
Broken Sky #2: Defy It! (1999) 89 exemplars
Broken Sky #3: Survive. (2000) 70 exemplars
Broken Sky #6: Take Control! (1656) 67 exemplars
The Citadel (2001) 64 exemplars
Pale (2012) 60 exemplars
Broken Sky #5: Truth Hurts. (1999) 60 exemplars
Crashing (1998) 58 exemplars
Broken Sky #4: Revenge! (1999) 56 exemplars
Velocity (2015) 54 exemplars
The Twilight War (2000) 31 exemplars
The Shadow Casket (2023) 28 exemplars
Communion (2008) 25 exemplars
Endgame (2000) 17 exemplars
Catchman (1998) 17 exemplars
Broken Sky Part 8 (1999) 16 exemplars
Broken Sky Part 9 (1999) 13 exemplars
Out of This World (2020) 6 exemplars
Broken Sky Part 7 (1999) 4 exemplars
Viharni tat 1 exemplars
Jack from Earth (2019) 1 exemplars

Obres associades

The Restless Dead: Ten Original Stories of the Supernatural (2009) — Col·laborador — 197 exemplars


Coneixement comú

Nom normalitzat
Wooding, Chris
Data de naixement
Lloc de naixement
Leicester, Leicestershire, England, UK
Llocs de residència
London, England, UK
University of Sheffield (BA|English Literature)



Found: Help with a fantasy book title! a Name that Book (març 24)


Top notch adventure. This is the type of escapism I live for.
hubrisinmotion | Hi ha 63 ressenyes més | Nov 14, 2023 |
The Weavers’ grip on Saramyr’s rulers has grown ever more powerful, and all the while, the blight they have brought grows harsher. The land is slipping into civil war. In the mounting chaos, Kaiku and the orphaned heir-Empress must fight for their destiny and their survival, as Saramyr succumbs to the twisting of the Weave and the unknowable ambitions of the secretive Weavers.

Second book in the trilogy. I read the first book about 5 years ago and enjoyed it enough to keep an eye out for the other two books in the series (I generally avoid multi-book stories).

This is *almost* standalone, in that it's enjoyable to read having forgotten much of what happened in the previous book. It is however, not completely standalone, with relationships and groups established in the first book, that dont get explained again in this second book.

e.g. Who are The Red Order again and why are they trying to keep so hidden? That's not necessarily a fault of the book, more of the reader and the gap between books.

Meanwhile, different groups of rebels are split across the country (sorry, but a map is no good, when half the places mentioned in the story are not on it), making new friends and gathering intelligence against the Weavers. People driven to madness, Weavers are already mad and shown to be more than perverse, people are attracted to the Weave and try not to succumb. Overall an enjoyable book, and I must not wait so long to read the final book

… (més)
nordie | Oct 14, 2023 |
First book in the "The Braided Path" trilogy.

Here the fantasy empire ruling the land of Saramyr has an oriental flavour, a level of technology that allows rifles and bombs and a communications system relying on magic--the sorcery of the dreaded, masked Weavers.

By manipulating the magical Weave of the world, a kind of fantasy cyberspace, Weavers can not only send messages over any distance but manipulate minds, fight intangibly and kill. The use of the Weaving, and their masks, makes the weavers eccentric and mad and have revolting habits such as raping and killing small children. All other forms of magic talent are denounced as Aberrant and the talent-owners condemned to death.

Rebellion brews among the Empire's people and powerful noble factions when it emerges that the Heir-Empress Lucia is Aberrant, with gentle powers of communication with birds and earth-spirits. Meanwhile another girl, Kaiku, is orphaned when her family is both poisoned by an unknown hand and attacked by "shin-shin" demons. Kaiku soon finds that she herself is dangerously Aberrant, apt to send out waves of uncontrollable fire.

Kaiku makes a quixotic journey with unusual companions, and, by use of the mask that is her sole inheritance, enters a protected place to discover the grim secret of what's slowly poisoning the land. It is not, as the Weavers insist, the existence of Aberrants but rather the weavers themselves.

Kaiku and her friends join the Red Order, a sisterhood of trained Aberrants, in a desperate effort to save Lucia from the general bloodshed of the inevitable Imperial coup. Many characters fail to survive for the backlash expected in volume two.

Pretty enjoyable fare, and certainly one I intend to seek out the sequel(s) to
… (més)
nordie | Hi ha 7 ressenyes més | Oct 14, 2023 |

This is truly one of my favourite books of 2019. I cannot wait to be immersed in the next book.
Alfred-110 | Hi ha 5 ressenyes més | Jun 9, 2023 |



Potser també t'agrada

Autors associats

Rupert Degas Narrator
Edward Miller Cover artist
Stephan Martiniere Cover artist
Dreu Pennington-McNeil Cover designer
Ilse Rothfuss Translator


També de

Gràfics i taules