IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Heart of Thorns (Heart of Thorns, 1) de Bree…
S'està carregant…

Heart of Thorns (Heart of Thorns, 1) (edició 2019)

de Bree Barton (Autor)

Sèrie: Heart of Thorns (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
2144100,393 (3.77)1
Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist teen fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic--and every woman is suspected of having it. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won't want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy. In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch. But when Mia's father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy. Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart...even if it kills her.… (més)
Membre:ErinRCode
Títol:Heart of Thorns (Heart of Thorns, 1)
Autors:Bree Barton (Autor)
Informació:Katherine Tegen Books (2019), Edition: Reprint, 480 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Informació de l'obra

Heart of Thorns de Bree Barton

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 1 menció

Es mostren totes 4
To enthrall someone is to enslave them, little rose. You've robbed them of their choice. And without choice, what are we?

Well, I wanted my review for this to be better than it's going to be, but I just finished it and my brain is mush after refusing to sleep, so, well.

Interesting. This was lush as hell. This was beautiful. The writing was - different, to say the least, what with the science and the meandering, but I did like it a lot. It was especially strong with presenting quotes/memories, in one light at first, then twisting them with new context and making them shine with different meanings. That's some solid wordsmithery and control over the reader's pace and knowledge. (jelly.)

I loved the magic. It gave way to this sensory, lovely, often steamy (in many interpretations of the word lol) scenes and descriptions. Feeling what others are feeling around you - and intentionally, or unintentionally, controlling it - is something I've long wanted to explore in my own writing and this was a great introduction to it. It was balanced well with its "convenience" aspect. There were so many scenes that hit the perfect notes thanks to the magic. It had the makings of a fascinating magic system and an even more fascinating world that operated alongside it.

Let me emphasize...the "makings."

I guess that's where my main (only?) problem lies. The world started off very nice (look, I'll fall for ANY pseudo-European monarchy). It was perfectly studded with all these special elements of the environment. It gave very distinct features to even the deepest parts of the brush. But. BUT.

Culture, history, all that. Ugh. I get why this and Grace & Fury were packaged together for SPOTM voting, and I didn't care for it. Like, jesus, okay, I get it. Feminism. Hurrah. Everything sucks for women in literally every universe. Freaking revolutionary. (Not to pull this off the path, but this one at least did better in not making its female characters feel like raw meat and tools for ~ SEE, OPPRESSION ~.) I feel like the main concept - women were gifted with magic to stand up against their oppressors, to gain strength that they long deserved - is super empowering and accurate to some people. I've lost patience with the concept.

This is veering (I'M SORRY TO DO THIS IN YOUR REVIEW, BARTON) but eugh. I'm tired of reading about women being treated like shit because they're women, the same way I'm tired of any diverse characters being treated like shit just so they can overcome it. It isn't subtle when it's on a worldwide context like this. It's so boring... It's important to someone, but I feel better reading the 'after' stage of the revolution, thanks...

Anyways. That ending though. My eyes were glazed over (I admittedly am super tired okay) so I missed some stuff, but the final payoff was fascinating. Not sure where else it can go, but I haven't seen 'secret coded journal' done so nicely in a long while.

Will I continue? I guess I'll see. ( )
  Chyvalrys | Aug 5, 2020 |
A story of a mother's love!

Enjoyed this book from beginning to end. A quick read for all lovers of fantasy, romance & family. ( )
  kymisan | Jun 23, 2020 |
This book ENTHRALLED me from the very beginning. I quite liked the pacing up until the point where they were in Refúj and then it seemed all the important parts were rushed and it felt like slow filler. The ending, while rushed, intrigued me and I'm excited to read the next book! ( )
  JulianaMD | Jun 1, 2020 |
https://iwriteinbooks.wordpress.com/2018/12/29/heart-of-thorns-bree-barton/

Arranged marriages never seem to end well, at least not in fiction. Mia is pretty sure hers will be the worst. She is slated to marry a prince with less emotion than a slab of granite, dooming her to a life of petty politics and boredom. All she really wants to do is hunt down the witches that killed her mom, three years ago, a hunt she's been training for her whole life.
Their kingdom has always feared the Gwyrach, an all female magical force that brings only death and destruction to the humans they touch. Mai and her sister, Ange, have been taught for a lifetime, that the Gwyrach are a ruthless enemy and must be stopped.
The only kicker is that all of Mia's training will be for nothing if she marries Prince Quin, as she'll have to turn in her sword for more ladylike weapons. But with magic creeping closer to the castle, Mia knows she has to take things into her own hands. As a last ditch escape plan, she attempts to fabricate her own death, breaking out of the castle and bringing her younger sister along with her.
Of course the lies we're told in childhood rarely amount to truth in adulthood, making for epically smashed assumptions and some serious adventure.
I'm pretty sure that Bree Barton's Heart of Thorns is everything I wanted from Disney's Frozen except a whole lot more deliciously sinister.
Heartstring-pulling sister dynamics, twisted kingdoms, and magic as metaphor for strong feelings all weave together to create this gorgeous, adventure packed story.
Gender plays a role in the force that is Heart of Thorns but not in a two dimensional, second wave Feminist way. Men and women alike, grapple with long held expectations of strength, softness, compassion, and resentment.
It's a beautiful story and it makes my therapist heart so very happy to see social constructs dealing with emotion, gender, and simply living, both broadened and fine tuned in such an elegant way.
I can't wait for the next book and I do hope you'll check this one out and join me in falling head over heels with Bree Barton. ( )
  iwriteinbooks | Dec 30, 2018 |
Es mostren totes 4
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist teen fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic--and every woman is suspected of having it. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won't want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy. In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch. But when Mia's father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy. Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart...even if it kills her.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.77)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 5
3.5 1
4 7
4.5
5 2

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 164,567,463 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible