IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

The Forbidden Garden

de Ellen Herrick

Sèrie: Sparrow Sisters (2)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
11520186,433 (3.5)9
"Captivating [...] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love." --Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life. Every garden is a story, waiting to be told... At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate. Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried--and failed--to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house's history--especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls--and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets...  … (més)
No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 9 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 22 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Good story ( )
  LoriFox | Oct 24, 2020 |
The privileged Kirkwood family has a Shakespearean garden that has been fallow for hundreds of years. When Graham Kirkwood hears about Sorrel Sparrow and her talented sisters in America, he becomes enthusiastic about inviting her to their home in England to rescue the Shakespearean garden. The garden was cursed by a Kirkwood ancestor hundreds of years ago, and no one has been able to grow anything in it since. When Graham’s wife tried to work on the garden, she became ill. The Kirkwoods believe that Sorrel might have the answers.

Mysterious, ancient tapestries tell a family history that the Kirkwoods have tried to keep hidden for years. It seems, though, that one tapestry, one which might hold the answers to the problems with the Shakespearean garden, is missing.

This is an intriguing mystery and romance which also contains a touch of magic. It is exciting and hard to put down. This is a wonderful adventure for any reader. ( )
  Sandralovesbooks | Nov 1, 2019 |
I so loved returning to the world of the Sparrow sisters. ( )
  JeanneBlasberg | Apr 30, 2019 |
The second story featuring the Sparrow Sisters, this one focuses on Sorrel's story.

If you haven't read The Sparrow Sisters, you should. It's one of the best books I've read recently.

Each of the sisters is known for her possibly magical abilities in the garden.
After the rough year they faced in the first story, Sorrel accepts an offer to restore a Shakespeare Garden in England.

When she arrives, she is warmly greeted by the Kirkwood family. Graham and Stella are the married couple that hired her, Poppy is their college aged daughter.
Sorrel is less warmly greeted by Stella's brother Andrew. He's been through a rough time himself.

Stella hopes that Sorrel can pull Andrew out of his funk. Graham hopes that Sorrel can restore the garden. But what Graham doesn't tell her is that his family's garden has a dark history. He is concerned whether the garden is cursed. He wants to keep Stella away from it. He thinks Sorrel may be able to fix the problem without knowing the full story.

I enjoyed the new characters but I missed the dynamic of the three sisters always together in the first book.
This book felt darker than the first book, but it is not without its own light.

I loved the descriptions of the food so much that I feel like there should be a third book devoted to a newfound love of cooking.
If the author keeps writing them, I'm going to keep reading them :) ( )
  Mishale1 | Dec 29, 2018 |
This was a fun read. Set in a somewhat magical England complete with a cursed garden, this novel traces a family seeking to recreate an old family garden and turning to an American gardener with some special abilities to make it happen. Of course, a romance and a centuries-old mystery quickly comes into play. Overall, this novel makes for fun, enjoyable reading with a magical twist. ( )
  wagner.sarah35 | Nov 20, 2017 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 22 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

"Captivating [...] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love." --Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life. Every garden is a story, waiting to be told... At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate. Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried--and failed--to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house's history--especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls--and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets...  

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Autor amb llibres seus als Crítics Matiners de LibraryThing

El llibre de Ellen Herrick The Forbidden Garden estava disponible a LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Dóna't d'alta per obtenir una còpia prèvia a canvi d'una ressenya.

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.5)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 1
2.5 2
3 10
3.5 3
4 15
4.5 1
5 3

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 160,687,974 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible