IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

A Good Kind of Trouble de Lisa Moore…
S'està carregant…

A Good Kind of Trouble (edició 2020)

de Lisa Moore Ramée (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
2581481,309 (4.14)3
From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds. Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what? Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.… (més)
Membre:kharrison19
Títol:A Good Kind of Trouble
Autors:Lisa Moore Ramée (Autor)
Informació:Balzer Bray (2020), 384 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:African-American, realistic-fiction, middle, Black-lives-matter, social-activism, social-justice

Detalls de l'obra

A Good Kind of Trouble de Lisa Moore Ramée

No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 3 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 14 (següent | mostra-les totes)
If there were 10 stars I would give this book all of them. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ ( )
  stacyastokes | Sep 7, 2021 |
diverse children's middlegrade fiction (Black girl deals with 7th grade, and social injustice in California)
summary: 12 y.o. Black girl deals with middle school, including arguments with her Asian- and Latinx-American BFFs, boys who don't know how to act around girls (and vice versa), other black students who think she's Oreo/stuck up for not hanging out with their crowd, and social injustice/Black Lives Matter in her community and prejudice in her own school.

This character-driven novel is a bit slow on plot but I don't mind because Shayla feels so genuine. Middle school is not really a time that any of us prefer to revisit, but there is something about seeing it through Shayla's eyes and experiences that make it much more palatable, even if is still often unpleasant (ugh, middle school). The story is more centered on her figuring out how to speak up for herself around her friends and classmates at school, but (unfortunately, these days) there is a point when one just cannot avoid social justice issues, and so some of this story is Shayla learning about the Black Lives Matter movement, learning about the prejudices that affect her and her classmates at her own school, and learning the hard truth that even when there is video evidence that a police officer shot an unarmed person in the back, that officer will likely still be found "not guilty" under current law. This story is "distinguished" in the way that Newbery contenders ought to be, and it's really well done. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
This book is incredibly written. It opens up about a girl who is in middle school trying to figure out how to deal with school. On the side, the story outlines the importance of police brutality and talks about Black Lives Matter Protests going on. During these protests, her sister stands for justice and Black Lives Matter. When Shayla choices to wear a Black Lives Matter band to school, she finds herself in a tough situation. She gets in trouble by the principle and it becomes more apparent her friends she has, may not feel the same way she does about the issue. She also finds herself questioning her blackness.
This book has a lot going on. It talks about the seriousness of black lives matter projects and the unjust treatment black people face in America. It also talks about police brutality. I think this book would be great for older children. It talks about very serious issues, and I think it is a great way to introduce unjust treatment black people in America face.
  kharrison19 | Apr 9, 2021 |
This story was absolutely heartbreaking but also so enlightening and wonderful at the same time. It follows the story of a young African American girl in junior high who always tries to do the right thing. She is struggling with friendships and fitting in. Her sister is involved with Black Lives Matter and thinks that movement is not her scene but soon becomes apart of it and learns how to deal with the social impacts. I would totally recommend and use this in my classroom, it's a great way to introduce the importance of BLM while also the issues of racism and learning how to stand up for yourself. the book is a good read for middle schoolers of all genders because of the important themes it contains and the great discussions the class could have. ( )
  AliyaChin | Apr 9, 2021 |
7th grade Shayla has her two best friends as she starts junior high. Collectively known as the United Nations (Shayla is Black, Isabella is Latinx, and Julia is Asian American), Shayla feels they can face anything together.

But then trouble starts—and Shayla does not like trouble. Her older sister is part of protests against a police officer who is standing trial for killing an unarmed Black man who was running away. Her whole family wonders why she doesn't have Black friends. Julia starts ditching them for a new group. Shayla has Bernard the bully for a lab partner. The boy she likes has a crush on Isabella. She becomes resentful and wonders if she really knows anything about anyone, including herself.

It's got the true ring of 7th grade dialogue and "drama," but there is an underlying tone of seriousness. When the police officer is acquitted, she's outraged, but discovers that not everyone at school views the outcome the same way. When she decides to wear a black armband like her sister to demonstrate that Black Lives Matter, her principal doesn't hide her disgust and goes after Shayla with a vengeance.

I found this to be the perfect novel to begin or continue a discussion about race and equality and justice with 4th graders on up. This is Lisa Moore Ramée's first book, and I can't wait for more of her work to add to our school library. ( )
  DonnaMarieMerritt | Mar 13, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 14 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds. Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what? Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.14)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 5
3.5 2
4 15
4.5
5 13

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 163,405,243 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible