IniciGrupsConversesTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Gallant de V. E. Schwab
S'està carregant…

Gallant (2022 original; edició 2022)

de V. E. Schwab (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1,2553813,615 (3.88)20
Number one New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab spins a dark, original tale about our world -- full of life -- a world that mirrors it -- haunted by death -- and the manor that stands between them. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman. Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother's journal -- which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home -- to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home, it doesn't matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways. Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant--but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unravelled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from. Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him? New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, standalone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.… (més)
Membre:JaymeK
Títol:Gallant
Autors:V. E. Schwab (Autor)
Informació:Greenwillow Books (2022), 352 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:***
Etiquetes:Fantasy, Young Adult

Informació de l'obra

Gallant de V. E. Schwab (2022)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 20 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 38 (següent | mostra-les totes)
I enjoyed the first third of this book so immensely. I love the tone of the writing and the atmosphere was enthralling, but that is where my compliments end. The relationships between the characters were really shallow and not particularly interesting and the plot was missing a big something in terms of tension. I kept thinking there had to be so much more left than there was because not much happens. The plot was really missing something that would have allowed it to be a phenomenal story. It was, stylistically like a Neil Gaiman story with no punch in regards to plot. I haven't been so let down by a story in a very long time. ( )
  HCSimmons | Mar 11, 2023 |
A spooky YA read - tons of atmosphere and appropriately creepy setting. I read a review that said the reader couldn't put this book down after the halfway mark. I'd agree with that. First part is kind of slow, but by the end it sucks you in. This would be a great Halloween selection. ( )
  Jenn4567 | Mar 3, 2023 |
Another heart-breakingly sad and beautiful story by VE Schwab. Olivia is an orphan; her mother's diary, filled with drawings, is her only link to her parents. When she finds out that she has an uncle, she is sent to live at the mysterious Gallant.

Had shades of Jane Eyre mixed with Wuthering Heights plus magic.

Once again, there are images integral to the plot. Fortunately, they were included in the eARC i read. And those illustrations are beautiful. ( )
  tornadox | Feb 14, 2023 |
3.5 out of 5 stars

This was an interesting, young adult book. I like Olivia's character and I liked learning her back story and who her parents were. I feel like the story could have been trimmed if Olivia's cousin had just told her the truth when she arrived at the manor. Overall, it was a good read. ( )
  Shauna_Morrison | Dec 20, 2022 |
Creepy and atmospheric and delicious, it's an Old Manor fantasy but written by someone who had a serious Goth phase. If you read Goudge's Moonacre or Burnett's Secret Garden and thought "you know what this shit needs is more blood and death" this is ABSOLUTELY the book for you. Read it. It's great. ( )
  beserene | Dec 3, 2022 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 38 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (10 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
V. E. Schwabautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Rhind-Tutt, JulianNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en neerlandès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
To those who go looking for doors,

are brave enough to open the ones they find,

and sometimes bold enough to make their own.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
The master of the house stands at the garden wall.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Number one New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab spins a dark, original tale about our world -- full of life -- a world that mirrors it -- haunted by death -- and the manor that stands between them. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman. Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother's journal -- which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home -- to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home, it doesn't matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways. Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant--but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unravelled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from. Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him? New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, standalone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.88)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 3
2.5 5
3 27
3.5 16
4 71
4.5 12
5 28

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 185,229,419 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible