IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

See Me de Nicholas Sparks
S'està carregant…

See Me (edició 2017)

de Nicholas Sparks (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1,3243410,888 (3.62)4
Bring a box of tissues and enjoyed very much. ( )
  ClairePoussard | Aug 8, 2019 |
Es mostren 1-25 de 34 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Colin Hancock is giving his second chance his best shot. With a history of violence and bad decisions behind him and the threat of prison dogging his every step, he's determined to walk a straight line. To Colin, that means applying himself single-mindedly toward his teaching degree and avoiding everything that proved destructive in his earlier life. Reminding himself daily of his hard-earned lessons, the last thing he is looking for is a serious relationship.

Maria Sanchez, the hardworking daughter of Mexican immigrants, is the picture of conventional success. With a degree from Duke Law School and a job at a prestigious firm in Wilmington, she is a dark-haired beauty with a seemingly flawless professional track record. And yet Maria has a traumatic history of her own, one that compelled her to return to her hometown and left her questioning so much of what she once believed.

A chance encounter on a rain-swept road will alter the course of both Colin and Maria's lives, challenging deeply held assumptions about each other and ultimately, themselves. As love unexpectedly takes hold between them, they dare to envision what a future together could possibly look like...until menacing reminders of events in Maria's past begin to surface.
  Gmomaj | Sep 9, 2021 |
Another great read! ( )
  BFwillia | Sep 5, 2021 |
Not bad, not great. I kept hoping it would get better. Both the leads had potential to be a lot more interesting, but it didn't eventuate, instead the book took a turn into thrillerdom, and it would have been better delving more into these two disparate characters. ( )
  Okies | Jan 31, 2021 |
I'm not done but I can't wait to write a review :) More so, I can't wait for something HUGE to happen... when will it start? Or has it already? I'm on page 338 and usually this is where most books should've already ended.

*** I am Done! ***
I appreciate the added thriller but it was dragging on forever. I much prefer his other book, Safe Haven.
This book was way too long than it has to be. At 90% I had lost interest and patience who the bad guy might be and skimmed through the last action sequence. (2.5 stars)

( )
  xKayx | Dec 14, 2020 |
4.5 stars.

With the addition of a suspense element to the plot, See Me is a bit of a departure from Nicholas Sparks’ usual novels. With a riveting storyline, wonderfully developed, complex characters and a sweet love story, this latest release is sure to be a hit with readers who enjoy romantic suspense.

Maria Sanchez is the daughter of hardworking Mexican immigrants and she is close to them and her younger sister Serena. She has a strong work ethic and she is very dedicated to her career as an attorney. After working out of town for a few years, she returned to her hometown after becoming disillusioned in her previous job and while she still learning the ropes at her new firm, she puts in long hours preparing cases. Maria’s one serious relationship ended in heartbreak and she has not really dated anyone since the breakup. When a chance encounter leads to a little matchmaking by Serena, will Maria put aside her somewhat negative first impression and open herself to the possibility of a relationship with someone who is her complete opposite?

Colin Hancock has a rough background but he has finally taken the opportunity to turn his life around. In and out of trouble for most of his life, he fully accepts responsibility for his very checkered past and he makes no excuses for the mistakes he has made. He has made peace with his past and he is now working hard at keeping his issues under control while dedicating himself to completing his college degree. Colin is mostly serene and tranquil but when his protective side comes into play, he throws common sense out the window and reacts to situations with an intensity that is rather frightening to whomever is on the receiving end.

Despite their differences, Maria and Colin are a surprisingly compatible couple. In the beginning, Maria has a few reservations about Colin, but once she is able to get past her preconceived ideas about him, she enters into their relationship wholeheartedly. Their romance is not without problems, but they work through their issues and they remain committed to one another.

The suspense element of the storyline is very well done and slowly escalates over the course of the novel. The threats are rather vague initially but as they become more overt, Maria becomes more and more afraid. With an uncomfortable situation with a co-worker looming over her, she at first suspects this person might be behind what is happening but as the situation escalates, she finally realizes the incidents might be related to her previous career. But narrowing down the suspect pool is not easy and the perpetrator’s identity and motive is successfully concealed until nearly the end of the novel.

See Me is a captivating novel with an engaging cast of characters, a realistic romance and an intriguing mystery. The plot is refreshingly unique and the characters are well-developed with relatable flaws and failings. The suspense aspect of the story is credible and Nicholas Sparks brings the novel to a very dramatic and pulse pounding conclusion. An outstanding foray into romantic suspense that I greatly enjoyed and highly recommend to fans of the genre. ( )
  kbranfield | Feb 3, 2020 |
Bring a box of tissues and enjoyed very much. ( )
  ClairePoussard | Aug 8, 2019 |
I felt drawn to the conflict.

...................

Get ready for the metaphor: it was like doing something really fun.

.....................

At the same time, Sparks isn’t an ideologue, so it’s not like reading a pitch for traditional roles. “Because if you do that, you won’t have problems.”

It is partly an exercise in finding the shadow, right.

.......................

It’s just sick enough to be a bona fide product of Planet Earth.

........................

The way it handles authority is good.

.....................

Even a thriller or whatever can ground you in the mundane—I love you; you feel sad, etc.

.......................

He has a delicate sense of justice.
  smallself | Aug 4, 2019 |
I have read all of Nicholas Sparks books and they are usually a romance/drama/sad story. This one did not fit the pattern which I had not expected. It was still a very good story, just more or a romance/suspense type. This is a story of second chances as many others have already said.

The two main characters are Maria and Colin. Maria is a lawyer from a traditional Mexican family. She is single, not dating and in a relatively new job. She moved back home after a difficult trial where a young girl was murdered after being let out of jail, and she was being harrassed by the family. Colin has led a troubled life. He has a major problem with anger, has been arrested for assault a number of times and is on probation. This is his last chance, if he messes up, he will end up in prison for a very long time.

Colin meets Maria unexpectedly after fixing her flat tire in the rain. They hit it off and begin a relationship. Maria is being sexually harrassed at work as well as being stalked. There are some very tense scenes in the book but in the end, love prevails. ( )
  Carlathelibrarian | Feb 5, 2019 |
Mijn volledige recensie is terug te vinden op:
https://www.linda-linea-recta.nl/zie-mij-nicholas-sparks/

Een heerlijke roman over twee mensen die ieder hun eigen rugzak met hun eigen verleden dragen, maar die elkaar zien zoals ze echt zijn! En niet zoals bijna de rest van de wereld ze ziet.
“See me just as I see you.”
( )
  LindaKwakernaat | Nov 29, 2018 |
Well See Me started off interesting, but the pace of Maria and Colin's relationship and how over the top they were was causing me to eye roll every page it seemed. But this was manageable. Then the stalking happens and this became my main interest in the book and good thing because that's all the characters seemed to talk about and no longer about each other. Sadly even the stalking mystery became boring and it was annoying how perfect Colin was to the point he figured things out before detectives and saved the day numerous times. Okay....that's just not realistic and if that was suppose to be attractive, it was not. In the end, even the mystery was over done and cringe-worthy. ( )
  wellreadcatlady | Oct 4, 2018 |
As with practically all of Nicholas Sparks' novels, I was totally swooning with this one. A beautiful story that invites readers to not only imagine the life of the characters, but to see past their faults and see them for who they truly are.
I feel like so many people do the annoying eye roll when I recommend a Nicholas Sparks novel, possibly because it's so cliche to read and enjoy his work. BUT, there's just something about the butterfly feeling that only he can unleash like this.


Friends, read this one.
Read them all.
Don't try to hide your puddle of tears, when you're reading. You'll cry. You know you will. I did. .

:) ( )
  klbradley | May 9, 2018 |
Terror and excitement abound in the second half of Nicholas Sparks’ See Me, as the daughter of Mexican immigrants is stalked and a young man with a dangerously dubious past tries to protect her. Will the biggest threat come from strangers or from Colin’s hair-trigger temper? Will good friends intervene in time? Will family accept the promise of unexpected love?

In contrast, the first half of the novel reads seriously slowly, building character through lengthy backstory and introspection, providing nicely-disguised hints of what’s to come but burying them ever deeper as pages turn. The result is a long slow read, easy to put down until halfway through the book, then hard to resist. Chapters contrast Colin and Maria’s viewpoints convincingly, making the characters and their situation very real. And it’s hard to resist those amazing friends who keep Colin grounded and safe.

See Me is a novel that might make readers see both the outcasts and the inside crowd of society in a different light. It’s an odd combination of slow-paced and fast-paced read, and it’s a fascinating tale.

Disclosure: I like the author’s novels so I was pleased to find a copy in a sale. ( )
  SheilaDeeth | Feb 15, 2018 |
I did not realize Nicholas Sparks was able to write a suspense novel. I thought he was only about romance. This book has a romantic storyline but it also has an air of suspense, which surprised me. I think I preferred the romance over the suspense ... since the female character had a debilitating panic attack during the heat of the moment, I kind of lost respect for her.

Adrianne ( )
  Adrianne_p | Feb 13, 2018 |
When you think that after numerous of reading about Nicholas Sparks’ works is enough to know him and the way he pulls his magic as a storyteller, you better re-examine yourself then again.

Nicholas Sparks, as always, proves to us the power of love. He always gives his readers the same effect even on different and inspiring stories through the years. In this one, the North Carolinian setting is quite different yet sounds the same all at once because he tells the story this time with quite a sophistication, unlike his other prior novels. I don’t know about others but for me, Sparks’ setting- (which all of his fans are well aware of) North Carolina will always be the best element of his works. It is very special since all of his novels unravel in this place but the effect is still great and overwhelming.

See Me is a wonderful novel and a very great read after a tiring semester, a long hard year, or just plain sad day. It makes me wonder at times if it is good for my heart to read a Nicholas Sparks novel at this time of the year but yet again he never fails me. Before I start reading See Me, I thought that this is just going to be a light read since as all of us are aware of, the genre is romance, but little did I know that this is going to be a big heart-pounding journey of a read.

Along with the positive qualities of a certain novel, there come negative aspects as well. See Me, for me, lacks the ‘Nicholas Sparks’ kind of romance. I’m not saying that this novel does not have the butterflies-in-the-stomach scenes, but I kind of feel that some scenes just drifted apart. Other than that, the plot is good and it makes its readers think thoroughly.

To be honest, I never guess a single plot of a Nicholas Sparks novel. (I read all of his novels except for the latest release, Two by Two) Although at some point in my reading I’ve made up for the plot myself, but it always turns up wrong or incomplete. Also, as a millennial, I am active with every social media platforms, and I followed him on every site he is on, and I cannot decipher how some netizens can be so mean to say that all of his plots are the same and they are all easy to guess, because for me it is never and will never be like that way.

I love See Me because it does not focus on the characters of Maria and Colin alone. The plot is so carefully crafted that its readers can see how every character grow as individuals all throughout the novel, and that is the best part for me. I finished reading this book loving all the characters the same. Not only the major characters, Maria and Colin, but the whole set of people who made up the story. Yes, people might claim that his plot is simple but I can attest that Nicholas Sparks is the only storyteller I know that has the ability to create a plot so beautifully romantic and crafted cleanly. See Me is one the story. Light yet heart-gripping, a great read indeed. ( )
  primadonnareads | Jan 5, 2018 |
This is a bit different than other Sparks' books I have read. Instead of the traditional love story and drama that goes along with relationships, there is a stalker along with a murder/mystery unfolding with a bit of revenge. There is plenty of twists and turns in the plot that it had me guessing (and reading). ( )
  berthashaver | Nov 18, 2017 |
While the book started off slowly (for me), I soon became engrossed in it. I listened to it while traveling home from a long trip and then listened about one hour per day afterwards. It is a long book. To me this book is a tad different from Sparks other books, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I actually liked the change of pace. The character Lily seemed a tad forced, but she gave humor to the book. Another winner from Sparks. ( )
  travelgal | Sep 1, 2017 |
This book is absolutely beautiful, as are all the books of Nicholas Sparks. It brings us a mix of feelings and makes want to know more and more about the story! Colin is such an amazing character, i loved to see how he changed from a life with violence and erros to a much better life, with discipline.
I totally recommend this book to anyone who loves a love story ! ( )
  paulafigueira | Aug 1, 2017 |
The rare Nicholas Sparks book that doesn't make me cry (or even tear up at all). Different from what I consider his norm, but a good book. ( )
  KatKealy | Jul 7, 2017 |
This is way different from any other Nicholas Sparks novel. If you're looking for his signature epic love feel, you won't find it here. If you're on the market for a romantic suspense type read, you should definitely check this one out. It's more mainstream feeling that his usual work IMO.

Most would label Colin as a bad boy. He has anger issues and a past. He tries to work, study, workout and do MMA fights to keep himself too busy to get into more trouble and release all his negative energy. Maria is a lawyer whose life isn't living up to all she thought it would be at this stage. A relationship between them is a big gamble because they seem to be nothing alike.

Colin and Marie try to figure out some common ground. Then crazy and scary things start happening that leave everyone searching to figure them out before it’s too late.

I think the writing is really good. I understand the author needing to branch out his style, but I hope he doesn’t totally leave the emotional romances behind.


Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Google  / Pinterest / Goodreads / Tumblr / tsū


( )
  ToniFGMAMTC | Jan 19, 2017 |
This is way different from any other Nicholas Sparks novel. If you're looking for his signature epic love feel, you won't find it here. If you're on the market for a romantic suspense type read, you should definitely check this one out. It's more mainstream feeling that his usual work IMO.

Most would label Colin as a bad boy. He has anger issues and a past. He tries to work, study, workout and do MMA fights to keep himself too busy to get into more trouble and release all his negative energy. Maria is a lawyer whose life isn't living up to all she thought it would be at this stage. A relationship between them is a big gamble because they seem to be nothing alike.

Colin and Marie try to figure out some common ground. Then crazy and scary things start happening that leave everyone searching to figure them out before it’s too late.

I think the writing is really good. I understand the author needing to branch out his style, but I hope he doesn’t totally leave the emotional romances behind.


Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Google  / Pinterest / Goodreads / Tumblr / tsū


( )
  ToniFGMAMTC | Jan 19, 2017 |
This is not your standard Nicholas Sparks love story. Yes, there is obviously going to be romance within the story, but there is also a slight dark side to it. I enjoyed this new side of him. ( )
  lynnski723 | Dec 31, 2016 |
See Me a book by Nicholas Sparks is, a book full of love, mystery, and the effect of someone's past that can impact your future by more than you could ever imagine. As Maria, a lawyer from a very successful firm abruptly meets Colin who seems to sweep her off of her feet into a whirlwind of love and mystery. See me is a book which the theme is romance, this theme comes out the first few sentences of the book, but the theme could also be a mystery with the fact that you don’t what is going to happen next on the next page. In this book, the main theme is romance, with the fact that Maria and Colin fall in love at a time in each other's lives when neither of the were looking for love in their lives. The author had main different moods in the book, from happy, to sad, to not knowing what will happen next. Which was a very fun thing to have, that then made the book even more eventful and exciting. There was only one aspect of the book that I didn’t like, which was the ending. The ending of See Me is that everyone gets into a major car accident, it then leaves you on a cliffhanger that only gives you the information that you don’t know if any of them will make it out of the accident alive. Every other part of the book I loved, with all the drama that came with Maria's past, that then brings Colin into it. With her drama, it gets Colin in trouble with the police, that then starts to worry Maria’s that Colin isn’t a good guy for Maria. While this is happening Maria’s parents don’t know what has come up in Maria’s life that causes these issues. See Me is a great book and I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes to read romance and mystery books because this is a book that incorporates both of those things very well.
  HenleyFP5 | Oct 10, 2016 |
I, like many of the others have read everything Nicholas Sparks has written. He was my very first favorite author. I am so disappointed. I waited and waited for his latest book. I could only get through the third chapter. I agree with many of the others, there is no way Nicholas wrote See Me. There has been a mistake made, enough said. ( )
  Sandralb | Aug 30, 2016 |
Nothing really very positive to say about this book. Seemed slapped together. The author is capably of much better work. ( )
  Joe24 | Jul 22, 2016 |
I really love it when Nicholas Sparks pushes his boundaries a little bit and adds more drama than romance. The stalker storyline was totally creepy and engrossing! I haven't been this thrilled by one of his books since Safe Haven. Can't wait to see what he comes up with next. ( )
  pennma05 | Jul 21, 2016 |
Es mostren 1-25 de 34 (següent | mostra-les totes)

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.62)
0.5
1 2
1.5 1
2 14
2.5 5
3 38
3.5 7
4 42
4.5 2
5 31

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 162,532,698 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible