IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) de…
S'està carregant…

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) (2017 original; edició 2017)

de Min Jin Lee (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
3,8142052,431 (4.08)290
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--… (més)
Membre:HsLbry6441BVDr
Títol:Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)
Autors:Min Jin Lee (Autor)
Informació:Grand Central Publishing (2017), Edition: Large Print, 752 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Fiction

Detalls de l'obra

Pachinko de Min Jin Lee (2017)

Afegit fa poc permvh9, biblioteca privada, KU_OMA, ejmw, MelonC, hazel1123, kurokijo, figsfromthistle
  1. 10
    The Lowland de Jhumpa Lahiri (doryfish)
    doryfish: A man marries a woman already pregnant with another's child and they immigrate together.
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 290 mencions

Anglès (202)  Castellà (1)  Alemany (1)  Neerlandès (1)  Totes les llengües (205)
Es mostren 1-5 de 205 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Fascinating. I was sad when it ended. ( )
  emrsalgado | Jul 23, 2021 |
Another 5 stars. I rarely give 5 stars but Pachinko deserves it. Yes it is a multi-generational family saga and historical fiction (two of my favorite genres) but it is also a story about strong women facing down adversity. I did not know much about Korea (North and South) and learned more about how Koreans were treated in Japan pre and post WW2. I consider it a gift when a book truly teaches me.

I have already passed my copy along and hope to continue passing it on... ( )
  scoene | Jul 13, 2021 |
This book broke my heart multiple times. I absolutely loved it anyway. Go read it, if you haven’t. ( )
  jgmencarini | Jul 11, 2021 |
This is a beautifully written saga of a Korean family who moves to Japan. The beginning moves a little slowly, but it gradually develops into a fascinating historical study. As Koreans, the Baek family will never be fully accepted in Japan--even those who have been born there. Their search for identity and a place within Japanese society drives them, sometimes in heartbreaking ways. ( )
  arosoff | Jul 11, 2021 |
(37) How could I not have read this book before now? This is really exactly the type of book I love. Multi-generational family sagas that also transport to another time and place with historical context and subcontext. A story centered around a poor Korean woman who is impregnated by a married man and is married off to a kind sickly minister who is nursed back to health in the families rural boarding house. He moves with his wife to his new church in Osaka where they become one of the many Korean foreign nationals living in Japan - always looked down upon and systemically discriminated against forevermore despite becoming a successful family. In many ways it is a classic rags to riches story over several generations held together by the humble materfamilias. They make their money with a Korean style slot machine game called 'Pachinko.' I think it could have been called 'Casino' in America and been somewhat of an Italian-American story and would have the same connotation. It was a transcendent reading experience (much like Noa's obsession with the great novels of English lit) - rather like a Middlemarch or one of the chunkier Dickens like 'Bleak House.'

The writing is excellent. A half star off only because I felt that although we had multiple third person narrators throughout, there was not as much introspection or examination of motivations, etc. of each character. I think it was an artistic choice as opposed to lack of skill, but I would have preferred a deeper dive in some instances. The closest we got was Sunja's self realization that she lived for her sons and that maybe that wasn't right; almost a form of selfishness - I loved her mother's brutal honesty as she was dying. I also think the female characters were much more deeply portrayed than the male ones. But these are minor quibbles in what was otherwise a fine modern example of a traditional well written novel. No gimmicks. No OVERT politically correct diatribes. No deux ex machina or ridiculous magical realism nor post-modernism. Wonderful. It is so nice to know that there are young authors who have the ability and the desire to write like this.

Highly recommended for lovers of 19th century English lit., in addition to readers of some of our finest modern day story-tellers like David Mitchell, Jhumpha Lahiri, Vikram Seth. Bravo! ( )
  jhowell | Jun 24, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 205 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (13 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Lee, Min Jinautor primaritotes les edicionsconfirmat
Lecq, Paul van derTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Leger, PatrickAutor de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Lenting, InekeTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Pearson, BrigidDissenyador de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit answered to, in strongest conjuration.
-Charles Dickens
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
For Christopher and Sam
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
History has failed us, but no matter.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en neerlandès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.08)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 28
2.5 8
3 126
3.5 76
4 407
4.5 78
5 281

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 160,664,127 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible