IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Monday's Not Coming de Tiffany D. Jackson
S'està carregant…

Monday's Not Coming (edició 2018)

de Tiffany D. Jackson (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
4813138,053 (4.14)4
From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl's disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth. Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable--more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn't turn up for the first day of school, Claudia's worried. When she doesn't show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn't just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year's rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best--and only--friend more than ever. But Monday's mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday's sister April is even less help. As Claudia digs deeper into her friend's disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she's gone?… (més)
Membre:ksmedberg
Títol:Monday's Not Coming
Autors:Tiffany D. Jackson (Autor)
Informació:Katherine Tegen Books (2018), Edition: Reprint, 432 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:*****
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Detalls de l'obra

Monday's Not Coming de Tiffany D. Jackson

Afegit fa poc perArina42, mbellucci, Jennifer_Long, biblioteca privada
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 4 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 31 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Again, another amazingly sad story. So much truth to it, but so sad. I like the way the character went back-and-forth in time and I found it easy to follow. Guessing the outcome wasn’t hard but it didn’t make it any easier. The little twist toward the end of the book regarding Claudia’s memory was brilliant! I totally did not see that coming. In fact I was expecting something completely different. ( )
  purple_pisces22 | Mar 14, 2021 |
Friendships during your teen years can often feel like a lifeline when you’re navigating home, school, hormones, and the rest that comes with transitioning from a kid to a young adult. That is absolutely the reality for Claudia and Monday, best friends who are on the brink of 8th grade. Although their home lives are markedly different, the two are kindred spirits facing life together.

That changes when Claudia returns to Washington, D.C. from her annual summer vacation to Georgia. Despite promises, Monday hasn’t written a single letter and doesn’t show up for school for months. No one notices, no one looks, and no one cares about Monday’s disappearance except Claudia. Early in the book, Claudia asks: “How can a whole person, a kid, disappear and no one say a word?” This is central to the plot of the book, which follows Claudia in her pursuit of the truth about where Monday’s been.

With Monday’s Not Coming, Jackson has given a voice to stories that often go unheard. Missing black girls and women do not get the same media coverage as other demographics, though their absence is no less troubling. I found it poignant that this story is set in Washington, D.C., which has had several high profile incidents of missing black girls, so much so that it sparked a hashtag, #missingDCgirls in 2017. Jackson’s careful examination of what happened to Monday was like peeling an onion, showing how someone can fall through the cracks, even when seemingly under heightened scrutiny. She sheds light not just on school officials, but also social services, law enforcement, and local communities’ roles in addressing issues around child welfare.

Jackson’s writing style in Monday’s Not Coming can be confusing, but is clearer on a second read. She tells the story chronologically, but hops back and forth in time by month and year. In so doing, she sheds light on the girls’ friendship, Monday’s disappearance and the search for her, and Claudia’s response to the truth. Admittedly, I didn’t understand it completely on the first read. But going back with clarity allowed me to see the skill in Jackson’s approach. Things I hadn’t picked up on the first time were glaring, and the theme of “breadcrumbs” became even more apparent.

Monday’s Not Coming strikes close to home — as a parent of a young black girl approaching Claudia and Monday’s age, I couldn’t help but put myself in the shoes of people throughout this book. I constantly asked myself how I would respond in a similar scenario. This isn’t an easy read by any stretch of the imagination. It was frustrating, angering, and heartbreaking. Nonetheless, it is a story that needs to be more widespread and is so critical in highlighting what is not uncommon in communities around the world.

Monday’s Not Coming is an emotional read, but so necessary. It is filled with suspense and angst about how a child could disappear with so little attention called to them. But more than that, it offers a critique of systems put in place to protect children and how they can so readily fail at their purpose. As with her previous release, Allegedly, Jackson has presented a book that lacks a neat, happily-ever-after but instead forces you to open your eyes and think. ( )
  lenabean84 | Jan 10, 2021 |
The idea of the story line is really heart breaking and good buttttt the timeline was very confusing to follow with the Before, the after, and the before the before. I had to consciously remind myself of where in the story I was reading when he new section started. Aside from the timeline, just the thought of not not knowing what everyone is going through especially kids is horrible to think about and this book helps to put thoughts in perspective. ( )
  jastay | Jan 7, 2021 |
RGG: Amazing, intense, horrific, realistic, readable. Child abuse, neglect, poverty, sexual abuse, sexualization of young women, learning disability, family love and support, friendship, first romance. Reading Interest: 14-YA.
  rgruberexcel | Nov 15, 2020 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 31 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl's disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth. Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable--more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn't turn up for the first day of school, Claudia's worried. When she doesn't show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn't just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year's rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best--and only--friend more than ever. But Monday's mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday's sister April is even less help. As Claudia digs deeper into her friend's disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she's gone?

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.14)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5 1
3 13
3.5 3
4 26
4.5 9
5 32

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 157,019,937 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible