IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Has donat un cop d'ull al SantaThing, la tradició de fer-se regals de LibraryThing?
ignora
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

This Tender Land: A Novel de William Kent…
S'està carregant…

This Tender Land: A Novel (2019 original; edició 2020)

de William Kent Krueger (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1,1647913,056 (4.26)57
For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.… (més)
Membre:danisaur
Títol:This Tender Land: A Novel
Autors:William Kent Krueger (Autor)
Informació:Atria Books (2020), Edition: Reprint, 464 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Informació de l'obra

This Tender Land de William Kent Krueger (2019)

  1. 00
    To the Bright and Shining Sun de James Lee Burke (gypsysmom)
    gypsysmom: Krueger and Burke have similar writing styles. Plus both books are about young people caught in difficult economic times.
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 57 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 79 (següent | mostra-les totes)
While this is a nice immersion into 1932 Minnesota, with a young protagonist escaping a brutal school and going on an odyssey down the Mississippi, the story is either too much like Huck Finn or not really an Odyssey. And the final attempt at magical realism tied in to the reflections about faith were just not terribly convincing to me. ( )
  WiebkeK | Nov 26, 2021 |
What a beautifully written and wonderful story!! I die O’Banion and his brother Albert are students at an “Indian school”, the only white children in the school. They were put there after their parents die. The superintendent of the school, Thelma Brickman, is evil, called the Black Witch. When one of their kindly teachers dies, Odie, Albert, their friend Mose, and the teacher’s young daughter, Emmy, all run away.
This story is the tale of their adventure in 1932, as the Depression is changing the lives of Americans, the group of 4, called the Vagabonds, face many hardships, meet all sorts of characters, all in the hopes of finding home.
I absolutely loved this story. Read it!! ( )
  rmarcin | Nov 11, 2021 |
This Tender Land. William Kent Krueger. 2019. What a beautiful coming of age novel! Krueger is a fabulous writer. He reminds me of Harper Lee. Even though they are not Indians, Odie and his brother are put in the Lincoln Indian Training School when they are orphaned. The superintendent is a sadistic bitch. Because of a series of misadventures, acts of God, and luck they manage to escape from the school in a canoe . They take a mute Indian friend and the young daughter of one of their favorite teachers. The plot revolves around their adventures as they paddle down Minnesota’s Gilead River to the great Mississippi to their Aunt in Saint Louis. Kruger has done his research on Indian schools and the depression. This is as beautiful as his Ordinary Grace was. ( )
  judithrs | Sep 4, 2021 |
Wonderful book with amazing children heroes who have lost all of their family and fallen into the hands of adults who play at being good. Their only hope seems to be escape from the school.

1932: Located on the banks of the Gilead River in Minnesota, Lincoln School is home to hundreds of Native American boys and girls who have been separated from their families. The only two white boys in the school are orphan brothers Odie and Albert, who, under the watchful eyes of the cruel superintendent Mrs. Brickman, are often in trouble for misdeeds both real and imagined. The two boys' best friend is Mose, a mute Native American who is also the strongest kid in school. And they find another ally in Cora Frost, a widowed teacher who is raising her little girl, Emmy, by herself.

When tragedy strikes down Mrs. Frost, it's the catalyst for a series of events that will send Odie, Albert, and Mose to rescue Emmy and flee down the river in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi, leaving a dead body in their wake. Soon, they are wanted by the law, and they know that Mrs. Brickman will stop at nothing to track them down for dark reasons of her own. Over the course of this unforgettable summer, Odie, Albert, Mose, and Emmy carefully make their way through the small river towns and big cities filled with people who are by turns desperate and generous, cruel and kind. As they search for a place to belong, these four remarkable children will lose their innocence but gain the strength to survive in the face of terrible loss. ( )
  Gmomaj | Aug 30, 2021 |
A good read. A good story well told. ( )
  Renzomalo | Aug 22, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 79 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Krueger, William Kentautor primaritotes les edicionsconfirmat
Brick, ScottNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Sing in me, Muse, and through me tell the story.
-Homer, The Odyssey
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
For Boopie, with love
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
In the beginning, after he labored over the heavens and the earth, the light and the dark, the land and sea and all living things that dwell therein, after he created man and woman and before he rested, I believe God gave us one final gift.
Citacions
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
“Ask me, God’s right here. In the dirt, the rain, the sky, the trees, the apples, the stars in the cottonwoods. In you and me, too. It’s all connected and it’s all God. Sure this is hard work, but it’s good work because it’s a part of what connects us to this land. This beautiful, tender land.”

William Kent Krueger. This Tender Land: A Novel (Kindle Locations 4-6). Atria Books. Kindle Edition.
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.26)
0.5 1
1
1.5 1
2 5
2.5 3
3 28
3.5 28
4 103
4.5 28
5 136

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 164,311,004 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible