IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

To Marry an English Lord: Tales of Wealth…
S'està carregant…

To Marry an English Lord: Tales of Wealth and Marriage, Sex and Snobbery… (1989 original; edició 2012)

de Gail MacColl (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
7272825,341 (3.68)39
From the Gilded Age until 1914, more than 100 American heiresses invaded Britannia and swapped dollars for titles-just like Cora Crawley, Countess of Grantham, the first of the Downton Abbey characters Julian Fellowes was inspired to create after reading To Marry An English Lord. Filled with vivid personalities, gossipy anecdotes, grand houses, and a wealth of period details-plus photographs, illustrations, quotes, and the finer points of Victorian and Edwardian etiquette-To Marry An English Lord is social history at its liveliest and most accessible.… (més)
Membre:theraemarie
Títol:To Marry an English Lord: Tales of Wealth and Marriage, Sex and Snobbery in the Gilded Age (An Inspiration for Downton Abbey)
Autors:Gail MacColl (Autor)
Informació:Workman Publishing Company (2012), Edition: New, 416 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

To Marry an English Lord de Gail MacColl (1989)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 39 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 28 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Ok, this is a book full of really interesting information, but I can only assume that it is extremely odd in format -- either a chapter or a heading after every few paragraphs. And by assume, I mean that I had the misfortune to listen to the audio book version of it -- if you think the text was choppy in print, imagine a crisp, rarely expressive voice reading it with all seriousness. Its confusing, and just when she gets a rhythm going, she has to swap to another anecdote. When she started reading a table listing the names of American fathers and their titled daughters, I had to walk away. Who thought this would be a plausible audio book? Anyway. The content seems good, the reader is very clear, the delivery of all of it was a terrible idea. ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
Picked this up because it is reportedly the inspiration behind Downton Abbey.

From an historical perspective, it was interesting to read how the American rich went about buying European titles for their daughters. But none of the recounted stories went particularly deep into anything other than the societal “warfare” and strategies for winning.

From a modern perspective ... ick. It felt more like breeding dogs or race horses. I’m not sure who most resembled prostitutes: the mothers and daughters marketing themselves for a title or the English lords trading their titles for money to maintain their lifestyles. I have to wonder if the English system of nobility wouldn’t have collapsed a century ago but for the infusion of cash and fresh blood the heiresses brought into the mix.

All in all, it leaves me glad to be living in the times and economic status I do; and makes me feel rather sorry for “the ruling class” that lived to see their empire begin to fall apart.

Most of my sympathy is reserved for the American industrialists who got to see their hard-earned wealth blown through by extravagantly spending wives, over-indulged daughters, and essentially useless sons-in-law. ( )
  AMKitty | Dec 26, 2021 |
I actually enjoyed this more than I remembered. This is light and quirky.
Must read for fans of Downton Abbey and 'Cash for titles' history. ( )
  LoisSusan | Dec 10, 2020 |
it was entertaining and light reading ( )
  LoisSusan | Dec 10, 2020 |
The history and dresses behind the Downton Abbey TV series.

I love the history and information in this book, and I loved the number of photos and images included, they really helped bring history and stories more to life and there were a LOT of them. The more the better...usually.

I was not a fan of the overall format and layout of the images and the side bubbles of stories. You would be on a roll reading an engaging story and then turn the page and instead of what you were reading you would have a page or two of photos and illustrations often not about what you were just reading. And then it would go back to your story. This made it very difficult at times to keep things straight and made the photos mean less because they were so annoying.

To fans of the period or the shows Downton Abbey, there is still a lot of value in this book, especially if you just want to have it to reference once in a while. I did learn new things and I really enjoyed seeing images of the dresses referred to in the text but I have no cohesive sense of what I read. If you are looking for a more serious history book or a more coherent story, I'd say skip it. ( )
  Kellswitch | Sep 26, 2020 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 28 (següent | mostra-les totes)
"Large fortunes were made in post-Civil War America. Young heiresses, cold-shouldered by an entrenched aristocracy that scorned new money, looked across the sea to find husbands among titled young Englishmen who were long on status but very short of cash. Nancy Astor and Jennie Churchill are the most famous of more than 100 of these trans-Atlantic brides. This light-hearted bit of social history is lavishly illustrated and bedecked with sidebars and boxes of charts, lively quotes, and other supplementary material. A full register of these enterprising young ladies and a "Walking Tour'' are included. Not only fun, but a definitive round-up of the players."
afegit per 2wonderY | editaLibrary Journal
 

» Afegeix-hi altres autors

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Gail MacCollautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Wallace, Carol McD.autor principaltotes les edicionsconfirmat
Cain, DavidIl·lustradorautor secundaritotes les edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
For Peter Jarrett, my very own English husband with love and thanks. G.L.M.; With affectionate respect to the memories of Mrs. Wharton and Mr. James. C. McD W.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
On a bright fall day in 1860, three hundred thousand people, nearly half the population of New York City, stood jostling each other and craning their necks on either side of Broadway.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès (4)

From the Gilded Age until 1914, more than 100 American heiresses invaded Britannia and swapped dollars for titles-just like Cora Crawley, Countess of Grantham, the first of the Downton Abbey characters Julian Fellowes was inspired to create after reading To Marry An English Lord. Filled with vivid personalities, gossipy anecdotes, grand houses, and a wealth of period details-plus photographs, illustrations, quotes, and the finer points of Victorian and Edwardian etiquette-To Marry An English Lord is social history at its liveliest and most accessible.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.68)
0.5
1 4
1.5 1
2 9
2.5 1
3 37
3.5 12
4 45
4.5 1
5 31

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

Tantor Media

Una edició d'aquest llibre ha estat publicada per Tantor Media.

» Pàgina d'informació de l'editor

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 172,003,657 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible