IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Girl, Serpent, Thorn de Melissa Bashardoust
S'està carregant…

Girl, Serpent, Thorn (edició 2020)

de Melissa Bashardoust (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
6683029,164 (3.81)3
SOMETIMES THE PRINCESS IS THE MONSTER From the author of Girls Made of Snow and Glass, this captivating and utterly original Persian-inspired fairy tale about a girl cursed to be poisonous to the touch is perfect for fans of Natasha Ngan and Naomi Novik. 'Monstrously beautiful and enchanting' Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand There was and there was not, as all stories begin, a princess cursed to be poisonous to the touch. But for Soraya, who has lived her life hidden away from everyone, apart from her family, safe only in her gardens, it's not just a story. As the day of her twin brother's wedding approaches, Soraya must decide if she's willing to step outside of the shadows for the first time. Below in the dungeon is a demon who holds knowledge that she craves, the answer to her freedom. And above is a young man who isn't afraid of her, whose eyes linger not with fear, but with an understanding of who she is beneath the poison. Soraya thought she knew her place in the world, but when her choices lead to consequences she never imagined, she begins to question who she is and who she is becoming . . . human or demon. Princess or monster.… (més)
Membre:PortableMagicBooks
Títol:Girl, Serpent, Thorn
Autors:Melissa Bashardoust (Autor)
Informació:Flatiron Books (2020), Edition: 1st Us Edition, 336 pages
Col·leccions:Neil - Modern Library
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

Girl, Serpent, Thorn de Melissa Bashardoust

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 3 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 30 (següent | mostra-les totes)
3.25 ⭐
It was a nice story, nothing astonishing and I could see the plot twists from miles away.
But the Persian setting and sapphic turn offered enough to be a entertaining read. ( )
  mpturra | Sep 19, 2022 |
About as three stars as you can get. It neither captivated, bored, or offended me. ( )
  liltastypuff | Sep 12, 2022 |
I rather enjoyed the beginning of this book but unfortunately it got rather boring to me about midway through. I just found myself unable to care about the conflict or the characters and a lot of the events this book were very convieniently executed and too easily remedied so that it was hardly an inconvenience. ( )
  Oblivionsdream | Jul 18, 2022 |
This was a retelling of a Persian folktale. It has a ton of great imagery in it, and I enjoyed that the most. I hate love triangles. Here, it was somewhat more developed than love triangles usually are, and sometimes I was intrigued. I was cheering for the two women to get together, though. Each character was morally gray. At times, I was fascinated. Other times, I grew irritated. Too much of an interesting trope, I guess. Everyone got way, way too creepy for me as the story continued. I still congratulate the author on her success. ( )
  iszevthere | Jul 3, 2022 |
I love fairy tale retellings, and Melissa Bashardoust tells a lovely fairy tale. In Girl, Serpent, Thorn, Soraya was cursed before her birth to have a poisonous touch. It’s a trope that’s been written many times before, but what makes this retelling so magical is the wonderfully detailed setting. Sister of the future Shah, Soraya has been kept locked away in a lovely garden for fear others will learn of her condition. It’s a beautiful prison, but a prison all the same.

Now her brother is getting married and one of the beings who cursed her has been captured. Could there be a way to reverse the spell? I loved the slow unfolding of this tale, the characters, and the beautiful descriptions. There were so many twists and turns in this fairy tale, but I loved that the underlying theme was learning to love yourself and recognize your strengths just as they were rather than see differences as weaknesses. A beautiful fairy tale retelling.

Please excuse typos/name misspellings. Entered on screen reader.
( )
  KatKinney | Mar 3, 2022 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 30 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Melissa Bashardoustautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Gorovoy, AnnaDissenyadorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Massoud, NikkiNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Vinogradova, SashaDissenyador de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
I am both the Sleeping Beauty and the enchanted castle, the princess dorwses in the castle of her flesh.

--Angela Carter, Vampirella
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
TO ANYONE WHO HAS EVER FELT POISONOUS OR MONSTROUS OR BRISTLING WITH THORNS
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Stories always begin the same way: There was and there was not.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

SOMETIMES THE PRINCESS IS THE MONSTER From the author of Girls Made of Snow and Glass, this captivating and utterly original Persian-inspired fairy tale about a girl cursed to be poisonous to the touch is perfect for fans of Natasha Ngan and Naomi Novik. 'Monstrously beautiful and enchanting' Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand There was and there was not, as all stories begin, a princess cursed to be poisonous to the touch. But for Soraya, who has lived her life hidden away from everyone, apart from her family, safe only in her gardens, it's not just a story. As the day of her twin brother's wedding approaches, Soraya must decide if she's willing to step outside of the shadows for the first time. Below in the dungeon is a demon who holds knowledge that she craves, the answer to her freedom. And above is a young man who isn't afraid of her, whose eyes linger not with fear, but with an understanding of who she is beneath the poison. Soraya thought she knew her place in the world, but when her choices lead to consequences she never imagined, she begins to question who she is and who she is becoming . . . human or demon. Princess or monster.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.81)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 2
3 21
3.5 6
4 35
4.5 2
5 16

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 176,588,928 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible