IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

An Enchantment of Ravens (2017)

de Margaret Rogerson

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1,5566011,317 (3.88)35
Fantasy. Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:An instant New York Times bestseller!
An Indie Next Top 10 Pick
A Parents' Choice Silver Honor Winner

"A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance." ??School Library Journal (starred review)
"A phenomenal read." ??RT Book Reviews

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts??even as she falls in love with a faerie prince??in this gorgeous bestseller that's "an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).
Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron??Rook, the autumn prince??she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes??a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love??and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the
… (més)
mom (444)
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 35 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 59 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Flawed at points, but on the whole this was a lavishly written fairy tale that was nothing less than enchanting. Think “Spiderwick Chronicles” meets “A Court of Mist and Fury”.
Full review can be found here on my blog: https://thedeborahembury.wordpress.com/2017/10/18/an-enchantment-of-ravens-by-ma...
( )
  deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
This book was incredibly charming. I loved getting lost in it and I read it in one day. I felt a bit lost when it ended, I wasn’t sure why at first which is why I waited to write the review. I don’t want it to end. ( )
  ChaoticGoblin | Jan 23, 2024 |
Okay, new rule - I am no longer allowed to read young adult fantasy novels written in first-person POV. It never works out for me.

Except, damn, Seraphina was written in first-person and I really liked it. I suppose I shall have to invent a complicated flowchart with questions like "is the love interest an otherworldly creature who can't be trusted" and "is the cover too pretty for its own good."

(To the author's credit, the writing is quite good; it just happens to feature the sort of trope-y YA romance to which I am regrettably allergic.)

ETA: I may give her next book a try, it's about a magical library foundling and folks seem to like it. My tastes are nothing if not predictable.
  raschneid | Dec 19, 2023 |
This was beautifully written and a new favorite of 2020.

Content:
some kissing that gets intense
a bit of language that really jarred the narrative considering that it's a fantasy world. ( )
  libraryofemma | Oct 20, 2023 |
I listened to this novel because I so enjoyed Rogerson's other novel.

Isobel knows the fair folk well, knowing how to negotiate in order to actually get what she wants. She maintains total control. Well, until Rook arrives. Rook, the Autumn King, wants his portrait made, which is what Isobel does for the fairy folk. They end up enjoying each other's company. Isobel changes the portrait slightly when she sees an emotion in his eyes. Having already approved the painting, he leaves with the portrait only to return later absconding Isobel to stand trial for the painting. On their way to the fairy lands, Isobel and Rook discover unexpected danger. Rook also determines that he overreacted, so he now needs to make sure Isobel stays safe.

I enjoyed this fantasy novel with Isobel and Rook attracted to each other as they try to save each other from the various dangers. ( )
  acargile | Aug 1, 2023 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 59 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
To my mom and dad, with love.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
My parlor smelled of linseed oil and spike lavender, and a dab of lead tin yellow glistened on my canvas.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Fantasy. Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:An instant New York Times bestseller!
An Indie Next Top 10 Pick
A Parents' Choice Silver Honor Winner

"A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance." ??School Library Journal (starred review)
"A phenomenal read." ??RT Book Reviews

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts??even as she falls in love with a faerie prince??in this gorgeous bestseller that's "an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).
Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron??Rook, the autumn prince??she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes??a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love??and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.88)
0.5 1
1 2
1.5
2 18
2.5 4
3 59
3.5 16
4 110
4.5 8
5 79

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 202,158,540 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible