IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

City Spies (1) de James Ponti
S'està carregant…

City Spies (1) (edició 2020)

de James Ponti (Autor)

Sèrie: City Spies (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
4351557,469 (4.03)1
Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Mystery. Suspense. HTML:A New York Times bestseller!
A GMA3 Summer Reading Squad Selection!
"Ingeniously plotted, and a grin-inducing delight." ??People
"Will keep young readers glued to the page...So when do I get the sequel?" ??Beth McMullen, author of Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls

In this thrilling new series that Stuart Gibbs called "a must-read," Edgar Award winner James Ponti brings together five kids from all over the world and transforms them into real-life spies??perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls.

Sara Martinez is a hacker. She recently broke into the New York City foster care system to expose her foster parents as cheats and lawbreakers. However, instead of being hailed as a hero, Sara finds herself facing years in a juvenile detention facility and banned from using computers for the same stretch of time. Enter Mother, a British spy who not only gets Sara released from jail but also offers her a chance to make a home for herself within a secret MI6 agency.

Operating out of a base in Scotland, the City Spies are five kids from various parts of the world. When they're not attending the local boarding school, they're honing their unique skills, such as sleight of hand, breaking and entering, observation, and explosives. All of these allow them to go places in the world of espionage where adults can't.

Before she knows what she's doing, Sara is heading to Paris for an international youth summit, hacking into a rival school's computer to prevent them from winning a million euros, dangling thirty feet off the side of a building, and trying to stop a villain...all while navigating the complex dynamics of her new team.

No one said saving the world wa
… (més)
Membre:RawhideYouth
Títol:City Spies (1)
Autors:James Ponti (Autor)
Informació:CASTERMAN (2020), 336 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

City Spies de James Ponti

En préstec

Prestat 2024-04-02 — Venciment 2024-04-16 — Vençut
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 1 menció

Es mostren 1-5 de 15 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Independent Reading Level: Grades 4-5
Awards: 2023 Charlie May Simon Award and the Sunshine State Young Reader's Award
  djlackey | Apr 28, 2024 |
MI-6 has a team of spies so secret that only a few members of the agency are aware of their existence. Five kids from around the world train and work out of a clandestine location in the north of Scotland under the supervision of “Mother” and “Monty”. In City Spies, author James Ponti introduces the reader to five unique kids from around the globe who bring unique talents and backgrounds to the team.
The story opens with Sara (aka. Brooklyn) -- a hacker rescued by “Mother” from juvie -- joining Paris, Sydney, Kat, and Rio to work undercover at youth climate conference and science competition. Their goal is to stop a potential eco-terrorist and keep another team of kids from wining the one million Euro prize. As Brooklyn learns about the mission and is introduced to her teammates, she realizes that her hacking talents aren’t going to be enough for this mission. She needs to get in spy shape to scale buildings, learn slight of hand, solve the puzzles surrounding a recluse tech mogul and a crime syndicate, all the while navigating the dynamics of the spy team. While Brooklyn be up for a mission in Paris in three weeks? “Mother” calls her a natural, but are her natural spy skills going to be enough?
This is my first book written by Ponti. A former screenwriter, Ponti packs this book with lots of action. There is some character development through flashbacks but most of the book focuses on the team of kid spies solving the problems that seems to confront them as every turn during their mission. My initial reaction is that it has elements of Harry Potter and Mission Impossible.
( )
  AnnesLibrary | Jan 28, 2024 |
Good book. ( )
  PKolb | Sep 10, 2023 |
Brooklyn has just been removed from another bad foster situation. Her strong sense of justice and action to make things right through hacking has gotten her into trouble, again. When Mother comes to get her out of juvenile detention and take her to a boarding school in Scotland, her whole life is upended. She's been recruited for a team of MI6 teens who are about to go on mission.
An action-adventure read which finds the kids in Paris at an international youth summit trying to stop a possible attack. Each of the kids has a set of skills and the team grows and learns from each other throughout. Has a bit of a Charlie Thorne vibe too.
Fun read. ( )
  ewyatt | May 13, 2023 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 15 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Premis

Llistes notables

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Mystery. Suspense. HTML:A New York Times bestseller!
A GMA3 Summer Reading Squad Selection!
"Ingeniously plotted, and a grin-inducing delight." ??People
"Will keep young readers glued to the page...So when do I get the sequel?" ??Beth McMullen, author of Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls

In this thrilling new series that Stuart Gibbs called "a must-read," Edgar Award winner James Ponti brings together five kids from all over the world and transforms them into real-life spies??perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls.

Sara Martinez is a hacker. She recently broke into the New York City foster care system to expose her foster parents as cheats and lawbreakers. However, instead of being hailed as a hero, Sara finds herself facing years in a juvenile detention facility and banned from using computers for the same stretch of time. Enter Mother, a British spy who not only gets Sara released from jail but also offers her a chance to make a home for herself within a secret MI6 agency.

Operating out of a base in Scotland, the City Spies are five kids from various parts of the world. When they're not attending the local boarding school, they're honing their unique skills, such as sleight of hand, breaking and entering, observation, and explosives. All of these allow them to go places in the world of espionage where adults can't.

Before she knows what she's doing, Sara is heading to Paris for an international youth summit, hacking into a rival school's computer to prevent them from winning a million euros, dangling thirty feet off the side of a building, and trying to stop a villain...all while navigating the complex dynamics of her new team.

No one said saving the world wa

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.03)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 12
3.5 1
4 21
4.5
5 14

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 205,796,516 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible