IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Lying in Wait de Liz Nugent
S'està carregant…

Lying in Wait (2016 original; edició 2016)

de Liz Nugent (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
4343642,893 (3.86)21
"From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an "unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page" (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed. My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it. On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life--wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia's son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax. For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a "seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre" (Sunday Mirror)"-- "Psychological thriller about a woman whose son discovers a secret that threatens her perfectly happy life"--… (més)
Membre:RosangelaRopis
Títol:Lying in Wait
Autors:Liz Nugent (Autor)
Informació:Penguin Ireland (2016), 320 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:to-read

Detalls de l'obra

Lying in Wait de Liz Nugent (2016)

  1. 00
    Praying Mantis de Domini Taylor (bluepiano)
    bluepiano: A mother just as horrid as the one in this book is up to similar shenanigans, although in Praying Mantis it's unloved daughter rather than beloved son whom Mom torments and betrays. This one's funner.
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 21 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 36 (següent | mostra-les totes)
I do not know where my original review went for this book. I did read it last year and I remember it being amazing. I’ve noticed quite a few of my reviews have disappeared but my dates are still there. Anyway this one is definitely worth reading. ( )
  purple_pisces22 | Mar 14, 2021 |
This definitely was a different idea. The ending seemed very fitting, but I find it so sad that many had to suffer to get there. Bringing his son in on the secret was both shocking and perfect. ( )
  purple_pisces22 | Mar 14, 2021 |
This was funny, weird and good. ( )
  LoisSusan | Dec 10, 2020 |
Liz Nugent is a damned good storyteller. Not everyone can do thriller suspense well, but she weaves nearly effortlessly, with a noticeably gothic tone. I can't really say too much more, or else it will be one big fat spoiler review! I do recommend this book, however. Its well drawn characters will definitely stay with you. ( )
  Mona07452 | Oct 23, 2020 |
Lying in Wait must have the best opening line EVER! It is on the cover and in the blurb so I'm not releasing any spoilers by stating it again here:

'My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.'

I had little doubt from this most excellent first sentence, that this book was going to be slightly on the dark side, but I could never have guessed how deliciously dark it was going to be. Talk about a dysfunctional family - Lydia reminded me of the fabulous Bette Davis in one of my favourite films, The Anniversary. A cruel and clever matriarch ruling her family without them even realising they are being ruled. Tremendous!

Andrew and Lydia Fitzsimons are doing very well for themselves. They live in a huge house with their son, Laurence, but beneath the perfect facade lies THE most dysfunctional family I have ever read about. Lydia is absolutely crazy as a coconut and Andrew and Laurence do everything they can to please her. Just how far they go on behalf of Lydia is enough to make your hair curl, and does she appreciate it? Not one little bit.

When Andrew kills Annie Doyle, Annie's family register her as a missing person and her sister, Karen, never gives up hope of finding out what happened to Annie. Annie was estranged from her family so when she sends mysterious letters reassuring her family that she's ok, they breathe a sigh of relief. Wait a moment, wasn't she killed in the first sentence? Aha! I told you this book was dark.

There is so much I could say about this book but I fear I may spoil some of the story if I continue, needless to say a brilliant opening line deserves an outstanding ending and Liz Nugent doesn't fail to deliver. I have read so many fabulous reviews of Liz Nugent's debut, Unravelling Oliver, but I have not yet had the chance to read it; if it's half as good as Lying in Wait, it will be money well spent.

Lying in Wait is a deliciously dark and constantly surprising story. Never has the well used line 'hooked from the start' fitted so well; you can't fail to be hooked from the start with this one and Liz Nugent definitely reeled me in. A fabulous book - I loved it.

I received this book from the publisher, Penguin Ireland, in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  Michelle.Ryles | Mar 9, 2020 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 36 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

"From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an "unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page" (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed. My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it. On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life--wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia's son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax. For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a "seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre" (Sunday Mirror)"-- "Psychological thriller about a woman whose son discovers a secret that threatens her perfectly happy life"--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.86)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 9
2.5
3 17
3.5 5
4 49
4.5 4
5 26

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 156,967,502 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible