IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Worst Best Man: A Novel de Mia Sosa
S'està carregant…

The Worst Best Man: A Novel (edició 2020)

de Mia Sosa (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
3062170,943 (3.68)9
"A romantic comedy that's fun and flirty, young and fresh." - PopSugar  One of Oprah Magazine's 21 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020, EW's 20 New Books to Read in February, and PopSugar's 25 Brilliant New Books Hitting Shelves. A LibraryReads Pick for February and Amazon Best Romance of the Month! Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy #ownvoices enemies-to-lovers novel, perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne! A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn't lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina's offered an opportunity that could change her life. There's just one hitch... she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.  Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he'll be working with his brother's whip-smart, stunning--absolutely off-limits--ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.  If they can nail their presentation without killing each other, they'll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina's ready to dish out a little payback of her own.  Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn't interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again... "The Worst Best Man is rom-com perfection. . . Sosa has a gift with words that's infectious and wry, one that keeps the pages turning in delight." -- Entertainment Weekly… (més)
Membre:julieag
Títol:The Worst Best Man: A Novel
Autors:Mia Sosa (Autor)
Informació:Avon (2020), 368 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

The Worst Best Man de Mia Sosa

Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 9 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 21 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Oh wow, this book grabbed me from the first page with the snarky, fun writing. Wedding planner Lina gets dumped at the altar. Worse, her husband-to-be’s brother, Max, is the one designated to break the news. Three years later and all three of them (Max, Lina, and the loser ex-husband-to-be) are all teamed up together on a high-profile project no one wants to foul up (oh the drama!) and this gets sooooo fun and hilarious! I loved the slow burn between these two as they worked on their project together, worked through their past issues, and found activities they enjoyed doing together as a couple (all while pretending to hate each other.) And the cool bits of Brazilian culture (and food—OMG so yummy!!!) were neat to read about!

Please excuse typos/name misspellings. Entered on screen reader.
( )
  KatKinney | Mar 3, 2022 |
I don't know if Goodreads is randomly removing books from my shelves or if I had completely forgotten to add this one.

But either way, I have absolutely loved this book, it was funny and light hearted and I really enjoyed going through it.

I loved the characters, their banter and their dynamic. I also loved learning a little about Lina's Brazilian background and culture.

Overall it was a really adorable book! ( )
  Ray_ | Jan 19, 2022 |
Adored this book!

Full review here: www.loveinpanels.com/prose/the-worst-best-man ( )
  Cerestheories | Nov 8, 2021 |
Three years ago, Lina was left at the alter by Andrew, who left it to his brother, Max, to tell her as well as putting the blame on him for it. Now Lina is up for a job as a wedding planner at an exclusive local hotel. She is in competition with another planner, and since the hotel has hired the advertising firm owned by Andrew's and Max's mother, each one of them has been assigned to help a candidate create a presentation. Max and Andrew have been in competition for years, so it is a no-brainer that Max will work with Lina. She agrees, but also still harbors ill feelings toward both brothers, and her family convinces her that this is an opportunity for revenge. It isn't long before Lina realizes that Max isn't who she thought he was, and working with him becomes much more personal.

Although The Worst Best Man is a fun romance, it also tackles a couple of tougher issues such as abandonment and familial competition. Also, Lina's family offers humor and an insight into Brazilian culture. While the feelings between Lina and Max happen almost too quickly, especially with the anger that Lina is still experiencing, the couple's retreat is extremely cute and provides an opportunity for Max's and Lina's affection for each other to grow. Overall, this book is a quick and enjoyable read. ( )
  ftbooklover | Oct 12, 2021 |
"It's refreshing to speak with someone who not only relates to my experience but also doesn't think the way I respond to it is entirely flawed. Protecting yourself from hurt doesn't mean you're broken. It means you're human...Every person has to decide whether to lower their shield and when."

Romantic comedies are slowly becoming my favorite genre in between heavy reads. Worst Best Man is one of the best I've read so far. The writing was great throughout and I didn't want to put it down. Mia Sosa really knows how the keep a reader captivated. I loved that this enemies to lovers story was all about communication and how the characters learn to trust again.

Here are some of my highlights:

👰🏽 Brazilian representation
👰🏽 Afro-Latinx perspective
👰🏽 communication & patience in relationships
👰🏽 strong, close knit Latinx family
👰🏽 discussion of issues in interracial dating
👰🏽 enemies to lovers & second chance at love tropes
👰🏽 yummy food mentions
👰🏽 strong character development& well written side characters
👰🏽 behind the scenes of wedding planning
👰🏽 great balance between the storyline and the right amount of steam
👰🏽 ambitious and funny female lead

I felt the chemistry between Lina and Max from the start and watching their evolution just made my heart melt. I so glad this one is leading to a spin off. Lina and Max remind us that without honest and open dialogue a relationship is doomed to fail. No one should have to settle for anything less than they deserve out of fear. I would love to see this one as a movie. Hollywood are you listening? I am officially a Mia Sosa lifetime fan.

#WorstBestMan #MiaSosa #afrolatinx #ownvoices #boricua #Brazilian #LatinxRomance #books #LatinxBookstagram #bookreviews #ReadCaribbean #ReadPuertoRican
#AvonBooks #latinxfiction #bookish #bookphotos #skyline #bookdragon #bibliophile #bookworm #reading #paperbacks #romcom #readlatinx #weddingplanner #interracialdating
#bookrecommendation #lovestory
#enemiestolovers #secondchance ( )
  Booklover217 | Aug 19, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 21 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Mia Sosaautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Mitchell, WayneNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Mozo, RebeccaNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

"A romantic comedy that's fun and flirty, young and fresh." - PopSugar  One of Oprah Magazine's 21 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020, EW's 20 New Books to Read in February, and PopSugar's 25 Brilliant New Books Hitting Shelves. A LibraryReads Pick for February and Amazon Best Romance of the Month! Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy #ownvoices enemies-to-lovers novel, perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne! A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn't lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina's offered an opportunity that could change her life. There's just one hitch... she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.  Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he'll be working with his brother's whip-smart, stunning--absolutely off-limits--ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.  If they can nail their presentation without killing each other, they'll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina's ready to dish out a little payback of her own.  Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn't interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again... "The Worst Best Man is rom-com perfection. . . Sosa has a gift with words that's infectious and wry, one that keeps the pages turning in delight." -- Entertainment Weekly

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.68)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 5
2.5 1
3 21
3.5 15
4 39
4.5
5 14

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 171,993,923 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible