IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

City of Ghosts (1) de Victoria Schwab
S'està carregant…

City of Ghosts (1) (2018 original; edició 2019)

de Victoria Schwab (Autor)

Sèrie: Cassidy Blake (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
7664122,172 (3.96)4
From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger. When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself. And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined. NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).… (més)
Membre:Jaanai23
Títol:City of Ghosts (1)
Autors:Victoria Schwab (Autor)
Informació:Scholastic Inc. (2019), Edition: Reprint, 320 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Detalls de l'obra

City of Ghosts de Victoria Schwab (2018)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 4 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 41 (següent | mostra-les totes)
This review was originally posted on Once Upon a Chapter



I have to giggle a little bit when it comes to City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab. You see I first took interest in it because the book community was all abuzz pre-release day. Then after it was released all of that intensified. I giggle because I own seven, yes seven, books by Schwab that are currently unread. City of Ghosts comes along and BOOM! I've read my first Victoria Schwab book. (It helps that it was a gift. :))

I really, really enjoyed Cassidy Blake, her parents (who yes! are an active part of the book!!), Jacob, and the people they meet while in Edinburgh. Schwab had this way of effortlessly writing characters. I'm almost two weeks removed from finishing the book and there were no awkward character introductions and I remember each one. Her characters were full-bodied and memorable. It made the story flow so well.

And what a story it was! City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab was original without being too far out there. I've really been into the ghost type stories lately and this book fit in nicely. Middle grade is not my typical go to but I really enjoyed this one. So much so that I have pre-ordered the second book in the series.

I liked the local lore that Schwab injected into City of Ghosts. Cassidy and Jacob had a great friendship and it was nice to see a book for children showing a male/female friendship without romance or a crush confusing it. I liked how the Blakes were active parts in the book and in their daughter's life and not relegated to spending the entire book off page.

If you have a tween in your life who needs a good book (heck even if you're a 34 year old married woman!) City of Ghosts is a fantastic place to start! Now if Schwab's young adult/adult novels are as good as her middle grade, I have a few treasures in the TBR waiting! ( )
  stephaniedloves2read | Aug 8, 2021 |
This review was originally posted on Once Upon a Chapter



I have to giggle a little bit when it comes to City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab. You see I first took interest in it because the book community was all abuzz pre-release day. Then after it was released all of that intensified. I giggle because I own seven, yes seven, books by Schwab that are currently unread. City of Ghosts comes along and BOOM! I've read my first Victoria Schwab book. (It helps that it was a gift. :))

I really, really enjoyed Cassidy Blake, her parents (who yes! are an active part of the book!!), Jacob, and the people they meet while in Edinburgh. Schwab had this way of effortlessly writing characters. I'm almost two weeks removed from finishing the book and there were no awkward character introductions and I remember each one. Her characters were full-bodied and memorable. It made the story flow so well.

And what a story it was! City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab was original without being too far out there. I've really been into the ghost type stories lately and this book fit in nicely. Middle grade is not my typical go to but I really enjoyed this one. So much so that I have pre-ordered the second book in the series.

I liked the local lore that Schwab injected into City of Ghosts. Cassidy and Jacob had a great friendship and it was nice to see a book for children showing a male/female friendship without romance or a crush confusing it. I liked how the Blakes were active parts in the book and in their daughter's life and not relegated to spending the entire book off page.

If you have a tween in your life who needs a good book (heck even if you're a 34 year old married woman!) City of Ghosts is a fantastic place to start! Now if Schwab's young adult/adult novels are as good as her middle grade, I have a few treasures in the TBR waiting! ( )
  stephaniedloves2read | Aug 8, 2021 |
3.5-3.75 ( )
  MagpieBricolage | Jul 17, 2021 |
This is a very sweet story and it does indeed remind me of Ghost Whisperer! But yeah, I love Cassidy! And I can't wait to read what's next! ( )
  iamcmims | Apr 4, 2021 |
City of Ghosts
(Cassidy Blake #1)
by Victoria Schwab
Wow, I didn't know this was a middle grade book when I ordered it from the library but I would say it's a book for middle grade and up! I enjoyed it so much! I am a senior and I found it thrilling, entertaining, suspense sprinkled throughout, and bits of humor. It's also about family and friendship.
Cassidy is our gal of the story. She drowns then comes back, saved by Jacob who is a ghost. Since her accident, she can see and hear ghost. She can also go between, a place that shows ghosts in their time as they were about to die. She has to be careful there! Fortunately she has her best friend Jacob who is not just a friend but her protector.
Cassidy is looking forward to a long summer at the beach cabin where there isn't any ghosts. But her parents have a surprise, their ghost novels are picked up by a network and they will be travelling to haunted places to film. What happens when she goes to the city of ghosts in Scotland she will remember forever! Very thrilling!
Very enjoyable entertainment and just the right trepidation was added for a great creepy factor. ( )
  MontzaleeW | Feb 25, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 41 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
To Die will be an awfully big adventure. ~J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
People think that ghosts only come out at night, or on Halloween, when the world is dark and the walls are thin.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger. When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself. And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined. NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost . . .).

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.96)
0.5
1
1.5
2 7
2.5 1
3 22
3.5 13
4 86
4.5 7
5 33

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 162,289,378 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible