IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

Gideon the Ninth

de Tamsyn Muir

Altres autors: Mira la secció altres autors.

Sèrie: The Locked Tomb (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
2,2801165,447 (4.1)100
The Emperor needs necromancers. The Ninth Necromancer needs a swordswoman. Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead nonsense. Tamsyn Muir's Gideon the Ninth unveils a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers. Her characters leap off the page, as skillfully animated as arcane revenants. The result is a heart-pounding epic science fantasy. Brought up by unfriendly, ossifying nuns, ancient retainers, and countless skeletons, Gideon is ready to abandon a life of servitude and an afterlife as a reanimated corpse. She packs up her sword, her shoes, and her dirty magazines, and prepares to launch her daring escape. But her childhood nemesis won't set her free without a service. Harrowhark Nonagesimus, Reverend Daughter of the Ninth House and bone witch extraordinaire, has been summoned into action. The Emperor has invited the heirs to each of his loyal Houses to a deadly trial of wits and skill. If Harrowhark succeeds she will be become an immortal, all-powerful servant of the Resurrection, but no necromancer can ascend without their cavalier. Without Gideon's sword, Harrow will fail, and the Ninth House will die. Of course, some things are better left dead.… (més)
  1. 10
    The Stars Are Legion de Kameron Hurley (aspirit)
    aspirit: Warrior lesbians in space. Both space operas contain strong horror elements.
  2. 10
    The Unspoken Name de A K Larkwood (stephiewonder)
    stephiewonder: Lesbians! Magic! Space! Weird death cults! It's all there.
  3. 11
    Nevernight de Jay Kristoff (ajwseven)
  4. 01
    The Witness for the Dead de Katherine Addison (Usuari anònim)
    Usuari anònim: They're both fundamentally comfortable mystery stories in exquisitely detailed novel universes. They don't *look* very similar, but they're sneaky like that.
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 100 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 116 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Lived up to everything I wanted it to be. Awesome story in a stunningly beautiful package of a book. ( )
  Malaraa | Apr 26, 2022 |
Wild. Gory. Weird, weird, weird. Took me a bit to get into, taking me even longer to accept that the book is over. Didn't realize until very near the end that it's a series (argh!! waiting!). Inevitable, upsetting, and so bizarrely funny at unexpected moments that it kept me completely off kilter. It's a great book, and I heart Gideon so much for never being able to refer to the teenagers as anything other than Loathsome Teens -- it's more endearing than it sounds, but her adamant and immediate characterization of her fellows is definitely one of her strengths. Also, as a sword-fighter, kudos for excellent sword scenarios. Much enjoyed. ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
Wild from beginning to end

I love this book. A lot. Definitely one of my favorite reads this year, and now in my top 10. Also a perfect spooky season read.

Gideon is an amazing character. Crass and, frankly, hysterical as well as quotable, Gideon's character growth throughout the novel is masterfully written. Clever and funny, this book shows what's possible within narrative. Perfect for fans of VE Schwab and Kendare Blake. ( )
  CatherinePeace | Apr 8, 2022 |
I read this book because it claimed to be "original science fantasy", it has been praised by some writers I like, and it won the 2020 Locus prize.

Mayor delusion. The settings feels like a Warhammer-40k ripoff. The plot feels like it has been devised as a video game script. The many characters are all shallow and cartoonish in their interactions.

I find noteworthy that the book it is somehow promoted as "LGBT-themed" while it is basically aseptic in terms of sexual interactions (the most sexual interaction you may find is hugging), which makes sense to me for a story where
everyone is either a necromancer, a necromancer's assistant or an undead.

I do not know if it may appeal to young adults as an alternative to superhero movies or video games, but if this is the better that science-fantasy has to offer now, probably it is time for me to quit the genre. ( )
  Rouge2507 | Mar 26, 2022 |
This book lends itself to flashy titles

Lesbian! Necromancers! In SPAAAACE!

and while those things aren't *false* they really don't exemplify what the book is about, or it's feeling at all.
So I'll add a new incongruous pithy descriptor: It's really more of a cozy Mrs. Marple mystery (with lesbian necromancers in space).

Representatives from around the galactic empire are gathered (alone) in a strange palace on a deserted planet to solve a mystery. All of the action is self contained. Half a dozen characters, couple dozen rooms, the interactions thereof. It's not nearly as flashy as the marketing would have you think it is, but it pulls itself off well.

The protagonist is too edgy for her own good, but in a pleasantly self aware way. And despite containing a death cult of functioning necromancers, the universe isn't overly edgy either. It walks what I would have said before was an impossible line of neither taking itself too seriously nor being a farce.

Oh, and she's a lesbian, but she isn't special because of it, and there aren't any sex scenes or anything, she just *is*, you know the way people are things. The way inclusive fiction *should* be done.

The fact that this book can take so many ridiculous elements and stay sane, like, all the way sane, not 'the right side of crazy' but really, pretty normal is so impressive I don't even understand it.

Why isn't it 5 stars? I dunno, I guess in trying to keep all those plates spinning smoothly it doesn't have room for greatness? It's a fun novel, and not flawed, but not 'the best thing ever' in any dimension. ( )
  alspachc | Mar 25, 2022 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 116 (següent | mostra-les totes)
„Ich bin Gideon“ ist sprachlich überschäumend, grell und laut wie eine romangewordene Fahrt mit der Geisterbahn. Zugegeben, es gibt Passagen, in denen es noch ein wenig ruckt und rumpelt. Aber Tamsyn Muir ist jung, erst 1985 in Neuseeland geboren und „Ich bin Gideon“ ist ihr Romandebüt. Dieses Debüt ist ihr großartig gelungen.
 

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (1 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Tamsyn Muirautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Arnold, TommyAutor de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Quirk, MoiraNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Stafford-Hill, JamieDissenyador de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Two is for discipline, heedless of trial;
Three for the gleam of a jewel or a smile;
Four for fidelity, facing ahead;
Five for tradition and debts to the dead;
Six for the truth over solace in lies;
Seven for beauty that blossoms and dies;
Eight for salvation no matter the cost;
Nine for the Tomb, and for all that was lost.
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
for pT
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
In the myriadic year of our lord—the ten thousandth year of the King Undying, the kindly Prince of Death!—Gideon Nav packed her sword, her shoes, and her dirty magazines, and she escaped from the House of the Ninth.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

The Emperor needs necromancers. The Ninth Necromancer needs a swordswoman. Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead nonsense. Tamsyn Muir's Gideon the Ninth unveils a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers. Her characters leap off the page, as skillfully animated as arcane revenants. The result is a heart-pounding epic science fantasy. Brought up by unfriendly, ossifying nuns, ancient retainers, and countless skeletons, Gideon is ready to abandon a life of servitude and an afterlife as a reanimated corpse. She packs up her sword, her shoes, and her dirty magazines, and prepares to launch her daring escape. But her childhood nemesis won't set her free without a service. Harrowhark Nonagesimus, Reverend Daughter of the Ninth House and bone witch extraordinaire, has been summoned into action. The Emperor has invited the heirs to each of his loyal Houses to a deadly trial of wits and skill. If Harrowhark succeeds she will be become an immortal, all-powerful servant of the Resurrection, but no necromancer can ascend without their cavalier. Without Gideon's sword, Harrow will fail, and the Ninth House will die. Of course, some things are better left dead.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.1)
0.5 1
1 7
1.5 1
2 26
2.5 6
3 63
3.5 25
4 233
4.5 36
5 207

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 170,229,189 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible