Reading DI Rebus out of order?

ConversesBritish & Irish Crime Fiction

Afegeix-te a LibraryThing per participar.

Reading DI Rebus out of order?

Aquest tema està marcat com "inactiu": L'últim missatge és de fa més de 90 dies. Podeu revifar-lo enviant una resposta.

nov. 1, 2007, 1:51 am

This seems like the best place to pose this question.

Someone in another group recommended Ian Rankin's Inspector Rebus character to me because I'm a Michael Connelly fan - so I picked up Naming of the Dead at the used book store - mainly because it was a killer deal but also because it the only Rankin available.

I truly enjoyed the book - but of course I now realize that Naming of the Dead is one of his newest Rebus novels and takes place at the tail end of DI Rebus' career. I've got quite a bit to go back and read to get fully up to date with the story.

So I turn to those who've read most of Rankin's work. What would be some suggestions to turn to next? I picked up Fleshmarket Alley on Amazon so that should be here at the house any day now, but I'm not sure where to turn to next. Any suggestions? Or is it a simple answer of "start at the beginning".

nov. 1, 2007, 3:20 pm

If you start at the beginning you will better understand Rebus, his relationships and motivations. Some of them have been re-published in batches which can work out cheaper, or try the library.

nov. 7, 2007, 8:21 am

I have also read Rebus out of order. I like the later ones more than the earlier ones, so it worked well for me. I particularly liked The Falls.

des. 31, 2007, 9:14 am

Try this site for sorting out the order of books:
One of my favourite websites!

maig 17, 2008, 7:06 pm

I read some of Rankin's later Rebus novels first, then turned to his earlier work. While reading in sequence would have its own interest in the development of Rebus's character, I do enjoy the "Aha!" moments, reading in reverse order, as the protagonist's motivations for later attitudes and actions are revealed. Either way, it's fascinating to see the development in Rankin's writing.

I'm not sure that Edinburgh isn't the true protagonist in all the "Rebus" novels. Rankin certainly makes the city live.

There's bound to be a Rankin/Rebus fan site somewhere or a thread devoted to this series where you could find out more.

#4 dihiba: I agree about that site:

maig 18, 2008, 6:35 am

Rankin himself says he didn't really find his feet until Black and Blue, which is around the 6th or 7th Rebus novel (I think), which suggests to me that would be a good place to start. I didn't, my first Rebus was Dead Souls. I haven't been reading Rebus in order since, although I did go back and read the first, Knots and Crosses.

juny 15, 2008, 2:38 pm

I agree with you, Thrin, I really liked reading them out of order and finding out about Rebus in bits and pieces. His later novels are stronger than the earlier ones so I would even suggest reading the later ones first.

jul. 7, 2008, 12:51 pm

So is the first one in the series Knots and Crosses ?
I like to read the books in the order they were written.

jul. 7, 2008, 5:48 pm

>8 alans: Yes, alans, Knots and Crosses is the first in the Rebus series.

You might be interested to investigate the site mentioned in couple of the posts above. It give you all sorts of information, including the order in which books in series have been written/published.

Apunta-t'hi per poder publicar