IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Jane Austen Society de Natalie Jenner
S'està carregant…

Jane Austen Society

de Natalie Jenner (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
7446625,361 (3.79)59
""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--… (més)
Membre:daliagagne
Títol:Jane Austen Society
Autors:Natalie Jenner (Autor)
Informació:Griffin (2021), 336 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:***
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

The Jane Austen Society de Natalie Jenner

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 59 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 65 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Surprisingly good read. I wasn't in love with a lot of the plot developments at first but then I started reading it as if it was an actual Jane Austen novel and then things made more sense. ( )
  awesomejen2 | Jun 21, 2022 |
***I received this book as an ARC on Netgalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review***

I have heard a lot about this book in my reading groups and was anxious to get my hands on it and I was not disappointed.

The story is based in Chawton, England, and delves into the lives of several members of that community who are Jane Austen aficionados. A small group begins the Jane Austen Society in the hopes of putting together a small museum which tourists can visit and learn a little about Austen and her life. Throughout the story, there is plenty of background given on the characters that ultimately ties into Austen characters and the way people feel about them. There is genuine happiness at the way the story ends that it makes you want to know how their lives continue. ( )
  Micareads | Jun 21, 2022 |
"Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable."

The blurb sucked me in but I was disappointed by the execution. This was an okay read. I didn't love the narration style and I had a really hard time connecting to any of the characters. ( )
  managedbybooks | May 3, 2022 |
If you’re a fan of Jane Austen’s books, you’ll love this. It wasn’t my cup of tea. ( )
  tsmom1219 | Feb 24, 2022 |
3 1/2 Stars. This book was enjoyable to listen to on Audible, even if it was a bit predictable. The setting of the book is post-WWII England in a tiny village called Chawton. Chawton's claim to fame is that is was the place where Jane Austen spent the last part of her life. Chawton Manor is now the home to a few surviving relatives Miss Austen, and the heir is a parsimonious and bitter man who is on his deathbed when the book opens. Everyone in Chawton knows everyone else, and most everyone is a Jane Austen fan. Even in this small village, there are long-buried secrets that have not made it out into the light of day yet. The group of Austen fans in Chawton start a charitable society in order to find a home for a Jane Austen interpretive museum. Money is tight for the beginning of the society, but soon an American actress who is a staunch Jane Austen fan comes to join the group. There are many setbacks and stumbles along the way as this group tries to achieve their goal. There are even some stories of love lost and found, and even old love found again. This is a an enjoyable book to listen to, and I felt quite immersed in the setting. A must-read for Jane Austen fans as there are many references to her work. ( )
  Romonko | Jan 25, 2022 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 65 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.79)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 5
2.5 4
3 39
3.5 20
4 84
4.5 6
5 31

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 176,547,719 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible