IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

The Book Charmer

de Karen Hawkins

Sèrie: Dove Pond (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
3743753,890 (4)13
"The New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular MacLean Curse series crafts a charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever. The residents of Dove Pond, North Carolina, know three things: they have the finest bar-b-que this side of Atlanta, their Apple Festival is the best that ever was, and the town has phenomenal good luck whenever the Dove family has seven daughters. Fortunately, that time is now, because Dove Pond desperately needs a miracle. The seventh daughter, Sarah Dove, believes in all things magical. Books have whispered their secrets to her since she was a child. Now the town librarian, she makes sure every book finds the reader who most needs it. But recently the books have been whispering something different--that change is about to come to Dove Pond. Sarah is soon convinced that the legendary Dove Pond good luck has arrived in the form of new resident, Grace Wheeler. After the tragic death of her sister, Grace has moved to Dove Pond with her grieving young niece and ailing foster mother hoping to retrench financially and emotionally before returning to her fast-paced city life. But she soon learns that life in a not-so-sleepy town isn't as quiet as she'd hoped. Despite her best efforts to focus on her family, she can't avoid the townspeople, especially her next-door neighbors, the quirky and talkative Sarah Dove and cynical veteran Chris Parker. Grace's situation grows more complicated when she assumes her duties as town clerk and discovers that Dove Pond is on the verge of financial ruin. Already overburdened by her own cares, Grace tries to stay aloof from the town's issues, but she's never been good at resisting a challenge. With Sarah's encouragement, and inspired by the wise words of a special book, Grace decides to save her new town. And in her quest, she discovers the rich comfort of being a part of a loving community, the tantalizing promise of new love, the deep strength that comes from having a true friend, and the heartfelt power of finding just the right book. With Karen Hawkins's "fast, fun, and sexy" (Christina Dodd) prose, The Book Charmer is a feel-good story with plenty of heart that will appeal to fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Alice Hoffman, Heather Graham, and Jude Deveraux"-- "A charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever"--… (més)
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 13 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 37 (següent | mostra-les totes)
This book started out about the "Book Charmer," but she certainly wasn't the main focus. It's enjoyable, but it's glaringly obvious that the author plans for several books in this series- usually that doesn't bother me, but in this case it felt like I kept receiving subtle hints that I'd get to see more of Sarah/Ava/etc. in future books. I'm not sure if I'll continue reading this series, but I do adore the cover! ( )
  bookwyrmqueen | Oct 25, 2021 |
In Dove Pond it's always been accepted that when the Dove family has seven daughters, amazing things happen. Sarah Dove is aware of the town's expectations and has known from a young age that she'll have a role to play in saving the town - after all a book told her so. When Grace Wheeler arrives in town with her foster mother and her niece in tow, Sarah is surprised that the books firmly believe Grace will help Sarah save the town. While Sarah desperately wants to befriend Grace, Grace has no desire to call Dove Pond home for longer than she has to. Can the small town convince her otherwise?

A magical realism novel set in a small town with a main character who's a librarian who can hear books talk to her? This book was basically catnip for me and was everything I'd hoped it would be. Filled with several lines that made me laugh out loud, there's plenty of charm from our main characters as well as the community members who make appearances throughout. But it's not all bookish magic and charm as Grace is dealing with being a caretaker for both her foster mother who is showing signs of dementia as well as her niece who is angry after the death of her mother, Grace's sister, Hannah. Watching Grace's family become a part of the community is part of the delight. Recommended and I'm looking forward to reading Hawkins next Dove Pond novel. ( )
  MickyFine | Oct 15, 2021 |
This was an absolutely delightful book, one that will appeal to fans of Sarah Addison Allen and lovers of Magical Realism.

This is a lovely story, one that I thought would be about Sarah, the "book charmer" in question, but Sarah is more the glue that holds the town together as her library books tell her what book each person needs. This story actually centers around Gracie, the woman who has come to rescue the sweet but failing town of Dove Falls (and Gracie doesn't want her book, which isn't a surprise.)

This is a story about love, redemption, and family. It touches on topics of PTSD and dementia and captures the small town dynamic well, The writing is engaging and the characters are relatable and interesting. I was caught up in the emotions of the novel, and sad to see it end as I fell in love with many of the characters. It's clear that this is the first of a series, and I love the idea of seeing more from these lovely characters.

This was an easy, light read and will make for a wonderful summer read. ( )
  jenncaffeinated | Jul 4, 2021 |
This is a charming book about a small town and its residents. Grace, a former foster child, and Sarah, the town librarian, are the main characters. Books speak to Sarah, and they tell her that Grace can help save the town which is in financial difficulty.
A story of love, loss, family, including themes of dementia, PTSD, small town living, and a little magic.
I enjoyed how the town was described, and how the residents all knew each other and their history. I thought it was accurate in describing how people think things should be, just because it has always been done that way. Then, someone new comes along and wants to change everything. Naturally, that doesn't sit well, but perhaps, a fresh perspective is what is needed.
Enjoyable! I look forward to reading the next book in the Dove Pond series, and learning about more characters and their lives. ( )
  rmarcin | May 17, 2021 |
Oh my word, this book was so good. It was everything a book book is. Funny, sad, endearing, moving, lovable characters. I rushed through it, as I could not put it down and did not want it to end. I hope we get more stories about this lovely town and it's residents.
  SharleneMartinMoore | Apr 24, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 37 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

"The New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular MacLean Curse series crafts a charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever. The residents of Dove Pond, North Carolina, know three things: they have the finest bar-b-que this side of Atlanta, their Apple Festival is the best that ever was, and the town has phenomenal good luck whenever the Dove family has seven daughters. Fortunately, that time is now, because Dove Pond desperately needs a miracle. The seventh daughter, Sarah Dove, believes in all things magical. Books have whispered their secrets to her since she was a child. Now the town librarian, she makes sure every book finds the reader who most needs it. But recently the books have been whispering something different--that change is about to come to Dove Pond. Sarah is soon convinced that the legendary Dove Pond good luck has arrived in the form of new resident, Grace Wheeler. After the tragic death of her sister, Grace has moved to Dove Pond with her grieving young niece and ailing foster mother hoping to retrench financially and emotionally before returning to her fast-paced city life. But she soon learns that life in a not-so-sleepy town isn't as quiet as she'd hoped. Despite her best efforts to focus on her family, she can't avoid the townspeople, especially her next-door neighbors, the quirky and talkative Sarah Dove and cynical veteran Chris Parker. Grace's situation grows more complicated when she assumes her duties as town clerk and discovers that Dove Pond is on the verge of financial ruin. Already overburdened by her own cares, Grace tries to stay aloof from the town's issues, but she's never been good at resisting a challenge. With Sarah's encouragement, and inspired by the wise words of a special book, Grace decides to save her new town. And in her quest, she discovers the rich comfort of being a part of a loving community, the tantalizing promise of new love, the deep strength that comes from having a true friend, and the heartfelt power of finding just the right book. With Karen Hawkins's "fast, fun, and sexy" (Christina Dodd) prose, The Book Charmer is a feel-good story with plenty of heart that will appeal to fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Alice Hoffman, Heather Graham, and Jude Deveraux"-- "A charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever"--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 2
3 17
3.5 8
4 44
4.5 3
5 28

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 164,582,441 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible