IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the…
S'està carregant…

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress) (2017 original; edició 2017)

de Julie C. Dao (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
5101835,535 (3.82)3
The Wrath and the Dawnmeets Snow White and the Huntsmanin this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legendabout one peasant girl's quest to become Empress. Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins--sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanternspossesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy- dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance.Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queenwill devour this stunning debut. Praise for Forest of a Thousand Lanterns "A richly developed fantasy world coupled with an ambitious anti-heroine of complex agency, this story shines and surprises at every turn. Julie C. Dao is a talent to watch."-Marie Lu, #1 New York Timesbestselling author of The Young Elites "A stunningreimagining of the Evil Queen. Filled with treacherous courtesans, dark magic, terrible choices, and bloody hearts, Julie Dao's exquisitetake on this classic villain rises far above the average retelling."-Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval "Dark, lush, and intense, Forest of a Thousand Lanternsdraws you into a world filled with mystery and intrigue, led by a heroine determined to grasp her destiny. A stunning debut!"-Cindy Pon, author of WANTand Serpentine… (més)
Membre:CrankySiren
Títol:Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress)
Autors:Julie C. Dao (Autor)
Informació:Philomel Books (2017), Edition: 1st Edition, 384 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca, Per llegir
Valoració:
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Detalls de l'obra

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns de Julie C. Dao (2017)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 3 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 18 (següent | mostra-les totes)
About halfway done, but setting it aside for when I'm in more of a mood for dark fantasy. I'm really curious to see how it ends, though!
  rjcrunden | Feb 2, 2021 |
A little overwrought for me. ( )
  MaximusStripus | Jul 7, 2020 |
A fun quick read!

I went into this book skeptical as I once again read mixed reviews about it before reading. However upon reading this story I found it a good competent quick read. I loved the premise of the whole story the only thing that would have made it 4 stars rather than 3 for me is more body to the story itself. To elaborate this book is just shy of 400 pages where it could easily have another 100.

However if your looking for a quick fun read with magic, mystery, sabotage & a wee bit of romance then this book is for you! ( )
  kymisan | Jun 23, 2020 |
holy shit, that was exactly what i needed. i love a good villain-esque protagonist. AHH I LOVE IT ( )
  hexenlibrarian | May 19, 2020 |
Just plain old badly written.
  miri12 | May 31, 2019 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 18 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (1 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Julie C. Daoautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Guest, Kim MaiNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
The first one's for you, Mom, for all your love and support
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
The procession stretched down the cobblestone road, a serpent made of men in red and gold, the Emperor's colors.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

The Wrath and the Dawnmeets Snow White and the Huntsmanin this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legendabout one peasant girl's quest to become Empress. Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins--sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanternspossesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy- dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance.Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queenwill devour this stunning debut. Praise for Forest of a Thousand Lanterns "A richly developed fantasy world coupled with an ambitious anti-heroine of complex agency, this story shines and surprises at every turn. Julie C. Dao is a talent to watch."-Marie Lu, #1 New York Timesbestselling author of The Young Elites "A stunningreimagining of the Evil Queen. Filled with treacherous courtesans, dark magic, terrible choices, and bloody hearts, Julie Dao's exquisitetake on this classic villain rises far above the average retelling."-Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval "Dark, lush, and intense, Forest of a Thousand Lanternsdraws you into a world filled with mystery and intrigue, led by a heroine determined to grasp her destiny. A stunning debut!"-Cindy Pon, author of WANTand Serpentine

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.82)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5
3 11
3.5 3
4 23
4.5 2
5 10

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 157,731,958 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible