IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Fiercombe Manor de Kate Riordan
S'està carregant…

Fiercombe Manor (2014 original; edició 2015)

de Kate Riordan

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
2462683,914 (3.75)9
"This haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative historical novel, which will appeal to fans of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, features two women of very different eras who are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house"--
Membre:Iambookish
Títol:Fiercombe Manor
Autors:Kate Riordan
Informació:New York, NY : Harper, [2015]
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:to-read

Detalls de l'obra

The Girl in the Photograph de Kate Riordan (2014)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 9 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 26 (següent | mostra-les totes)
historical fiction (1890s/1930s English manor a la Downton abbey with a lot fewer characters to track) with ghosts/mystery, tragedy, and a little romance. This was a pretty decent read, but I just felt like I didn't have the time for it/wasn't in the mood for it, so I skipped from page 89 or so to the end to see it I would miss anything (not that much--or possibly, everything, it's hard to know). If you want to immerse yourself in the setting however, go for it--the writing style is fine and the characters are moderately interesting. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
In 1933, 22-year old Alice finds herself unmarried, pregnant and disgraced. Her mother concocts a story about Alice's husband being killed in an accident and asks her old friend, Mrs. Jelphs, to give the girl a place to stay until the birth of her child. Mrs. Jelphs is the housekeeper at Fiercombe Manor. Alice arrives at the country manor, playing the part of a young widow. The Stanton Family no longer lives at the Manor, so Alice discovers that she will be sharing the house with only Mrs. Jelphs and a few servants. In the beginning, she is glad to have a place to stay, but soon she realizes that all is not as it seems at Fiercombe Manor. Thirty years before, Lady Elizabeth Stanton, nervously awaited the birth of her second child, hoping for the son her husband wanted. But something dreadful happened, and years later, Alice is not prepared for what she discovers about the Manor and its history.

I enjoyed this book. The story line builds tension slowly, and switches from Alice to Elizabeth's story. The tone and mystery in the book reminded me a lot of the classic book, Rebecca. The story does not move fast, but it doesn't become boring either. The tension and mystery build slowly, until the full realization of what happened in the house becomes clear.

Fiercombe Manor was published as The Girl in the Photograph in the UK. Her other books are The Shadow Hour and Birdcage Walk. ( )
  JuliW | Nov 22, 2020 |
3.5 stars

( )
  SSBranham | Sep 17, 2020 |
I really enjoyed this tale set in two time zones. Also a good satisfying ending ( )
  karenshann | Dec 31, 2019 |
I requested The Girl in the Photograph from Netgalley and then I found an interesting book called Fiercombe Manor on Edelweiss and requested it. A while later when I had been granted access to them both did I realize that it was the same book. The Girl in the Photograph is the English book and Fiercombe Manor is the title for the book in US and Canada. I chose to read the Fiercombe Manor because the text was formatted better in that version.

The year is 1933 and twenty-two-year-old Alice arrives at Fiercombe Manor in rural Gloucestershire, pregnant and unwed. She has been sent there from London by her mother to hide the shame and the housekeeper Mrs. Jelphs, who is an old friend of her mother, will look after her. The family who residents there lives abroad. Alice discovers, during the hot sunny summer days that some thirty years before something happened to the lady in the house, Lady Elizabeth Stanton, who like Alice also was expecting a child.

This is the kind of book I like, a historical fiction/mystery. I love reading parallel stories, and in this book, we get to follow both Alice and Elizabeth and as the story proceeds we get to know what happened to Elizabeth in the past at the same time as Alice in the present discover it. Now, the book wasn't that great that I had hoped it would be, but it was a good read and above all, it was interesting even though I felt that story dragged on a bit in the middle, but I was probably just a bit impatient. I also liked the characters, I didn't even mind the budding romance between Alice and Tom Stanton.

So if you like historical fiction/mystery books then this is a book for you!

Thank you Netgalley/Edelweiss for providing me with a free copy for an honest review! ( )
  MaraBlaise | May 19, 2019 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 26 (següent | mostra-les totes)
I was asked to review this book by Real Readers. I was intrigued to read this book as the author lives in Cheltenham and I live in Gloucestershire so parallels from the start.

I was surprised by some of the reviews I did think this book had essences of Kate Morton who writes in the same vein.

This was a haunting story set in the 1930s in Gloucestershire. The protagonist Alice is sent to the countryside in disgrace and is under the care of a housekeeper. It gets eerie as Alice thinks she is being watched and things just do not add up. There are secrets hidden in this house and glimpses of a former lady of the manor Elizabeth Stanton and the parallels of these two women.

Haunting and full of twists this is a beautifully written novel.

Due for publication in January 2015, this will be there in the top ten for the summer and will be a great beach read. I will be looking out for this author.
afegit per mexico24 | editaReal Readers, Jane Brown
 

Pertany a aquestes col·leccions editorials

Heyne (41799)
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en alemany. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en alemany. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Für meine vier Eltern
Danke für all die Liebe und das Vertrauen
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en alemany. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Fiercombe steckt voller Geheimnisse.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en alemany. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en alemany. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

"This haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative historical novel, which will appeal to fans of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, features two women of very different eras who are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house"--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.75)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 16
3.5 12
4 24
4.5 2
5 11

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 160,428,151 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible