IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Rabbit Back Literature Society de Pasi…
S'està carregant…

The Rabbit Back Literature Society (2006 original; edició 2015)

de Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen, Lola M. Rogers (Traductor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
5583333,064 (3.65)33
"Only nine people have ever been chosen by renowned children's author Laura White to join "The Rabbit Back Literature Society," an elite group of writers in the small town of Rabbit Back. Now a tenth member has been selected: Ella, a young literature teacher. Soon Ella discovers that the Society is not what it seems. What is its mysterious ritual known as "The Game"? What explains the strange disappearance that occurs at Laura White's winter party? Why are the words inside books starting to rearrange themselves? Was there once another tenth member, before her? Slowly, as Ella explores the Society and its history, disturbing secrets that had been buried start to come to light... In this chilling, witty novel for readers of The Shadow of the Wind, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and S., the uncanny brushes up against the everyday in the most beguiling and unexpected of ways"--… (més)
Membre:Sarah-Hope
Títol:The Rabbit Back Literature Society
Autors:Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen
Altres autors:Lola M. Rogers (Traductor)
Informació:Thomas Dunne Books (2015), Hardcover, 352 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:****
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Detalls de l'obra

The Rabbit Back Literature Society de Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen (2006)

  1. 30
    The Secret History de Donna Tartt (Becchanalia)
    Becchanalia: Slow uncovering of a dark secret amongst a tight-knit group of friends. Lots of snow.
  2. 00
    Mr Toppit de Charles Elton (Becchanalia)
    Becchanalia: Also about a dark mystery surrounding a writer of children's fiction with an air of menace.
  3. 00
    L'avi de 100 anys que es va escapar per la finestra de Jonas Jonasson (rrmmff2000)
    rrmmff2000: Lighthearted Nordic stories with no particular destination or hurry to get there.
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 33 mencions

Anglès (29)  Finès (3)  Castellà (1)  Francès (1)  Totes les llengües (34)
Es mostren 1-5 de 34 (següent | mostra-les totes)
A gripping gothic tale with some striking observations about the nature of literary inspiration. As in many works of "magical realism", there are some surreal aspects to the plot which are never satisfactorily explained. If I didn't mind this, I would have added another star to my rating. ( )
  JosephCamilleri | Mar 5, 2021 |
Like most, I was drawn to this book by the comparison to Twin Peaks and the beautiful cover. After discovering it at a local bookstore with a glowing staff recommendation, I decided to add it to my lengthy "to read" list and leave it at that. After reading more reviews online, I ended up returning to the bookstore the next day to purchase it, deciding that it seemed like the kind of book I wanted to read as a book rather than on my Kindle.

Now I'm wishing I had gone the Kindle route. Although a quick read, this book promises and proposes so many interesting and twisted ideas and only answers one of the numerous questions it sets forth. The plot jumps from strange disappearances to strange deaths to unexplained phantoms to diseased books without ever settling on one concept long enough to nurture it. With enough interesting concepts and mysteries to fill multiple books, the mysteries seem wasted in this story. Despite having so many interesting directions, I am still struggling to identify any cohesive plot after finishing it.

Interestingly enough, the majority of the action in this book occurs in the epilogue, which moves quickly and seems to being answering one of the more pressing mysteries of the book. Unfortunately, the revelation and resolution of the story is handled like an afterthought on the last page, and instead of bathing the rest of the book in a new light, it feels like another wasted opportunity to say anything real. In the end, the story and characters always felt like they were at a distance (the fault of the translation, perhaps?) and the story left me wanting more closure.

Overall, I would recommend this to those who revel in open-ended mysteries that leave the reader a lot of room to fill in the gaps. ( )
  fitals | Jul 19, 2019 |
Une histoire à demi réaliste et à demi fantastique. Des histoires de secrets qui ne peuvent pas être dévoilés.
Si le récit est bien construit et plaît certainement à de nombreuses personnes, je n'ai pas trop aimé ce livre et j'ai eu vraiment de la peine à arriver au bout... L'aspect très répétitif du "schéma" de récit et les personnages sans personnalité très marquée (tout le monde est un peu mou, en particulier Ella, le personnage principal, qui avance dans l'histoire selon ce qui lui arrive; la seule vraie volonté qu'elle a est de découvrir le secret de la Société) m'ont été lourds à cette lecture, sans compter le côté fantastique qu'on découvre vraiment environ aux 2/3 du livre... ( )
1 vota ChanezC | May 31, 2018 |
Inventive, unnerving, and delightful, with occasional forays into the Psychologically Quite Nasty. Either heavily influenced by the Moomintroll books, or (more likely) both were influenced by Finnish/Scandinavian cultural and mythological heritage. Goes past magical realism but stops short of surrealism by just a hair.
Like a fairy tale detective story where the last few pages, when the detective explains it all, are missing. A book that is satisfying on its own (IMO) but practically *requires* you to get someone else to read it so you can animatedly discuss your theories on what exactly was going on with this character or that. Also props to the author for writing an absolutely believable female protagonist. ( )
  amandrake | Apr 30, 2018 |
A young teacher gets an invitation to join an exclusive club of writers, but during the party to celebrate this, the leader disappears and strange things happen. It seems one of the former members disappeared and nobody is willing to talk about this.
I don't know what to think of this book. It started out really well as it took me by surprise and immediately got my attention. It was weird, unusual, funny, enthralling and much more. But eventually, it did not live up to its expectations. Red herrings were all over the place, but few were actually picked up, symbolism was used, but with no actual meaning to it, the plot in itself was very weak and it all turned out to be less special than I'd expected at first.
But all in all, I enjoyed most of the read. Only the outcome was disappointing. If I had written my comments after I had read the first chapters, you'd all have rushed off to the bookshop. Now, I mildly recommend it if you are into something special without expecting too much in the end. ( )
  Trifolia | Mar 15, 2018 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 34 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Jääskeläinen, Pasi Ilmariautor primaritotes les edicionsconfirmat
Rogers, Lola M.Traductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en finès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en finès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en finès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Omistettu Ilonalle, Milolle ja Nemolle, jotka vielä tunnistivat työhuoneesta kompuroineen muukalaisen.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en finès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Lukija ensin hämmästyi ja sitten loukkaantui, kun rikollinen nimeltä Raskolnikov äkkiä surmattiin hänen silmiensä edessä keskelle katua.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en finès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en finès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

"Only nine people have ever been chosen by renowned children's author Laura White to join "The Rabbit Back Literature Society," an elite group of writers in the small town of Rabbit Back. Now a tenth member has been selected: Ella, a young literature teacher. Soon Ella discovers that the Society is not what it seems. What is its mysterious ritual known as "The Game"? What explains the strange disappearance that occurs at Laura White's winter party? Why are the words inside books starting to rearrange themselves? Was there once another tenth member, before her? Slowly, as Ella explores the Society and its history, disturbing secrets that had been buried start to come to light... In this chilling, witty novel for readers of The Shadow of the Wind, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and S., the uncanny brushes up against the everyday in the most beguiling and unexpected of ways"--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.65)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 15
2.5 4
3 31
3.5 15
4 48
4.5 7
5 27

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 162,554,965 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible