IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Social Creature: A Novel de Tara Isabella…
S'està carregant…

Social Creature: A Novel (edició 2018)

de Tara Isabella Burton (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
4213461,058 (3.24)8
Fiction. Literature. Thriller. HTML:One of the Best Books of the Year:
Janet Maslin, The New York Times
Vulture
NPR
"Social Creature is a wicked original with echoes of the greats (Patricia Highsmith, Gillian Flynn)." Janet Maslin, The New York Times

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.
They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them... They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste...
Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon.
Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.
… (més)
Membre:whakaora
Títol:Social Creature: A Novel
Autors:Tara Isabella Burton (Autor)
Informació:Doubleday (2018), Edition: 1st, 288 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

Social Creature de Tara Isabella Burton

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 8 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 34 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Oh HELL yeah. This book has everything I love: Gatsby-soaked opulence; uber-fucked-up main characters; pretentious writerly nerds spouting existential nonsense; boys in tweed. And, of course, MOYDAH! I won't be forgetting those scenes anytime soon. Oh Rex, there was no way you were getting outta this one alive.
Highly recommended for fellow Tartt / Secret History fans. ( )
  pagemother | Apr 5, 2023 |
I had fun reading this but I wouldn't recommend it--just feels like there are other books doing this better.
  whakaora | Mar 5, 2023 |
Hmmm - this suspense novel got better as it went along, but I'm still stuck between a 3.5 and a 4 rating. It's a familiar tale - like the movie Single White Female, a woman of few resources tries to become her wealthier and prettier rival - but updated for this era, because cell phones and texts have an outsized influence on the plot. Louise, from a working class New Hampshire family, is struggling to stay on top of her expenses and is working three jobs when she is hired by the very wealthy Lavinia and sucked into her adventurous Manhattan orbit. Lavinia habitually uses and discards young female sycophants, and all Louise wants it to stay in her good graces and at her gorgeous townhouse. Both women have been neglected by their families and are the children of hypo-critical mothers, and they're both thin, blonde, and good-looking, so the bonding seems to work well for both, until it doesn't. It turns out that neither has a conscience and both are pathological liars - so much for reliable narrators. The conclusion is surprisingly unpredictable, and that is the novel's strength. ( )
  froxgirl | Aug 15, 2021 |
This book has gotten a ton of press and advance raves. I don't know how, because I was singularly unimpressed. First, if you trumpet all over the jacket that it's an updated Ripley, thanks, you spoiled the plot. Next, the characters. I enjoy unlikeable characters. Burton has committed a bigger sin: hers are boring and tiresome. I could not muster a shit to give. For a book of under 300 pages, the plotting feels slow. You work out pretty quickly that Louise lacks self esteem as well as money, and that Lavinia is drawn entirely from a cross of Rich Party Girl with a tired stereotype of a woman with borderline personality disorder. There's not much more to them. Their grand toxic friendship is mainly a spiral of parties and money that really doesn't need over a hundred pages to describe. The writing consists of stream of consciousness run on sentences, which while they accurately replicate the speech of this type of vapidity, become tiresome to read.

I could give it an extra half a star because I did finish it, but I regret purchasing it. Patricia Highsmith did it first, she did it better, and I remain unconvinced that this book needs to exist. ( )
  arosoff | Jul 11, 2021 |
UGH. I can't believe the NYT pointed me to this. ( )
  flemertown | Jul 10, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 34 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (4 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Tara Isabella Burtonautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Maarleveld, SaskiaNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
For Brian - who has been on this adventure from the beginning
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
The first party Lavinia takes Louise to, she makes Louise wear one of her dresses.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Fiction. Literature. Thriller. HTML:One of the Best Books of the Year:
Janet Maslin, The New York Times
Vulture
NPR
"Social Creature is a wicked original with echoes of the greats (Patricia Highsmith, Gillian Flynn)." Janet Maslin, The New York Times

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.
They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them... They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste...
Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon.
Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.24)
0.5
1 8
1.5 3
2 8
2.5 2
3 31
3.5 6
4 38
4.5 2
5 5

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 208,950,421 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible