IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Voyage of the Dogs de Greg Van Eekhout
S'està carregant…

Voyage of the Dogs (edició 2018)

de Greg Van Eekhout

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
875269,856 (4.04)1
Dogs in space! Share this book with middle graders who enjoy stories about dogs, space adventures, or action adventure stories--or all three! Perfect for fans of Homeward Bound and Woof. Lopside is a Barkonaut, a specially trained dog who assists human astronauts on missions in space. He and the crew aboard the spaceship Laika are en route to set up an outpost on a distant planet. When the mission takes a disastrous turn, the Barkonauts on board suddenly find themselves completely alone on their severely damaged ship. Survival seems impossible. But these dogs are Barkonauts--and Barkonauts always complete their mission. SOS. Ship damaged. Human crew missing. We are the dogs. We are alone.… (més)
Membre:GiantPanda_de
Títol:Voyage of the Dogs
Autors:Greg Van Eekhout
Informació:HarperCollins, Kindle Edition, 212 pages
Col·leccions:Read, La teva biblioteca
Valoració:****
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

Voyage of the Dogs de Greg Van Eekhout

Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 1 menció

Es mostren totes 5
This was a lot of fun! The concept might sound ridiculous but it was actually pretty well done and made for a good and definitely refreshing story.

I am not a dog person but the dogs in here were so cute. Dogs as astronauts (barkonauts!) in a spaceship? Actually not a bad idea - if the dogs are as smart as in this book! There were lots of funny scenes and even some touching and heartwarming moments. Would definitely recommend! ( )
  j_tuffi | May 30, 2020 |
Good dogs. ( )
  Jon_Hansen | Sep 20, 2019 |
I need to get over bad or incomplete science in books for middle graders. I mean, this was a good, solid space adventure starring dogs for goodness' sake and all I'm worrying about is who tested all the flora and fauna on Stepping Stone to ensure they were safe to eat. Like, seriously, the stuff on Stepping Stone was maybe 10% of the book and I'm letting it ruin my enjoyment of the whole book. Suspension of disbelief, woman. Suspension. Of. Disbelief.

Sigh. My problem, not the book's.

But can we talk about the dead astronauts..? ( )
  BillieBook | Nov 20, 2018 |
Literary Merit: Very Good
Characterization: Great
Recommended:Yes
Grade Level: 3-8

Lopside is one of four Barkonauts on a voyage through deep space to Stepping Stone, a planet in another solar system. Barkonauts are specially trained dogs that aid astronauts in completing their mission. Lopsides wasn’t just to check the space craft Laika for rats but also to sniff out any trouble on the ship.

The voyage is so long that the dogs and human crew would enter a hibernation period to conserve resources and energy. When the Barkonauts come out of hibernation they realize something is very wrong. There are no humans there to greet them as they wake up. As the dogs exit their hibernation chambers and investigate the ship they find no signs of the humans and discover that the engines are dead and the ship is running completely on battery which won’t last much longer. To make matters worse, the ship has been damaged and their supply of food and water is very low.

These four dogs must work together as a pack to try to survive and complete their mission because Barkonauts always complete their mission. Do these dogs have what it takes to keep going and not give up? Will they make it Stepping Stone and complete their mission?

This is a great story told from the dog’s point of view. It is action packed, suspenseful, funny, sad and heartwarming all at the same time. The dogs, the main characters, are lovable and relatable. I think just about any middle grade student would love this book, especially reluctant readers. Overall a great read.

Note: While none of the main dog characters die, there may be a few parts that could be upsetting to sensitive readers. There is one part about a dog being dropped off left by the owner and another part about the dog that died in the Sputnik 2. ( )
  SWONroyal | Nov 13, 2018 |
I'll just say this up front, because I'm one of the people for whom this is important: No dogs die in this book. We do get the story of Laika*, told by one of the dogs to the others so that, at a critical point, they can make an informed choice, but Greg Van Eekhout kills none of his fictional dogs in the course of this story.

Lopside, Bug, Daisy, and their pack leader, Golden retriever Champion, are Barkonauts, dogs specially trained and equipped to be part of the crew of Laika, the first Earth ship to head out to start a colony on an alien world in a distant solar system. There are four human crew as well, and we only meet two of them before one, Roro, helps the dogs into hibernation for the FTL portion of their travels.

When the dogs wake up, the humans are gone, having taken the lifepod, and the ship is badly damaged.

They're on the outskirts of their destination star system, but with with the ship's drives not working, too far from their destination planet, Stepping Stone. The dogs struggle to make repairs. They manage to redirect the communication antenna, and send a call for help to Earth.

They are good dogs, and they are Barkonauts. Barkonauts complete their missions, and their mission is to get to Stepping Stone.

There are real personalities at work. There is both conflict and cooperation among the dogs. Lopside, a little terrier mix, the only non-purebred, is our viewpoint character. From time to time he reminds us that unlike the others, he wasn't bred to please everyone. (Champion's a Golden, Bug is a Corgi, Daisy a Great Dane puppy. All bred to work with people, not to consider people's opinions and then make their own decisions.)

Looming over their efforts is the name of the ship, Laika. They know Laika was the first dog in space, the very first Barkonaut, but for some reason, her story is missing from The Great Book of Dogs, the book Roro read to them, full of the stories of heroic dogs. Lopside really wants to know that story. He's sure it would help inspire them to even greater heroism and ingenuity.

But with or without the story of Laika, these dogs love their people and their jobs, and are determined to succeed They don't quit. They don't fail.

This is a very satisfying story.

Recommended.

I bought this book.

*Considering how long it's been, and how much younger than me are the people raising young children today, I think I have to say outright what Laika's story is. She was the first dog in space, yes. She went up in Sputnik 2, on November 3, 1957. There was never a plan to bring her back, but she died within hours, when a malfunction caused the Sputnik cabin to overheat. This was the result of the Soviet space program taking barely four weeks to design Sputnik 2, and that wasn't enough time to make a reliable temperature control system for Laika. Laika's story is one of humans behaving badly. Greg Van Eekhout, on the other hand, is a good human, who gets well-deserved cuddles from his dogs. ( )
  LisCarey | Sep 19, 2018 |
Es mostren totes 5
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Dogs in space! Share this book with middle graders who enjoy stories about dogs, space adventures, or action adventure stories--or all three! Perfect for fans of Homeward Bound and Woof. Lopside is a Barkonaut, a specially trained dog who assists human astronauts on missions in space. He and the crew aboard the spaceship Laika are en route to set up an outpost on a distant planet. When the mission takes a disastrous turn, the Barkonauts on board suddenly find themselves completely alone on their severely damaged ship. Survival seems impossible. But these dogs are Barkonauts--and Barkonauts always complete their mission. SOS. Ship damaged. Human crew missing. We are the dogs. We are alone.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.04)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 2
3.5
4 5
4.5 1
5 4

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 177,179,570 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible