IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

No Good Deed de Goldy Moldavsky
S'està carregant…

No Good Deed (edició 2017)

de Goldy Moldavsky (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
564355,626 (3.31)No n'hi ha cap
Gregor Maravilla wants to feed starving children, so going to a new summer camp, Camp Save the World, for teen activists sounds like a great idea; but the various causes the teens are representing are so varied and frankly, strange, (Boycott Camp, Eat Dirt are just two) that it is hard to get a handle on what is going on--and as the saying goes, no good deed goes unpunished.… (més)

No n'hi ha cap.

No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren totes 4
Narrated by Michael Crouch.Gregor Maravilla is attending Camp Save the World, a camp for young activists. He’s looking forward to learning how to make a difference with his campaign “Feed the Children.” The camp turns out to be much less than he hoped given that it was founded by his humanitarian idol Robert Drill. Teen actress Ashley Woodstone’s presence has a huge impact on the campers but even though Gregor could care less about her, she’s always popping up in his face. Crouch puts on a lively performance, playing up the more over-the-top characters such as actress Ashley, "Men's Rights Guy," and counselor Jimmy. After awhile though, they all seem to stem from the same cartoon. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 27, 2018 |
Literary Merit: Okay
Characterization: Good
Recommended: Recommended where sarcasm and humor books are popular
Level: High School

Gregor Maravilla just wants to save the world and feed the children! He has no concrete plan to actually accomplish that goal but has been accepted into Camp Save the World. Where teens from all over the country will gather with their own activist ideals to compete against each other for a prized internship.

This book oozes sarcasm and humor. This is for fans of Libba Bray's Beauty Queens, Andrew Smith's Grasshopper Jungle, or any Paul Rudnick fans. This is the book that I wish that Gina Damico's Waste of Space was like. That book was all over the place but the first person narration of Gregor keeps things on track here. And this book is all about the humor. The campers become their cause. There is the men rights activist that wants equal rights for men, the celebrity actress that is going to solve world hunger by telling poor people to eat dirt, and poor Gregor that wants to feed children but doesn't know what that means. Everyone is lofty ideals. This is satire at its finest. ( )
  SWONroyal | Feb 5, 2018 |
Oh boy, this was so stupid and corny. I am definitely the wrong target audience for this novel. I can see how it would be fine and cute for 12-16 year olds but good god this was not worth my time. ( )
  Slevyr26 | Jan 29, 2018 |
Goodreads Synopsis:
He's not asking for much. All Gregor Maravilla wants to do is feed all of the starving children on the planet. So when he's selected to join Camp Save the World, a special summer program for teenage activists from all over the country to champion their cause, Gregor's sure he's on the path to becoming Someone Great.
But then a prize is announced. It will be awarded at the end of summer to the activist who shows the most promise in their campaign. Gregor's sure he has the prize in the bag, especially compared to some of the other campers' campaigns. Like Eat Dirt, a preposterous campaign started by Ashley Woodstone, a famous young actor who most likely doesn't even deserve to be at the camp. Everywhere Gregor goes, Ashley seems to show up ready to ruin things. Plus, the prize has an unforeseen side effect, turning a quiet summer into cutthroat warfare where campers stop focusing on their own campaigns and start sabotaging everyone else's.

My Review:
I won this book through a goodreads giveaway. The description sounded like something I would really lie, so I though I would give it a shot. It took me less than a day to get through. Gregor is a sixteen year old boy. He has no friends, and his family is annoying. He wins an entry into a summer camp, Camp Save the World, hoping to make a difference. The only thing is that the camp isn't everything it's cracked up to be. The kids are pitted against each other in various random competitions constantly, trying to win points to win an internship. No one is really all too friendly too Gregor. Worst of all, a celebrity everyone is obsessed with is there, and she couldn't possibly want to make a difference right? Honestly I wasn't too sure about this book once I started it. The idea seemed really interesting, but I didn't really feel that sucked into the story until about halfway. From that point on though I liked what I read. I felt a little old to be reading it, however, especially when the teenagers couldn't figure out how to work a vcr. I guess I had that coming reading about sixteen year olds, being twenty myself. For the most part, I enjoyed reading this book, although it's not one of my all time new favourites. Still, I don't regret reading it and you should check it out if you haven't already.
Thanks for reading! Check out this review and more at my blog.
(Radioactivebookreviews.wordpress.com) ( )
  radioactivebookworm | Jul 29, 2017 |
Es mostren totes 4
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

Gregor Maravilla wants to feed starving children, so going to a new summer camp, Camp Save the World, for teen activists sounds like a great idea; but the various causes the teens are representing are so varied and frankly, strange, (Boycott Camp, Eat Dirt are just two) that it is hard to get a handle on what is going on--and as the saying goes, no good deed goes unpunished.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.31)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 3
3.5
4 2
4.5
5 1

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 154,565,680 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible