IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

Pachinko (2017)

de Min Jin Lee

Altres autors: Mira la secció altres autors.

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
5,0092461,836 (4.09)338
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--… (més)
  1. 20
    The Good Earth de Pearl S. Buck (ghr4)
  2. 10
    Beasts of a Little Land de Juhea Kim (catrn)
  3. 10
    The Lowland de Jhumpa Lahiri (doryfish)
    doryfish: A man marries a woman already pregnant with another's child and they immigrate together.
  4. 00
    El Club de la Bona Estrella de Amy Tan (charlie68)
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 338 mencions

Anglès (238)  Neerlandès (2)  Castellà (1)  Alemany (1)  Totes les llengües (242)
Es mostren 1-5 de 242 (següent | mostra-les totes)
This historical fiction/family saga book was the first I had read featuring the Korean experience in Japan. It was interesting, I learned much, and I'm glad I read it.

However, I didn't love it like I have some other great general sagas like Middlesex, The Joy Luck Club, [The Good Earth], and Postcards to name a few of my favorites. It took me a long time to read it and even put it down to read another book in the middle. This was not all due the fact that I wasn't in love with the book, I just had other things going on.

So, overall I thought it was good and am glad I read it. I see so many people who love it and it won several awards. Recommended. ( )
  paroof | Nov 25, 2022 |

This is probably something I shouldn't admit, but when I saw the description of this book for this month's Book of the Month, it seemed an instant pass. I am not a huge fan of historical fiction, books that go several generations, or books that are described as people going through lots of struggles. So, I passed on this for Book of the Month, but then NetGalley showed up and I had been approved to review this.

The great news is, I really enjoyed this book even though it was not my preferred genre. Story and writing drove this great book as well as a topic that is in my wheelhouse, but not one that I would think about.

As stated, this is a several generations story of a Korean family living in Japan. It begins in the 1900s with Sunja, a young Korean girl who falls for a fast talking man who brings exotic gifts and seduces her with promises. After he sleeps with her and takes off, she finds herself pregnant. When he returns, he reveals he has another family and cannot be with her.

As an Asian single, pregnant woman in the 1900s, her life is essentially destroyed until she meets a Presbyterian minister who takes pity on her, marries her, and brings her to Japan with him.

This is how the book begins and it seems a straightforward story, except Koreans are not welcome in Japan, so the family experiences a deep seated racism. We also are in a time when the Emperor is worshipped as a deity, so being part of a Christian family also brings struggle for Sunja's family. We will journey with her family through WWII and beyond.

As stated, this was not my type of book from the outset, so I went into the book very reluctantly. I am also going to state this is not an easy book as it is filled with struggle as the family takes hit after hit, even when they get themselves out of a jam, another one will spring up shortly. Yet, the writing and the character creation drive this story. Lee's characters are real and are flawed even in their triumphs. While there are woes, it isn't a "woe is me" type story. It is about people trying to get by in a world that is not their own while trying to make it their own.

If there is one critique, it is a very minor one. Due to how the Japanese members of society will treat the family, one issue that keeps coming up is the misspelling or the misstatement of the family name. The Japanese members will often say the character's names incorrectly and if you zone out a bit while reading, you may not pick up on this and wonder when the characters switched.

Overall, this turned out to be a great read. I gave it 4 stars.

I want to thank NetGalley for this book. I received it for free in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  Nerdyrev1 | Nov 23, 2022 |
I thought the prose adequate but not spectacular and overall story line fast but not particularly deep. Characters come and go with much chance for the reader to really care about them. ( )
  charlie68 | Nov 17, 2022 |
Generational fiction about ethnic Koreans and their struggles as immigrants in Japan, where they were discriminated against throughout the 20th century (and possibly still are). I guess there's really nothing new or unique in the world. People are people, and Us vs. Them is just everywhere. As is fairly common with this type of novel, some characters and story lines get short shrift, and narrative tension is lacking in parts. I also found the author's voice a little too apparent as the omniscient narrator makes the same point over and over through different characters. A little more subtlety, a little more editing, and this could have been a five star read for me. ( )
1 vota laytonwoman3rd | Nov 8, 2022 |
Multigenerational family saga set in Korea and Japan covering the period 1910 to 1989. A Korean family operates a boardinghouse in Yeongdo. The daughter, Sunja, gets pregnant, but the of her baby is a gangster and is already married. One of the boarders, a kind-hearted minister, marries her and takes her to his home in Japan. The story revolves around Sunja, her parents, sons, and a grandchild.

This book explores the prejudice experienced by Korean immigrants in Japan. Themes include identity, fate, self-sacrifice, and family secrets. I listened to the audiobook, narrated by Allison Hiroto. She has a pleasant voice and enunciates clearly.

I enjoyed the first half more than the second. At one point, it veers off the main family story to cover a friend’s family in much more detail than expected. There are random scenes of sex and violence that seem unnecessary. Pachinko is a game of chance, and it represents the outcomes in life for the characters – some win but most lose.
( )
  Castlelass | Oct 30, 2022 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 242 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (11 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Lee, Min Jinautor primaritotes les edicionsconfirmat
Blum, GabrieleNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Hiroto, AllisonNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Kim, IntaeNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Lecq, Paul van derTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Leger, PatrickAutor de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Lenting, InekeTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Pearson, BrigidDissenyador de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit answered to, in strongest conjuration.
-Charles Dickens
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
For Christopher and Sam
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
History has failed us, but no matter.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en neerlandès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.09)
0.5 1
1 5
1.5
2 35
2.5 8
3 151
3.5 90
4 499
4.5 92
5 362

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 180,428,010 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible