IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

This Monstrous Thing de Mackenzi Lee
S'està carregant…

This Monstrous Thing (edició 2015)

de Mackenzi Lee

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
2141296,631 (3.7)12
"When a talented mechanic in 1818 Geneva brings his brother back from the dead using clockwork parts, the citizens of Geneva think they may have inspired the recently published novel Frankenstein"--
Membre:LittleBug80
Títol:This Monstrous Thing
Autors:Mackenzi Lee
Informació:Katherine Tegen Books, Kindle Edition, 384 pages
Col·leccions:Read & Owned, La teva biblioteca
Valoració:****
Etiquetes:steampunk, fantasy, read & owned

Detalls de l'obra

This Monstrous Thing de Mackenzi Lee

No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 12 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 12 (següent | mostra-les totes)
This was so good, and dark, and really atmospheric and unique. I loved it. A lot.

I ADORED the characters! The main character was such a tortured sweetheart, and I really, really liked him! He was so full of emotion. Love, and regret, and determination, and he was SUCH a rich character! I. Loved. Him.

And the brother was SUCH AN AMAZING CHARACTER!!!!!! His worries about not being human enough, not being capable of human feelings, were SO raw and real. And wow, what a stunning character. WOW! And he was honestly just SO heartbreaking. I adored him. SO MUCH!

Plus, the relationship between the brothers was fantastic! It was so broken, but there was so much love there, and AJDHJDHGSADFAHJGDFHFDHGCAN I JUST FLAIL PLEASE? This relationship was precious, and tender, and heartbreaking, and everything in between.
I love these brothers with all of my heart.

The other side characters were well fleshed out too. I just... don't remember names. BUT THEY WERE AMAZING!

AND the plot was super good! It was exciting and twisty and kept me on the edge of my seat! It was great.

This book was also really deep and made me think.

So an all around great book! Highly recommend! ( )
  irisssssssss | Jun 17, 2020 |
I received the book for free through Goodreads First Reads. I was hesitant starting it because I didn't know how it would be, and ended up Very surprised. It's like a steampunk version of Frankenstein and kept me interested the entire way through. ( )
  Linyarai | Feb 16, 2020 |
Mackenzi Lee's The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue was one of the most delightful books I read last year. Fast-paced, hilarious, and just all-around wonderful, the book was pure fun. Not perfect, but perfect enough in its good parts to more than overcome its flaws.

This Monstrous Thing is... not delightful. It's not great. It's not good. It's a morose, glum book without joy and also without much interest.

This Monstrous Thing is Lee's debut novel, and it shows. She tries to put her own spin on the famous Frankenstein tale, claiming that Mary Shelley took her inspiration from a neighbor who actually raised his brother from the dead using clockwork. I love clockwork tech (clockpunk?). I love Frankenstein, which remains in my mind one of the great masterpieces of the English language. But This Monstrous Thing is a failure at every turn.

First and foremost is our assumed hero, Alasdair (the Victor Frankenstein of the book). Alasdair is an asshole, honestly. He resurrects his brother, then locks the poor guy up in a nearby castle and leaves him there entirely alone save for weekly visits. And then he gripes constantly about how the brother is such a burden on him, how he must selflessly (and with extreme grumbling) give up on all his hopes and dreams to take care of the brother. And when the shit hits the fan, Alasdair promptly abandons his brother with fairly little persuasion. Alasdair's asshattery makes him a difficult character to sympathize with, and because the story is first-person we must suffer inside his headspace the whole book.

Oliver, the resurrected brother, is also fairly awful. Alasdair's flashbacks show a more loving, albeit troubled young man, but the present Oliver we meet is, well, monstrous. The bizarre final resolution does little to mitigate Oliver's weird, often malicious behavior throughout the book. The relationship between Alasdair and Oliver should be the center of the novel, but each brother is so individually unappealing, and their interactions so weird and off-putting, that I lost interest in both parties by the halfway point. I just can't understand either brother's motivations.

I could go on for a while about the other characters--Clemence never really takes off, Mary is a historical shanda, the villains are cartoonishly villainous and also disappear for oddly long stretches of time--or the dissatisfying world-building--it makes zero sense why people who use clockwork prostheses should be ostracized when regular prostheses made of wood and metal have been used for centuries--but suffice to say This Monstrous Thing fails on multiple levels.

But hey, The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is really great. ( )
  miri12 | May 31, 2019 |
Fans of both Steampunk novels, and Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, are going to adore this book. I can tell you that right now. I would know, seeing as how I fit right into that category as well. While I knew this was a retelling, going in, I had no idea that there was also a Steampunk aspect attached to it. Needless to say, it was a rather pleasant surprise! That ended up being one of the many things I really enjoyed about this book.

This Monstrous Thing sets us in the middle 1818 Geneva. Alasdair, our protagonist, has grown up as a "Shadow Boy", or part of the group who help "repair" injured people through the use of clockwork. Which, as you might imagine, is rather frowned upon by the general public. Their work is seen as against God, and is therefore illegal. So, our young protagonist has to no choice but to operate in the shadows. Let me tell you, I fell in love with young Alasdair from page one. He's so smart, so inherently kind, and yet has the analytical mind of a scientist. I loved that he, buried in a sea of sheep, was the one who thought for himself.

What progresses from here is a story that skims along the edge of its source material. While This Monstrous Thing is a reimagining of Frankenstein, it happily takes off on its own course. There are some brilliant discussions of morality, of death, and even of the bonds between family members. Mary Shelley herself makes her debut, and the relationship between her and Alasdair was just perfection to me. In fact, I adored the fact that there was no romance front and center, to steal the stage. Having a protagonist who can meet a female character, and have a platonic relationship with her, is generally rather rare. I'm glad there wasn't any of that to muck up Alasdair's destiny.

This book is quick paced. It's vividly written, and easily the type of story that you won't want to set aside until it's over. The historical part of all of this meshes perfectly with the fictional side, creating a book that it just a treat to read! I'm impressed, and I'm genuinely hoping that there's more out there somewhere. ( )
  roses7184 | Feb 5, 2019 |
I really wanted to like this book, I loved the general concept, but I wish the author had done a better job of explain the fantastical, steampunk world this novel takes places within. The story wasn't too bad, but there were a number of questions I had about the world and its history and how the clockwork people came to be. My favorite parts were when the text of Frankenstein were discussed and I kinda loved the nuanced portrayal of Mary Shelley (even if she's mostly fictional in this version). If you're really into steampunk, this book might work for you, but if you like more elaborate world-building, this one might be disappointing. ( )
  wagner.sarah35 | Oct 25, 2018 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 12 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Did I request thee, Maker, from my clay
To mould me Man, did I solicit thee
From darkness to promote me?
- John Milton, Paradise Lost, quoted in Frankenstein, or The Modern Prometheus by Mary Shelley
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
For Molly and her autoclave heart
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
My brother's heart was heavy in my hands.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

"When a talented mechanic in 1818 Geneva brings his brother back from the dead using clockwork parts, the citizens of Geneva think they may have inspired the recently published novel Frankenstein"--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.7)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 7
3.5 4
4 13
4.5 1
5 5

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 158,871,017 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible