IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Death on the Menu: A Key West Food Critic…
S'està carregant…

Death on the Menu: A Key West Food Critic Mystery (edició 2020)

de Lucy Burdette (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
273681,615 (3.72)No n'hi ha cap
Perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke and Leslie Meier, national bestseller Lucy Burdette's eighth Key West Food Critic mystery sees the return of fan-favorite food critic Hayley Snow, who must once again get to the bottom of a bitter murder. When a killer strikes just before flan time, beloved food critic Hayley Snow is forced to sniff out the killer before someone else bites the dust. Hayley Snow, fiery food critic for Key Zestmagazine, has just landed a ticket to one of the most prestigious events in Key West- a high-brow three-day conference at the Harry Truman Little White House. Even though she'll be working the event helping her mother's fledgling catering business, there's plenty of spicy gossip to go around. But just before her mother's decadent flan is put to the test, Key West's most prized possession, Hemingway's Nobel prize gold medal for The Old Man and the Sea, is discovered stolen from its case. Unsavory suspicions point to Gabriel, a family friend and one of the new busboys working the event, who mysteriously goes missing moments later. Anxious to clear his name, Gabriel's family enlists Hayley to help find him, but right as they begin their search, his body is found stabbed to death in the storeroom. Hayley has no shortage of suspects to interrogate and very little time before the killer adds another victim to the menu in national bestselling author Lucy Burdette's delectable eighth Key West Food Critic mystery, Death on the Menu.… (més)
Membre:jwpell
Títol:Death on the Menu: A Key West Food Critic Mystery
Autors:Lucy Burdette (Autor)
Informació:Crooked Lane Books (2020), Edition: Reprint, 336 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Detalls de l'obra

Death on the Menu de Lucy Burdette

No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren totes 3
Hayley Snow is a food critic for Key Zest magazine and also assists her mom at a catering business. When a bid is won for a catering job for a high profile 3-day Cuban event, Hayley once more finds herself knee-deep in murder.

Just as the flan is being served during the event, Hemingway’s Nobel prize gold medal is discovered missing from its case and the new busboy Gabriel is found stabbed to death in a storeroom. Gabriel’s family wants answers, so Hayley puts on her sleuthing cap to figure out who amongst the long list of suspects wanted Gabriel dead. Why was he murdered and what does it have to do with the missing gold medal?

Lucy Burdette weaves a wonderful mystery which includes a female lead with a flair for solving murders, a supporting case of fun & quirky characters, a great mix of possible suspects, and lots of twists and turns until you finally discover whodunnit. ( )
  suzybee30 | Oct 8, 2018 |
Death on the Menu by Lucy Burdette is A Key West Food Critic Mystery. Hayley Snow is helping her mother cater a three-day event at the Harry Truman Little White House in Key West, Florida. Catering the Cuban/American conference is a coup for her fledgling business. Nathan Bransford, Hayley’s boyfriend, would prefer if Hayley bowed out since it is a controversial event and protestors will be present. On the first day of the event, Hemingway’s Nobel prize gold medal for Old Man and the Sea on loan from Cuba disappears. It is the first time the medal has ever left Cuba and the Cuban delegates are outraged. Despite searches of the house and staff, they are unable to locate it. That night as the flan is being served, Gabriel is found stabbed to death in the kitchen closet. Gabriel’s family asks Hayley to investigate his death and get justice for the family by finding his killer. Despite Nathan’s objections, Hayley plunges into the case. Miss Gloria and Hayley are worried about the houseboat for sale next to them. The last tenants were party hearty types that continually disturbed the residents of Houseboat Row. Plus, Hayley has articles to write for Key Zest magazine and little time to sample the local Cuban cuisine for her critique. Hayley is in for a busy weekend in Death on the Menu.



Death on the Menu contains good writing and engaging characters. Lucy Burdette does a wonderful job at world building. She includes various shops and sites in Key West. Her descriptions bring the area alive. I do not recommend reading Death on the Menu without having read An Appetite for Murder which will give you an introduction to Hayley, her friends, her job, and the area. I liked the inclusion of Key West history and information about Ernest Hemingway (adds to the world building). There are some lovely cozy moments in the story along with tasty food descriptions. I am a fan of Miss Gloria and I envy the pair living on a houseboat (except when a hurricane is approaching). I like Miss Gloria’s love of sequins (it is cute) and Hayley’s love of high top tennis shoes (I adore my Converse and have them in different colors/prints). While I am not a fan of Nathan, he does do something at the end that puts him a better light. I did feel that Death on the Menu is a slow starter and the pace throughout the book was slow. The mystery was interesting, but I wish it had been more of a challenge to identify the guilty party. I felt that some details were missing from the story (what is the mother’s name and the name of her catering business for example). There are recipes included at the end. They include Cuban roast pork, black bean soup, mojito cake and flan. I thought the ending was sweet, romantic and upbeat. Join Hayley Snow on her latest sleuthing adventure in Death on the Menu. ( )
  Kris_Anderson | Aug 26, 2018 |
I enjoyed the rich history of Key West in this book. The author describes it so well, I felt like I was there seeing the clear blue water and hanging out at Houseboat Row. That is such a fun name and it made me laugh. Hayley is a great character and I loved that she was so involved in the community. When she is asked to help her mother cater for the prestigious conference located at the Harry Truman Little White House, I knew trouble was around the corner.
The book is filled with information about Cuba and its culture. It made me realize how people have been mistreated and that like everyone in the world want a better life for their family. The story does take on some serious issues that really enhance the book. I am impressed with how elegantly the author uses characters to highlight a culture that is rich in history.
As the conference is to begin a big ruckus breaks out. The coveted Hemingway's Noble prize gold medal has disappeared. There is a long list of suspects but one name can be marked off. Gabriel is found dead which leads his family to prove his innocence in the missing gold medal and to find out who is behind his death. Haley is going to have her hands full trying to help serve food at the event while trying to investigate a murder and missing medal. I really like the author's style of writing with details that bring readers right to the action. There is a wonderful cast of characters that will keep the story intriguing.
Haley starts to get close to who the killer is when someone else is injured. The background story of Gabriel was impressive. I loved reading about his parents and how his mother risked everything for her family so they could have a better life. The way that the murder is solved was so brilliant and I loved how the author used her knowledge of Key West and Cuba to make a story that kept me on the edge of my seat. I now have a craving for Cuban food. The author has included recipes at the end which I intend to try. I was surprised at who ended up being the killer and why they did it. This is a must read for all mystery lovers.
I received a copy of this book from The Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours. The review is my own opinion. ( )
  Harley0326 | Aug 13, 2018 |
Es mostren totes 3
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

Perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke and Leslie Meier, national bestseller Lucy Burdette's eighth Key West Food Critic mystery sees the return of fan-favorite food critic Hayley Snow, who must once again get to the bottom of a bitter murder. When a killer strikes just before flan time, beloved food critic Hayley Snow is forced to sniff out the killer before someone else bites the dust. Hayley Snow, fiery food critic for Key Zestmagazine, has just landed a ticket to one of the most prestigious events in Key West- a high-brow three-day conference at the Harry Truman Little White House. Even though she'll be working the event helping her mother's fledgling catering business, there's plenty of spicy gossip to go around. But just before her mother's decadent flan is put to the test, Key West's most prized possession, Hemingway's Nobel prize gold medal for The Old Man and the Sea, is discovered stolen from its case. Unsavory suspicions point to Gabriel, a family friend and one of the new busboys working the event, who mysteriously goes missing moments later. Anxious to clear his name, Gabriel's family enlists Hayley to help find him, but right as they begin their search, his body is found stabbed to death in the storeroom. Hayley has no shortage of suspects to interrogate and very little time before the killer adds another victim to the menu in national bestselling author Lucy Burdette's delectable eighth Key West Food Critic mystery, Death on the Menu.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.72)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 3
4.5
5 2

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 157,185,041 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible