IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

Right as Rain

de Lindsey Stoddard

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
455453,792 (3.88)No n'hi ha cap
A Kirkus Best Book of 2019!  From the critically acclaimed author of Just Like Jackie comes a strikingly tender novel about one family's heartbreak and the compassion that carries them through, perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker, Lisa Graff, and Ann M. Martin. It's been almost a year since Rain's brother Guthrie died, and her parents still don't know it was all Rain's fault. In fact, no one does--Rain buried her secret deep, no matter how heavy it weighs on her heart. So when her mom suggests moving the family from Vermont to New York City, Rain agrees. But life in the big city is different. She's never seen so many people in one place--or felt more like an outsider. With her parents fighting more than ever and the anniversary of Guthrie's death approaching, Rain is determined to keep her big secret close to her heart. But even she knows that when you bury things deep, they grow up twice as tall. Readers will fall in love with the pluck and warmth of Stoddard's latest heroine and the strength that even a small heart can lend.… (més)
No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren totes 5
Passable story about a young girl (and her parents), moving to Washington Heights from Vermont, trying to deal with the grief of her older brother's death, which is painfully slowly revealed in chapters entitled "That Night." What I liked about the book was Stoddard's vivid descriptions about the vibrant, diverse, multicultural neighborhood in New York City, so different from her previous life. Of course, there is the usual trope of being the new kid, trying to fit into a new place and school, while her parents' relationship is coming apart, especially her father. 2.5 stars, rounded up. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
children's middlegrade fiction
6th grade white girl moves from small town Vermont to NYC where she feels out of place amongst her Spanish-speaking neighbors. She really just needs someone to talk to about her parents possibly getting divorced/separated and about the role she thinks she played in the events leading to her older brother's death by random car accident.
I skipped 50 pages of this because although the characters were perfectly sweet and felt genuine enough, the author kept inserting stupid, pointless short 'teaser' chapters that were supposed to make the reader think Rain did something terrible on 'that night.' If you're going to make the reader toggle between the present and the past, you need to have each part of the story unfold along the way, don't just keep withholding all the story to 'keep it interesting' and then not even have a very interesting story to reveal at the end. It would have been fine to just keep the story in the present and have Rain be reluctant to talk about it. So much energy was put into keeping that secret that it took away from the feelings of grief and loss, which were actually well-written parts (the different ways each character showed and shared their sadness). So there was quite a bit that was good, but definitely wouldn't be my pick for the Newbery, or even a starred review. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
A touching story for younger readers about grief, friendship and moving forward. ( )
  HeatherLINC | May 23, 2021 |
Super solid middle grade novel. Rain is going through all kinds of changes. Her mother is moving them from VT to NY City & her dad barely comes out of his room. It’s been nearly a year since the death of her older brother & there’s something about that night that she’s never told anyone. Rains story is also one of finding friendship & empathy and also the story of someone who’s coming into a new neighborhood as an outsider who is also a gentrifyer - I haven’t seen this addressed from this point of view in middle grade kids lit before - powerful!

( )
  Rachael_SJSU | Jul 11, 2020 |
In the months after the untimely death of Rain Andrews’ older brother Guthrie, the family moves to New York City’s Washington Heights neighborhood where her mother Maggie has taken a new job at a hospital as a brain researcher. Maggie sees the move as a fresh start but no one else seems ready for it: dad Henry holes up all day in the bedroom wearing the same clothes and Rain agonizes with the guilt of contributing to Guthrie’s death. Although they move in June, Rain starts at a new school ten days before the end of the year. In that time, being the only white girl in her class, Rain struggles to find her place and voice. What didn't work for me: In just a couple of weeks Rain has good friends, is on the track team, helps plan saving Dacie’s House, and resolves her grief. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Mar 24, 2020 |
Es mostren totes 5
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

A Kirkus Best Book of 2019!  From the critically acclaimed author of Just Like Jackie comes a strikingly tender novel about one family's heartbreak and the compassion that carries them through, perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker, Lisa Graff, and Ann M. Martin. It's been almost a year since Rain's brother Guthrie died, and her parents still don't know it was all Rain's fault. In fact, no one does--Rain buried her secret deep, no matter how heavy it weighs on her heart. So when her mom suggests moving the family from Vermont to New York City, Rain agrees. But life in the big city is different. She's never seen so many people in one place--or felt more like an outsider. With her parents fighting more than ever and the anniversary of Guthrie's death approaching, Rain is determined to keep her big secret close to her heart. But even she knows that when you bury things deep, they grow up twice as tall. Readers will fall in love with the pluck and warmth of Stoddard's latest heroine and the strength that even a small heart can lend.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.88)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5
4 5
4.5 1
5 2

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 162,484,758 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible