IniciGrupsConversesExplora
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Measuring Up de Lily LaMotte
S'està carregant…

Measuring Up (edició 2020)

de Lily LaMotte (Autor), Ann Xu (Il·lustrador)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1829133,441 (4.13)1
For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu! "A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world." --Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops "A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures." --Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má's, seventieth birthday together. Since she can't go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids' cooking contest to pay for A-má's plane ticket! There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food. And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too? A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List Featured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issue A CBC Hot off the Press October Selection … (més)
Membre:ms.isnotameany
Títol:Measuring Up
Autors:Lily LaMotte (Autor)
Altres autors:Ann Xu (Il·lustrador)
Informació:HarperAlley (2020), 208 pages
Col·leccions:EDLM 536: Survey of YA Lit
Valoració:***1/2
Etiquetes:PIC

Informació de l'obra

Measuring Up de Lily LaMotte

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 1 menció

Es mostren 1-5 de 9 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Measuring Up is a YA graphic novel for ages 9 to 12. The plot concerns a young girl who moves from her native Taiwan to Seattle with her parents when she is 12 years old. Cici misses her grandmother back in Taiwan and comes up with a plan to raise the money the family needs to bring her over for a visit. Cici decides to enter a cooking contest that is similar to the Great British Bakeoff where 12 contestants cook each weekend. One contestant is eliminated each week. The only requirement for the contest is to use whatever ingredient is demanded for that particular week. Cici only knows how to cook Chinese food so her challenge was to learn to make American food.

Measuring Up is about much more than the contest. We read how difficult it was for Cici to assimilate into American culture. Her mother filled her lunchbox with Taiwanese food which disgusted her classmates. Finding friends was a challenge because she was culturally Chinese and had to learn how to act like an American.

Fans of Gene Luen Yang's American Born Chinese will love Measuring Up. ( )
  Violette62 | Dec 4, 2022 |
Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
  fernandie | Sep 15, 2022 |
Lily has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle. She slowly adapts to the new culture and language, but still misses her grandmother terribly. In order to raise money, she impulsively enters a cooking competition to use the prize money for a plane ticket for her grandma.

What I Loved:
I loved how this graphic novel activates more senses due to the artwork of the food. We see how food brings people together and allows us to use our culture and background as a way to proudly declare where we are from and what we love.

What I Missed:
The book was a very slow plot, with a predictable ending. It still shares an important story of connecting two parts of yourself into expression, but it's just a slow story. ( )
  ms.isnotameany | Jul 27, 2022 |
Cici moves from Taiwan to Seattle, enters a cooking competition in order to bring her grandmother to visit. All the heart!!! The book tackles new friends and moving and new customs in a new country. Also microaggressions -- Taiwan and China are different places with different cultures and food. I love the multi-generational cooking connection that Cici has both with her mother and with A-ma and how cooking helps her bond with her partner in the competition. Navigates the tension kids feel over what their parents want for them vs their own passions deftly, and altogether just delivers a wonderful middle grade story. The love for Julia Child and Cici's local librarian are also highlights of the book.

( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
Recommended Ages: Gr.

Plot Summary: Cici didn't want to move away from her beloved A-ma, so Cici regularly has video chats from the US to Taiwan. Cici made new friends quickly at school but deparately wants to bring her A-ma to the US for her 70th birthday. Unfortunately, they don't have money to pay for the ticket so Cici joins a cooking show contest with a $1,000 prize. She is matched randomly with Miranda, who is a serious expert in the kitchen. Can Cici contribute to their team? Will they win the money?

Setting:

Characters:
Cici -
A-ma - Cici's grandma, still lives in Taiwan, turning 70
Jenna and Emily - best friends
Miranda - dad owns an Italian restaurant, grew up working there, wants to be a graphic novelist

Recurring Themes: cooking, family, values, future career, racism, microaggressions, surprise, cooking show, culture

Controversial Issues: none

Personal Thoughts: Fabulous. Absolutely fabulous. Covers so many important topics in such a kid-friendly way from such a kid perspective. Love that it's about a family who is adapting to a new culture in positive ways, even with struggles. (Cici already knew English.) Friendships and family are real and honest. Great read.

Genre: realistic fiction

Pacing: fast
Characters: well developed
Frame:
Storyline:

Activity: ( )
  pigeonlover | Dec 15, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 9 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Lily LaMotteautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Xu, AnnIl·lustradorautor principaltotes les edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu! "A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world." --Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops "A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures." --Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má's, seventieth birthday together. Since she can't go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids' cooking contest to pay for A-má's plane ticket! There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food. And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too? A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List Featured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issue A CBC Hot off the Press October Selection 

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.13)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 4
3.5 2
4 14
4.5
5 13

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 182,955,822 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible