IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

New Kid de Jerry Craft
S'està carregant…

New Kid (2019 original; edició 2019)

de Jerry Craft (Autor)

Sèrie: New Kid (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
8718018,836 (4.3)50
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?… (més)
Membre:b.irons
Títol:New Kid
Autors:Jerry Craft (Autor)
Informació:Quill Tree Books (2019), 256 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Detalls de l'obra

New Kid de Jerry Craft (2019)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 50 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 80 (següent | mostra-les totes)
This was a great book about the lower class, diversity, and stereotyping. It is about a kid named Jordan who is going to a more prestigious school because his parents think it will be better for him. But this school is not used to diversity, even a few of the teachers do not know how to act around them. It talks about his experience with being bully for his background. ( )
  kimmiestack | Jul 11, 2021 |
Jordan Banks is a seventh grader, living in the 'hood of Washington Heights, a very diverse neighborhood. His pushy mother and pushover father send him to Riverdale Academy Day School (RAD), where he struggles to fit in, find himself and a posse, eventually becoming fast friends with a lonely white kid (whose father travels) and a black athlete. He faces some racism, some blatant and some not. I especially enjoyed his daily metamorphosis on the bus where he goes from cool to nerd going to school and the reverse coming home. He also struggles to fit back in his 'hood as he becomes 'private school.' Good graphic art and an authentic feel about being accepted or ostracized racially, economically, socially. 3.5 stars. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
Really good. A must-read for librarians and teachers, but everyone else should read it too! ( )
  CaitlinMcC | Jul 11, 2021 |
diverse middlegrade graphic novel (Jordan is a light-skinned black kid starting 7th grade at a mostly-white private school on scholarship)

This story took me a little while to settle into (partly because I was just tired in general) but by the end of the story I'd really taken to Jordan and his funny new friends--J. grows quite a bit in his first year, learning to stand up for himself and others (while somehow not getting into trouble for the double-standards that teachers/administrators demonstrate for white students/black students) amidst various forms of microaggressions and bullying, and also trying to make things better for other classmates that he sees struggling to make friends.

Surprisingly sweet for a story about middle school. More, please! ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
This story is about a young boy named Jordan, who moved into a new school. He began to attend a private school that specialized in art. However, Jordan was one of the only students of color in the entire school. He lived in an urban area that lacked diversity. This book allows for readers to see how Jordan worked to fit in, in a society that had not been exposed to diverse cultures.
  Jessica0614 | Jun 2, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 80 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Don’t let the title fool you. Seventh-grader Jordan Banks may be the new kid at his upper-crust private school, but this remarkably honest and accessible story is not just about being new; it’s unabashedly about race. Example after uncomfortable example hits the mark: casual assumptions about black students’ families and financial status, black students being mistaken for one another, well-intentioned teachers awkwardly stumbling over language, competition over skin tones among the black students themselves. Yet it’s clear that everyone has a burden to bear, from the weird girl to the blond boy who lives in a mansion, and, indeed, Jordan only learns to navigate his new world by not falling back on his own assumptions. Craft’s easy-going art and ingenious use of visual metaphor loosen things up considerably, and excerpts from Jordan’s sketch book provide several funny, poignant, and insightful asides. It helps keep things light and approachable even as Jordan’s parents tussle over the question of what’s best for their son—to follow the world’s harsh rules so he can fit in or try to pave his own difficult road. A few climactic moments of resolution feel a touch too pat, but Craft’s voice rings urgent and empathetic. Speaking up about the unrepresented experience of so many students makes this a necessary book, particularly for this age group. Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.
 

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
To the Jordan Banks in all of us
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
This is how I feel every single day of my life, like I'm falling without a parachute.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.3)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5
3 19
3.5 9
4 68
4.5 11
5 89

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 162,290,662 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible