Has donat un cop d'ull al SantaThing, la tradició de fer-se regals de LibraryThing?
ignora
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Autor de LibraryThing:
Karl Wolff

Karl Wolff és un autor/a de LibraryThing, un autor/a que afegeix la seva biblioteca personal a LibraryThing.

Vegeu la pàgina d'autor de Karl Wolff.

Cerca en els llibres de kswolff

Selecció a l'atzar de la biblioteca de kswolff

The Secret Teachers of the Western World de Gary Lachman

Man After Man: An Anthropology of the Future de Dougal Dixon

Abnormal: Lectures at the College de France, 1974-1975 (Lectures at the College de France) de Michel Foucault

A SPORTSMAN'S NOTEBOOK. de Ivan. Turgenev

Today is Tonight de Jean Harlow

Hidden Faces de Salvador Dali

A Month of Sundays de John Updike

Membres amb els llibres de kswolff

Galeria del membre (16)

(mostra totes 16 imatges)

Fonts RSS

Llibres afegits fa poc

Ressenyes de kswolff

Ressenyes de llibres de kswolff, excloent-hi les de kswolff

Insígnies d'ajudant

Cover UploadingHelperWork CombinationCommon KnowledgeMember RecommendationsFiverTenner

 

Membre: kswolff

Col·leccionsLa teva biblioteca (6,305), Llista de desitjos (1,840), Llegint actualment (3), Per llegir (32), Llegit, però no el tinc (197), Totes les col·leccions (8,320)

Ressenyes468 ressenyes

Etiquetesfiction (1,308), novel (816), non-fiction (494), France (198), poetry (157), UK fiction (153), history (151), series (143), gay (136), art (98) — mostra totes les etiquetes

SuportSense marcar (16), Llibre (8,298), Llibre en paper (7,996), Audiollibre (8), Llibre electrònic (151), Enregistrament de vídeo (3), DVD (1), Altres (3)

Núvolsnúvol d'etiquetes, núvol d'autors, mirall d'etiquetes

Recomanacions15 recomanacions

Quant a miI'm a voracious reader. I love fiction and non-fiction. I also write fiction, speculative fiction, and book reviews.

I review fiction and non-fiction books for The New York Journal of Books (http://www.nyjournalofbooks.com/) and my own blog "The Driftless Area Review" (http://driftlessareareview.com/). Follow me on Twitter (links below).

I'm also a member of the National Book Critics Circle (bookcritics.org).

To publishers and authors: If you are interested in having me review your book, send a query letter to driftlessareareview @ hotmail . com. I will send you information on where to address the review copy. I will read pretty much anything put in front of me.

Reviewing books via Early Reviewers, the Joe Bob Briggs website, the New York Journal of Books, and CCLaP has exposed me to hidden gems amidst the dross and slag. I've also found rare and forgotten treats on the shelves of used bookstores and places like Goodwill and Savers.

A quick glance of my Library and my reviews should give you a good picture of my tastes, preferences, and interests.

My tastes are pretty scatter shot. I like the Great Writers (Proust, Pynchon, Beckett, etc.) as well as more popular commercial stuff like Andrew Vachss, James Ellroy, and Warhammer 40K novels.

Quant a
la meva biblioteca
"The library represents, maybe with the prison, the last of the uncontested moral universes. The moral goodness of the library is intimately connected to the conceptual value of the book" -- "CONTENT" by Rem Koolhaas

"Eyestone's rooms, like his own dense prose, suggested a point of view: diverse, adorned, amused, premeditated, filled with details, highly inclusive." -- "Laura Warholic" by Alexander Theroux

"There is no such thing as a moral or an immoral book. Books are well written, or badly written." -- "The Picture of Dorian Gray" by Oscar Wilde

"But I've developed a great reputation for wisdom by ordering more books than I ever have time to read, and reading more books, by far, than I learned anything useful from, except, of course, that some very tedious gentlemen have written books. ... Thank God for them all, and for that strange interval, which was most of my life, when I read out of loneliness, and when bad company was better than no company. You can love a bad book for its haplessness or pomposity or gall, if you have the starveling appetite for things human, which I hope you will never have." -- "Gilead" by Marilynne Robinson.

"He is a bad novelist and a fool. The combination usually makes for great popularity in the US." -- Alexander Solzhenitsyn according to Gore Vidal (1980)

"It is all harmony of artifices, of deliberate contradictions. Let us try to note some of these. Realism and idealism are mingled. Along with description that takes extravagant pleasure in the most dismal details of physical reality there is, at the same time, refined expression of ideas and beliefs that exceed the immediate impression made on us by bodies -- There is a union between of the most profound sensuality with Christian asceticism." -- "Les Contemporains ("Baudelaire")" by Jules Lamaitre

My library is an amalgamation of a lifetime. It's an example of wide-ranging, generalist taste, everything from fiction to non-fiction, pop to High Art and everything in between.

GrupsDalkey Archive, Erotica, Fans of Joyce Carol Oates, Hobnob with Authors, In Translation, Infinite Jesters, Nabokov!, New York Review Books, Proust, Pynchon Pandæmoniummostra tots els grups

Autors preferitsDan Abnett, Kathy Acker, Louis Armand, R. Scott Bakker, J. G. Ballard, Honoré de Balzac, Iain M. Banks, Wayne D. Barlowe, Roland Barthes, Charles Baudelaire, Samuel Beckett, Walter Benjamin, Thomas Bernhard, Sven Birkerts, Roberto Bolaño, Anthony Bourdain, Anthony Burgess, Max Cannon, Robert A. Caro, Louis-Ferdinand Céline, E. M. Cioran, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Storm Constantine, Nicole Cushing, Mark Z. Danielewski, Geof Darrow, Robertson Davies, Dougal Dixon, J. R. "Bob" Dobbs, William O. Douglas, James Ellroy, M. F. K. Fisher, Jean Genet, William Gibson, Stephen Jay Gould, Robert Hass, Alan Hollinghurst, Robert Hughes, Joris-Karl Huysmans, Henry James, M.P. Johnson, Walter Kaufmann, Seth Kaufman, Galway Kinnell, Donna Kossy, Tony Kushner, Norman Mailer, William Manchester, Karl Marx, John McPhee, Daniel Mendelsohn, Mike Mignola, Barbara Mor, Vladimir Nabokov, Friedrich Nietzsche, Ovid, Camille Paglia, Adam Parfrey, William Pfaff, Ezra Pound, Marcel Proust, Thomas Pynchon, Monty Python, John Rechy, Kim Stanley Robinson, Salman Rushdie, Marquis de Sade, Severo Sarduy, Simon Schama, Rainer W. Schlegelmilch, Will Self, Jean Shepherd, Joel Shepherd, Gilbert Sorrentino, Rene Staud, Preston Sturges, Algernon Charles Swinburne, Alexander Theroux, Hunter S. Thompson, Jim Thompson, Andrew Vachss, Gore Vidal, William T. Vollmann, Evelyn Waugh, Peter Weissman, Joss Whedon, John Sibley Williams, Cintra Wilson (Preferits compartits)

Editorials preferidesAkashic Books, Archipelago Books, Arsenal Pulp Press, Beacon Press, Cleis Press, Delirium Books, Feral House, McFarland, NYRB Classics, Penguin Australia, Pomegranate, Process Media, The Library of America, Wave Books, Yale University Press, Zone Books

Pàgina d'inicihttp://driftlessareareview.com/

MembresiaER. Crítics Matiners del LibraryThing/Donacions de membres

També aTwitter, Wordpress

UbicacióMilwaukee, WI

Tipus de comptepúblic

URL /profile/kswolff (perfil)
/catalog/kswolff (biblioteca)

Membre des deSep 12, 2008

Llegint actualmentPriestess of Morphine: The Lost Writings of Marie-Madeleine in the Time of Nazis de Marie Madeleine
Supreme Democracy: The End of Elitism in Supreme Court Nominations de Richard Davis
Roses Are Red, Violets Are Stealing Loose Change from My Pockets While I Sleep de David S Atkinson

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 152,731,091 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible