IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Vanishing (Fogg Lake) de Jayne Ann…
S'està carregant…

The Vanishing (Fogg Lake) (edició 2020)

de Jayne Ann Krentz (Autor)

Sèrie: Fogg Lake (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
3461377,081 (3.55)7
While I usually love her books, this one left me feeling a little flat. ( )
  kbreader | May 2, 2022 |
Es mostren totes 13
Maybe someone else can tell me - as I typically only read the Jayne Castle "Harmony" books, so this is my first foray into Krentz's contemporary paranormal-thrillers - but do all of her books interconnect?

I ask because these felt more like Harmony novels then not. Maybe because Krentz uses much the same language to describe the powers? I kept waiting for someone to discuss tuning amber (though they did mention tuning something to the proper frequency).

This isn't a complaint persay, more of a confusion. I love the Harmony novels; a blend of paranormal and scifi romance I really enjoy. Its just weird to hear that lingo alongside real world stuff.

Anyhow.

This was engaging and had snappy characters. None of the secondary cast felt extraneous (okay maybe Roger and Brenda and...Alice? I forget her name), and the principle cast felt real. Makes sense, Krentz has been at this for a LONG time across multiple genres and pen names. The spark between Slater and Catalina was warm, their relationship progressed naturally though I was in a weird position of wishing they HADN'T jumped into bed together.

The two grew closer and more open with each other in such an intimate way that adding a physical component almost got IN the way of the development.

There was a lot of back-and-forth confirmation of facts that readers could infer pretty easily, but the characters didn't know. It got tedious and ruined the flow of the story at times.

Overall a solid book. I have the second book on the docket, but I'll reserve judgement on the physical book keeper status until I've read all three. I reread the Harmony books, well some of them, frequently enough to warrant owning physical copies. Not sure if I'll reread this series yet. ( )
  lexilewords | Dec 28, 2023 |
Meh. ( )
  mmcrawford | Dec 5, 2023 |
While I usually love her books, this one left me feeling a little flat. ( )
  kbreader | May 2, 2022 |
Ever since she was branded a fake psychic by local officials and media, Catalina Lark has left the remnants of her old live behind. Along with her friend, Olivia LeClair, Catalina started Lark and LeClair investigations in which the two use their psychic abilities to search for clues overlooked by traditional detectives. When Olivia is kidnapped by an organization trying to find lost labs where research was done that enhance psychic abilities, Catalina is contacted by Slater Arganbright from his Uncle's group called The Foundation to help her find Olivia and some clues into the lost labs. Catalina's last experience with The Foundation caused her to have to start her entire life over, but she knows she has to work with Slater or Olivia will never be found.

The Vanishing sets up the Fogg Lake mystery that seems as though it will continue throughout the three books series. The first few chapters that introduce the psychic powers that many of the characters use and explain how those powers manifest are very enjoyable. The search for clues is very entertaining and leads the protagonists to some very interesting characters. Unfortunately the story goes downhill from there, starting with a sudden jump from subtle hints of romance in the background of the story to a jarring insta-love and a quick HEA by the end of the book, with many loose ends about the characters left unaddressed. This series would be so much better if Catalina and Slater were the protagonists of all three books, allowing their relationship and character arcs to develop more naturally. In addition, the ending of this book goes far too long after the climax of the story, setting up the next two books. Overall, The Vanishing starts out with such promise but ends up being little more than an average romance/mystery. ( )
  ftbooklover | Feb 1, 2022 |
Jayne Ann Krentz begins a new paranormal suspense story with THE VANISHING. Some years ago an accident in the small California town of Fogg Lake caused the people living there and their descendants to develop paranormal powers. Catalina Lark and Olivia LeClair had always been taught not to let anyone know about their powers.

Now, after Catalina was outed by a former boyfriend, she and Olivia have opened an detective agency that investigates people. Their work is helped by their ability to see auras and Catalina's ability to get brief glimpses of the future. When Olivia goes missing, Catalina needs to call in some help.

Slater Arganbright is sent from the shadowy organization known as the Foundation because he needs Catalina for a different task. But Catalina is only focused on finding Olivia and it soon becomes apparent that their goals are the same.

Slater is looking for someone who killed noted collectors of paranormal artifacts which may lead to a hidden lab which was built to weaponize paranormal powers. The government shut down the labs years ago but there are still those looking for the things that were discovered and willing to murder anyone who gets in their way.

Slater and Catalina have both had difficulties with relationships before they met each other. However, each has what the other needs and a relationship begins between them. The relationship does take a backseat to discovering who kidnapped Olivia and solving the mysteries that surround Fogg Lake and the missing lab.

This was an entertaining paranormal suspense story. I liked the characters and the banter between them. I can't wait to read the rest of the series. ( )
  kmartin802 | May 25, 2021 |
Jayne Ann Krentz begins a new paranormal suspense story with THE VANISHING. Some years ago an accident in the small California town of Fogg Lake caused the people living there and their descendants to develop paranormal powers. Catalina Lark and Olivia LeClair had always been taught not to let anyone know about their powers.

Now, after Catalina was outed by a former boyfriend, she and Olivia have opened an detective agency that investigates people. Their work is helped by their ability to see auras and Catalina's ability to get brief glimpses of the future. When Olivia goes missing, Catalina needs to call in some help.

Slater Arganbright is sent from the shadowy organization known as the Foundation because he needs Catalina for a different task. But Catalina is only focused on finding Olivia and it soon becomes apparent that their goals are the same.

Slater is looking for someone who killed noted collectors of paranormal artifacts which may lead to a hidden lab which was built to weaponize paranormal powers. The government shut down the labs years ago but there are still those looking for the things that were discovered and willing to murder anyone who gets in their way.

Slater and Catalina have both had difficulties with relationships before they met each other. However, each has what the other needs and a relationship begins between them. The relationship does take a backseat to discovering who kidnapped Olivia and solving the mysteries that surround Fogg Lake and the missing lab.

This was an entertaining paranormal suspense story. I liked the characters and the banter between them. I can't wait to read the rest of the series. ( )
  kmartin802 | May 25, 2021 |
I launched into this without any prior knowledge on what the book was about - just the title and cover art, which is a method I frequently use when picking up my next read. I had not anticipated the theme of the book at all, thinking it would be a run of the mill mystery novel. It was interesting to have that added angle, and I am fairly convinced I wouldn't have chosen this if I had read the blurb, so that went to my benefit - trying something new is often a plus. I liked the characters and the setting. The concept of a village that keeps itself to itself is a nice juicy one for a book, and I enjoyed that. The romantic interest seemed feasible and certainly well balanced. The main characters all had a good strength to them as well. A surprise 'like' from me ( )
  Vividrogers | Jan 11, 2021 |
Review to follow later ( )
  RavinScarface | Dec 13, 2020 |
40 years ago there was "The Incident" in Fogg Lake and every since the residents have been changed. They all keep it quiet but it's their lives at stake. Catalina Lark and Olivia Dayton have moved away and using their skills for their investigation firm. When Olivia goes missing Cat goes looking for her. With the help of Slate Trevelyan she investigates and past and present collide in an interesting paranormal romance.

I enjoyed the read and the characters. This series is building the paranormal worlds she has been playing with in her various guises. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Aug 5, 2020 |
DESCRIPTION, NOT REVIEW:
Decades ago in the small town of Fogg Lake, The Incident occurred: an explosion in the cave system that released unknown gases. The residents slept for two days. When they woke up they discovered that things had changed—they had changed. Some started having visions. Others heard ominous voices. And then, scientists from a mysterious government agency arrived. Determined not to become research subjects of strange experiments, the residents of Fogg Lake blamed their “hallucinations” on food poisoning, and the story worked. But now it has become apparent that the eerie effects of The Incident are showing up in the descendants of Fogg Lake.…

Catalina Lark and Olivia LeClair, best friends and co-owners of an investigation firm in Seattle, use what they call their “other sight” to help solve cases. When Olivia suddenly vanishes one night, Cat frantically begins the search for her friend. No one takes the disappearance seriously except Slater Arganbright, an agent from a shadowy organization known only as the Foundation, who shows up at her firm with a cryptic warning.

A ruthless killer is hunting the only witnesses to a murder that occurred in the Fogg Lake caves fifteen years ago—Catalina and Olivia. And someone intends to make both women vanish. ( )
  treehousereader | Apr 5, 2020 |
Sometimes I wonder why I continue to read Jayne Krentz books. I don't buy them anymore, just buy them from the library. But when I started this one, it was like reading a mash up of other Krentz books -- the usual paranormal elements, the similar chief protagonists, a familiar kind of plot, and the one thing I really hate -- the villains always explain in the last moment to the Hero/heroine, why and how they did the things they did. This is just a failure in a book purporting to be mystery or suspense. It's happens in every book. Maybe I've just read too many of her books. But the books move fast and the dialog and prose don't give me the creeps, so I guess I'll keep reading them -- maybe. ( )
  phyllis2779 | Feb 8, 2020 |
A murder witnessed by Catalina and Olivia when they were teenagers has come to the surface after 15 years, and neither of the girls knows they are in danger.

Well...Catalina realizes something is up when Olivia is kidnapped.

The girls have a unique skill since an explosion in their town had occurred when they were teenagers....they have psychic abilities and see auras.

Hopefully their abilities will be able to save Olivia and will guide Catalina to her.

We follow the characters and the story line in this sleepy town of Fogg Lake that doesn't have access to technology, and we meet many psychics and hope that Olivia is found.

I am not really into the paranormal genre, but there was enough suspense and mystery to keep my attention and to keep me reading.

Those readers who enjoy this genre will definitely be treated to an excellent book. 4/5

This book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  SilversReviews | Jan 7, 2020 |
Another solid romantic suspense from Krentz. It returns to her psychic characters, although there is no sign of the Arcane Society. (There are, however, hints of a connection to Harmony.)

Decades ago, the small town of Fogg Cove experienced an explosion in the local caves which left its inhabitants and the descendents with psychic abilities. When teenagers Catalina and Olivia witness a murder in the caves, no one believes them, thinking it merely hallucinations from their budding powers.

Years later, the two of them live in Seattle and run a private investigator business, using their abilities to read crime scenes. When Olivia is kidnapped, Catalina is forced to work with Slater Arganbright, nephew of the head of the mysterious Foundation, which no one from Fogg Lake trusts.

Nicely twisty, with solid characterizations and a believable romance. ( )
  readinggeek451 | Aug 12, 2019 |
Es mostren totes 13

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.55)
0.5
1 2
1.5 1
2 4
2.5 1
3 13
3.5 8
4 28
4.5 1
5 6

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 207,106,589 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible