IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book de…
S'està carregant…

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book (2017 original; edició 2017)

de Jennifer Donnelly (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
5901730,858 (3.76)6
Two sisters, Love and Death, make a wager that one of them is determined to win by any means.

This story takes place during a period of time between the Beast giving Belle his library, and the “Something There” sequence. Belle begins to recognize that the Beast’s character goes deeper than just the monster who imprisoned her father and then herself, and decides that he could even be a friend. Meanwhile, an enchanted book opens a portal to a different realm where she is free to live the life she has always dreamed of, and may even give her the chance to reunite with her father! But you know what they say about things that seem too good to be true…

I thought this was going to be a pretty childish and cheesy book, and it was a little bit, but not nearly to the extent that I was expecting. It’s actually a really lovely little chapter of the tale, and I’ll be keeping and rereading it for sure! ( )
  vvbooklady | May 5, 2021 |
Es mostren totes 17
I think it was really cute to give this little insight into a new piece of the Beauty and the Beast story. I love the mention of Agatha. I also love the concept behind Love and Death being sisters and betting on the outcome of the Beast. ( )
  Completely_Melanie | Sep 10, 2021 |
Two sisters, Love and Death, make a wager that one of them is determined to win by any means.

This story takes place during a period of time between the Beast giving Belle his library, and the “Something There” sequence. Belle begins to recognize that the Beast’s character goes deeper than just the monster who imprisoned her father and then herself, and decides that he could even be a friend. Meanwhile, an enchanted book opens a portal to a different realm where she is free to live the life she has always dreamed of, and may even give her the chance to reunite with her father! But you know what they say about things that seem too good to be true…

I thought this was going to be a pretty childish and cheesy book, and it was a little bit, but not nearly to the extent that I was expecting. It’s actually a really lovely little chapter of the tale, and I’ll be keeping and rereading it for sure! ( )
  vvbooklady | May 5, 2021 |
An ok story. The author liked to mention Belles' brown boots, which are not something she wears in the animated movie. I got a little annoyed with Belle. For such a smart character she was acting pretty dumb. The end was predictable. ( )
  nx74defiant | Jan 14, 2021 |
A Beauty and the Beast, Disney, Lost in a Book an Enchanting Original Story by Jenifer Donnelly is beautiful. Sincerely, look at the cover. I love it!

Now the story itself is interesting, if you enjoy the Disney movie. It honestly reminds me of the Beauty and the Beast Christmas Special. Well written, just not on a high level. Perfect for the 8-12 year old range, and a good addition to my Beauty and the Beast book collection.


This story is engaging and fun to read, and very young adult. In the best way possible. But, if you do not enjoy reading young adult, I would not recommend this book.

Personally, I liked it. And the cover. Oh, the cover. Glad to add it to my collection, and will happily recommend it to all of my friends! ( )
  Sandeen | Feb 7, 2019 |
I really enjoyed this Beauty and the Beast tale! Although I have to say I was a little confused in the beginning trying to see where we were in the typical well-known version of the story. Once I got into the book a little I really enjoyed the twists of the well-known characters, as well as some others. A cute and quick read for fans of Beauty and the Beast! ( )
  kstadt929 | Nov 10, 2018 |
It's a great book for early teens, but still great for any age. It's a tale of friendship and learning a hard lesson. Has heart wrenching moments and some creepy things happen toward the end! Loved it all around. ( )
  Zaria37 | Apr 25, 2018 |
I love everything Beauty and the Beast so this was a no brainer. At times the story gave me an Alice in Wonderland vibe, but all in all I enjoyed it. What's not to love about getting swept away in the pages of a book. 3.5 ⭐️ ( )
  karenvg3 | Mar 19, 2018 |
To see this review and others please visit www.readrantrockandroll.com

This review may contain spoilers...

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book is comparable to the classic Beauty and the Beast, yet so much more. I thoroughly enjoyed the introduction which was so unique. It pulled me right in with the interaction between Love and Death-so intriguing. It's no surprise that Death would cheat, but who will win?

The story starts with Belle in Beast's castle after she's been imprisoned. Beloved Belle and her love for books begins the journey into Nevermore which is so imaginative and pulls you in like you've entered an enchanting dream you don't ever want to leave. Can Beast change and will Love prevail, or will Belle be so enticed that she'll be lost forever?



I loved the author's writing style and this is a super simple read that even young readers at the age of 10-12 can enjoy as it's YA. Even though the story is simple, I believe adults can enjoy it as well. It took me extra time to finish it because I'm reading so many books right now, but one could easily have it read in half a day. Some of the characters are a little lackluster at times but there's plenty of other detail and depth to the story which makes up for it in my opinion, like learning more about the Beast's background. I loved the addition of the new characters in Nevermore. I also love the beautiful cover which fits the story so well.



My only issue with the story is that I wanted a different ending or perhaps MORE of an ending. It was so abrupt and not what I expected. I'm really hoping there's another book on the way! I'll be forgiving if there is! *Excessive Sobbing*

If you're a Beauty and the Beast fan, do yourself a favor and treat yourself to this even more magical version of Beauty and the Beast. I highly doubt you'll be disappointed. Now I'm off to discover more books by Jennifer Donnelly and to see the movie!

4**** ( )
1 vota Mischenko | Nov 30, 2017 |
I love this fairytale but it goes beyond just being a Disney classic. It truly portrays that beauty is only skin deep and that someone who physically is unattractive on the outside, can truly be beautiful on the inside. This seems so basic and simple, but I feel people of all ages can read and enjoy this book, and learn many lessons about life from it. ( )
1 vota elisabethshim | Nov 8, 2017 |
I purchased Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly for myself. This is my review and all opinions are my own. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟Belle is trapped in the Beast's castle as the fairytale goes, as love and death are playing chess. Love tells Death she thinks the spell cast upon the Beast and his castle look promising love will win again. Death can't allow love to win, the water is too steep. Death comes up with a plan to trick Belle with an enchanting book that allows her freedom from the Beast's castle and escape to write her own story. But Belle ignores the rules of three and becomes trapped in the book. Who gets to finish Belle's story? Love? Death? Can and will the Beast save her? Or is the castle left for doom forevermore? Review also posted on Instagram @jasonnstacie, Goodreads/StacieBoren, and my blog https://readsbystacie.com ( )
1 vota SBoren | Oct 7, 2017 |
Lost in a Book is about Belle as she finds an enchanted book in the Beast's library called Nevermore that carries her into a new world. There, Belle meets a mysterious countess who offers her the life she's always dreamed of.
But Nevermore is not what it seems, and the more time Belle spends there, the harder it is to leave. She starts thinking something is up... ( )
  kmann63 | Jul 25, 2017 |
“Isn’t that what a good story does? It pulls you in and never lets you go.”

DAMMIT, I WANTED THIS STORY TO PULL ME IN AND NEVER LET ME GO.

Lost in a Book replicates its Disney counterpart where Belle is a captive of the Beast in his castle that still includes Cogsworth, Lumiere, Mrs. Potts, Chip, and more. Beast reveals his library to Belle and she is awed, but instead of the bright shiny room of perfection we all have embedded in our minds from the movie, Belle immediately realizes how much the library has fallen into disrepair and needs to be cleaned excessively. Within this library, she finds a room and within this room a special book which transports her to a world of adventure where anything is possible. She quickly becomes enamored with the book and the world it shows her, despite her understanding that it isn’t actually real, and is constantly sneaking away to be in this world. When she isn’t hiding in the book, she’s complaining ad nauseam about her provincial life.

Good gawd, we get it, you hate your life. Lost in a Book quickly becomes less about the Beast and all about Belle… more scenes from his point of view would have been welcome. Any scenes that showed the Beast’s feelings for Belle grow felt lacking any sort of emotion and instead felt like all it was was a last ditch effort to save his servants. Maybe those parts were left out with the understanding that we knew, based on the Disney production, how Beast actually felt, but I wanted to see it included in the story itself since there were so many changes I felt it should have been able to stand on its own. Especially in regards to the villain: Gaston was absent completely in exchange for a female villain: Death. Yes, Death. You see, the story actually starts with Death and her sister Love.

Indeed. See Death and Love made a bet that Belle wouldn’t be the one to break the spell (Death obviously bet against her) and when she began to realize that Love might actually win, she set out to make sure that didn’t happen. *yawn* This could have been a charming addition to Beauty and the Beast retellings but the story lacked any real substance and most definitely lacked the magic the original tale had. ( )
  bonniemarjorie | Jun 2, 2017 |
I really wanted to love this one, but, though the writing was good, there were too many cliches. DNF. :-( ( )
  cmmccoy | May 24, 2017 |
Belle is definitely one of my favorite Disney princesses. Aside from her love of books, I like it that she's not a damsel in distress and knows how to fight back. I watched the animated movie when it came out in theaters, and like any bibliophile, one of my favorite scenes was when she saw the Beast's library for the first time. I too dream of having a library like that. So it was with great excitement that I watched Beauty & the Beast in 3D starring the talented Emma Watson. I absolutely loved the movie, can't wait until it comes out in DVD so I can watch it over and over again. Imagine my surprise when I saw that there's a book based on this well-loved story, I just had to get a copy.

The story expounds on Belle's adventures while staying in the Beast's castle. Belle is yet to warm up to the Beast, but she is already fond of the Beast's loyal servants - Lumiere, Cogswoth, Mrs. Potts, Chip and the other beloved characters in the story. As Belle and the Beast struggle to establish a friendship, Belle finds a magical book that entices her to escape into its pages. Unbeknownst to her, the book is Death's ploy to lure her away from the Beast. But Death's sister, Love, is determined to help Belle and the Beast find their happily ever after. Will Love overcome Death, or will this fairytale have a different ending?

I enjoyed reading this book, the writer really captured the nuances of each character. The story is a good mix of cute and creepy, it held my interest throughout as I was reading it. If you like fairy tales, you'll love this. If you love Beauty & the Beast, you definitely have to read this. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars ( )
  VavaViolet | May 21, 2017 |
I absolutely loved this book!

I thought the story fit very well into the movie's timeline. It also did a nice job of briefly going over some of the things that happened in the movie in case you haven't seen it yet.

I loved the whole idea of Belle getting lost in an enchanted book. I loved all the things Belle's said about how she felt about reading.

Overall, this book was just so perfect.

Also, the cover is just so gorgeous. ( )
  oddandbookish | Apr 6, 2017 |
Astonishing! This has got to be the best retelling I have EVER read. I am in tears.
This book was phenomenal! All retellings I have ever read tend to plat close to the chest and not change very much... or change it all together so the original gets lost.
But... Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book totally changed AND challenged them all. It's a one of a kind!

I will say this, I pre-ordered it the SECOND I knew about it. Being a fanatic of Beauty and the Beast there is no possible way I could pass this up. The waiting game drove me insane but it was TOTALLY WORTH IT! I mean it is so epic, even halfway through the book I told my local library they HAD to buy a copy for others to read.

The story line was unexpected and so different I really didn't think it would work. Boy oh boy. I was wrong. Jennifer Donnelly has some SERIOUS talent. I have a feeling if someone tried to one up this book, they would fail.

The writing was awesome and flowed so perfectly that there is no way you would want to put it down and if someone made you, you would possibly beat them over the head with the book WHILE reading it. It is just that awesome. Lol

The characters were so strong and so powerful that you bond over a whole new level. Just being smoldering, sexy, sassy like Death. Sweet, charming, and beautiful like Love. Adventurous, strong, and bookwormy like Belle ... I mean the list goes on. Even Beast, Chip, and the rest of the gang is so powerful that you not only feel what they fell, you ARE them.

Ugh stop reading my review and go by this book! RIGHT NOW! What are you still reading for!? YOU NEED THIS BOOK! Go! Go get it!

(Also....can I please rate HIGHER than 5 stars! It deserves more!) ( )
  FearStreetZombie | Feb 15, 2017 |
A very sweet book. ( )
  EvaW | Feb 13, 2017 |
Es mostren totes 17

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.76)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 4
2.5
3 15
3.5 1
4 24
4.5
5 15

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 162,532,435 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible