IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Grace Year de Kim Liggett
S'està carregant…

Grace Year (2019 original; edició 2020)

de Kim Liggett (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
6927226,675 (3.93)4
'An incredibly important and empowering read' Natasha Ngan, author of Girls of Paper and FireA New York Times bestselling dark speculative feminist thriller, perfect for fans of The Power and The Handmaid's Tale._____________________________________________THE RESISTANCE STARTS HERE.No one speaks of the grace year.It's forbidden.We're told we have the power to lure grown men from their beds, make boys lose their minds, and drive the wives mad with jealousy. That's why we're banished for our sixteenth year, to release our magic into the wild before we're allowed to return to civilisation.But I don't feel powerful.I don't feel magical.Tierney James lives in an isolated village where girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness - and each other - for a year. They must rid themselves of their dangerous magic before returning purified and ready to marry - if they're lucky.It is forbidden to speak of the grace year, but even so every girl knows that the coming year will change them - if they survive it...A critically acclaimed page-turning feminist dystopia about a young woman trapped in an oppressive society, fighting to take control of her own life.… (més)
Membre:cassiewason
Títol:Grace Year
Autors:Kim Liggett (Autor)
Informació:Wednesday Books (2020), Edition: Reprint, 416 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

The Grace Year: A Novel de Kim Liggett (2019)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 4 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 72 (següent | mostra-les totes)

The Grace Year, by Kim Liggett, describes a dark future where girls are sent away from the county for their sixteenth year. Some come back with scars, while others don’t come back at all, and no one can ever mention anything about this Grace Year.

The beginning has a real Hunger Games feeling, where a special day in the dystopian future society is used to establish the world. Instead of reaping day in District 12, this is veiling day in the county, the day some of the teenage girls are chosen as wives, before leaving for their unspeakable Grace Year in the wilderness.

There’s a Handmaid’s Tale feel in The Grace Year, too, since life in the county is all about keeping women pure and keeping men away from their dangerous, sneaky powers, all with heavy Christian influence. Women only need a man’s accusation to be found guilty of basically anything, and punishments are brutal and public. Later, it gets even more like the stories of witch trials. The teenage girls are ostensibly sent away to purge themselves of the dangerous magic that erupts in young womanhood, so a lot of the Grace Year is spent screaming and blaming each other about what is real and what is magic. The girls worry that their magic won’t come in on time or be fully purged on time, especially since any later accusation of still having magic will mean death.

full review is on my book blog ( )
  TheFictionAddiction | May 8, 2022 |
This is set in a dystopia-like world where women are pitted against each other. On every woman's sixteenth birthday, she is sent away in order to release her seductive magic into the wild so she's doesn't harm those around her, but not everyone comes back alive. ( )
  managedbybooks | May 3, 2022 |
I just loved and hated this book, and it was amazing!

[PT]
Bom, quando eu achava que a era das distopias já tinha acabado, em 2019 saiu o livro O ano de Graça, ou Grace Year em original. E devo dizer que isto foi uma das leituras mais psicadélicas e fascinantes que eu li.

Voltamos à Era Negra modernizada, onde a religião predomina todas as decisões e a mulher é vista apenas como um "acessório" nesta sociedade patriarcal. Além disso, a mulher ao nascer já é impura pois porque tem a capacidade de seduzir o homem e isso é inadmissível. De forma as mulheres serem purificadas, elas passam um ano naquilo que se chama "Ano de Graça" quando atingem os 16 anos, no entanto, nenhuma mulher mais velha fala sobre esse ano e sabe-se que este afeta muito o estado físico e psicológico das mesmas. Sendo também que existem mulheres que nunca voltam. Acompanhamos então uma rapariga de 16 anos Tierney James que vai para o seu Ano de Graça para ser purificada.

Devo admitir que este livro dispertou-me horror, sentimento de incapacidade e injustiça como poucos o conseguiram. Eu não consegui parar de ler até chegar ao final do livro, porque isto prendeu-me demasiado. A refleção das relações entre homens e mulheres são muito semelhantes daquilo que encontramos por vezes nos nossos dias, e também a própria relação entre mulheres pode ser aproximada às muitas relações atuais.

É um livro horrível, mas muito bem escrito! ( )
  Hanna_Rybchynska | Apr 29, 2022 |
Really good YA misogynist dystopia tale, served with a heaping helping of Lord of the Flies.

Problems:

1. Waaaaay too much internal monologuing for my taste. It was off-putting and pulled me out of the story because I'd notice it going on.

2. Maybe I missed it, but there was frequent talk of how there were few boys born anymore, at one point it was mentioned the female:male ratio was 4:1, but there is never any explanation for this. No explanation is fine, but you'd think the YA characters would have some curiosity about it or mention their parents telling them a reason when they were younger.

I guess those were the main bothers. I listened to the audio and while the narration was good, the voice for the ringleader, Kiersten, was over the top Valley Girl. At first it annoyed me, but then I got used to it and grew to like it, because the character was also annoying. ( )
  Luminous-Path | Mar 26, 2022 |
Wow. What a read. jarring, disturbing, but I couldn't put it down.
ARC provided by Net Galley. ( )
  katielibrarian | Feb 8, 2022 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 72 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (2 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Kim Liggettautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Cheng, Hsiao RonAutor de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Resnick, KerriDissenyador de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en francès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

'An incredibly important and empowering read' Natasha Ngan, author of Girls of Paper and FireA New York Times bestselling dark speculative feminist thriller, perfect for fans of The Power and The Handmaid's Tale._____________________________________________THE RESISTANCE STARTS HERE.No one speaks of the grace year.It's forbidden.We're told we have the power to lure grown men from their beds, make boys lose their minds, and drive the wives mad with jealousy. That's why we're banished for our sixteenth year, to release our magic into the wild before we're allowed to return to civilisation.But I don't feel powerful.I don't feel magical.Tierney James lives in an isolated village where girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness - and each other - for a year. They must rid themselves of their dangerous magic before returning purified and ready to marry - if they're lucky.It is forbidden to speak of the grace year, but even so every girl knows that the coming year will change them - if they survive it...A critically acclaimed page-turning feminist dystopia about a young woman trapped in an oppressive society, fighting to take control of her own life.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.93)
0.5 1
1 2
1.5
2 5
2.5 2
3 37
3.5 7
4 51
4.5 8
5 47

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 170,160,700 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible