IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

Adé: A Love Story

de Rebecca Walker

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
303684,917 (3.85)Cap
Story of the power of love and the limitations of the human heart. When Farida, a sophisticated college student, falls in love with Ade, a young Swahili man living on an idyllic island off the coast of Kenya, the two plan to marry and envision a simple life together--free of worldly possessions and concerns. But when Farida contracts malaria and finds herself caught in the middle of a civil war, reality crashes in around them. The lovers' solitude is interrupted by a world in the throes of massive upheaval that threatens to tear them apart, along with all they cherish.… (més)
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren totes 3
(Fiction, Contemporary, Literary)

This is subtitled a “love story” but this is no romance novel. An American (or was she a Brit? It doesn’t matter really) falls in love with a native Swahili man while in Kenya. When an epidemic breaks out, they attempt to flee to the first world.

Adé is a love story in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet. Haunting and heart-breaking, it deserves to be a classic of 21st century literature. I have not been as touched by a book in a long time as I was by Adé.

I’m not saying more—you’ll just have to read the book. It’s short, it’s lovely, and it will stay with you a long time.

4½ stars ( )
  ParadisePorch | Mar 6, 2017 |
*** I received this book via a Goodreads Giveaway***

Written in an unhurried manner, this book is a story about the naivete of first love and the reality of life getting in the way. Good book to curl up with on a lazy Sunday afternoon. ( )
  nubian_princesa | Jan 18, 2014 |
"You never know how this life will unfold."-Farida

Our un-named narrator is nineteen years old and feels "raw and unfinished." She is fascinated by her friend Miriam. They decide to go to Africa.

During their journey she begins to change and become someone else. She feels familiar with this continent. Miriam is changing too. She is no longer the main attraction. They travel from Cairo to Nairobi but when they arrive on the small island of Lamu she meets Ade. It is Ade that changes her name to Farida.

Ade possesses a certain kind of innocence. Farida is mesmerized by him. They fell into that easy kind of love. The kind of love that simmers. Love that's eternal.

"I was hungry for my future. It looked painfully bright."-Farida

Ade and Farida start to become one. His religion and culture had certain requirements. They want a future together.

"...wondering how I would ever, in a million years, leave this man."-Farida

It felt like destiny. Then there was a sudden shift.

Ade is short. It's sweet. You will hang onto every word. When you finish you will immediately want to read it over and over and over again. ( )
  pinkcrayon99 | Dec 27, 2013 |
Es mostren totes 3
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Story of the power of love and the limitations of the human heart. When Farida, a sophisticated college student, falls in love with Ade, a young Swahili man living on an idyllic island off the coast of Kenya, the two plan to marry and envision a simple life together--free of worldly possessions and concerns. But when Farida contracts malaria and finds herself caught in the middle of a civil war, reality crashes in around them. The lovers' solitude is interrupted by a world in the throes of massive upheaval that threatens to tear them apart, along with all they cherish.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.85)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5
4 3
4.5 1
5 2

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 173,972,160 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible