IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Night Tiger: A Novel de Yangsze Choo
S'està carregant…

The Night Tiger: A Novel (edició 2019)

de Yangsze Choo (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1,2685515,284 (3.73)85
The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick INSTANTNEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER "A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." --Kirkus(starred review) An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother's Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for. Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master's dying wish: that Ren find the man's finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master's soul will wander the earth forever. As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes. Yangsze Choo's The Night Tigerpulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible. "A work of incredible beauty... Astoundingly captivating and striking... A transcendent story of courage and connection." --Booklist(starred review)… (més)
Membre:amyreddick79
Títol:The Night Tiger: A Novel
Autors:Yangsze Choo (Autor)
Informació:Flatiron Books (2019), Edition: First Edition, 384 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

The Night Tiger de Yangsze Choo

  1. 00
    When the Tiger Came Down the Mountain de Nghi Vo (bjappleg8)
    bjappleg8: Similar setting in Asia, fantasy elements.
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 85 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 54 (següent | mostra-les totes)
#ReadAroundTheWorld. #Malaysia

This is a historical mystery set in Ipoh and Batu Gajah in Malaya in 1931, by Chinese Malaysian author Yangsze Choo. It has elements of magical realism, Chinese mythology, mystery and romance. There are weretigers, ghosts and Chinese Numeral Superstitions and the five Confucian virtues.

The story involves Ren, an 11-year-old, who works as a houseboy servant for the aging Dr Macfarlane. Before he dies the doctor entrusts Ren with the task of finding his missing finger and returning it before 49 days are up, so his soul can rest in peace. Ren is taken into the household of another young doctor, William Acton, who is said to have performed the finger amputation years ago. The story shifts between Ren and Ji Lin, a girl who grows up in a poor and troubled household. Unable to fulfill her dreams of going to university, she works as an apprentice dressmaker, in addition, doing shifts as a dancehall girl to try to repay her mother’s mahjong debt. Ji Lin is left a mysterious severed finger in a glass vial by one of her dance partners. She and her stepbrother Shin combine forces to try and solve the mystery of the missing finger and the events and deaths that are set into play surrounding it. Then there is the man-eating tiger that appears…

This was an intriguing story with a vivid setting. I enjoyed the mystery and elements of Chinese culture and folklore. I didn’t enjoy the romance basically as I’m not a fan of stepsibling or any kind of sibling action. It also seemed a manipulative, forceful kind of relationship. but I will definitely read another of this author’s books. 4 stars for me. ( )
  mimbza | Apr 18, 2024 |
Step into the world of Yangsze Choo's "The Night Tiger," where quick-witted Ji Lin trades her needle for a dance floor, hoping for adventure but getting more than she bargained for. Meanwhile, eleven-year-old Ren is on a mission to find a missing finger before his master's ghost becomes the eternal globe-trotter. Throw in unexplained deaths, shape-shifting whispers, and a touch of forbidden love, and you've got a novel that's more magical than a rabbit pulled from a moonlit hat.


Pros:
( )
  pools_of_words | Jan 30, 2024 |
Good book

I like this book.okay. I felt it started very slow and I had to make my self finish. I like all the history about the countries and their culture. I actually thought it would have more about tigers but sadly it didnt. ( )
  Spiritrider1101 | Jan 18, 2024 |
This was good but I lost steam in the middle. I've loved other books from the same time period more. ( )
  hellokirsti | Jan 3, 2024 |
I adored The Ghost Bride, so I had high hopes for Night Tiger, too. Unfortunately, it just could not capture my interest. I gave it an hour and 20 minutes before I DNF'd the audio

Audiobook, borrowed from my public library via Overdrive. ( )
  Doodlebug34 | Jan 1, 2024 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 54 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
This book is for my father and mother, who were born and grew up in the Kinta Valley.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
The old man is dying.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick INSTANTNEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER "A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." --Kirkus(starred review) An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother's Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for. Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master's dying wish: that Ren find the man's finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master's soul will wander the earth forever. As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes. Yangsze Choo's The Night Tigerpulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible. "A work of incredible beauty... Astoundingly captivating and striking... A transcendent story of courage and connection." --Booklist(starred review)

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.73)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 20
2.5 1
3 66
3.5 31
4 98
4.5 11
5 50

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 205,736,809 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible