IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

A Master of Djinn

de P. Djèlí Clark

Altres autors: Mira la secció altres autors.

Sèrie: Dead Djinn Universe (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1,3475914,360 (3.92)114
"Nebula, Locus, and Alex Award-winner P. Djèlí Clark returns to his popular alternate Cairo universe for his fantasy novel debut, A Master of Djinn Cairo, 1912: Though Fatma el-Sha'arawi is the youngest woman working for the Ministry of Alchemy, Enchantments and Supernatural Entities, she's certainly not a rookie, especially after preventing the destruction of the universe last summer. So when someone murders a secret brotherhood dedicated to one of the most famous men in history, al-Jahiz, Agent Fatma is called onto the case. Al-Jahiz transformed the world forty years ago when he opened up the veil between the magical and mundane realms, before vanishing into the unknown. This murderer claims to be al-Jahiz, returned to condemn the modern age for its social oppressions. His dangerous magical abilities instigate unrest in the streets of Cairo that threaten to spill over onto the global stage. Alongside her Ministry colleagues and a familiar person from her past, Agent Fatma must unravel the mystery behind this imposter to restore peace to the city-or face the possibility he could be exactly who he seems..."--… (més)
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 114 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 59 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Fatma el-Sha’arawi is a snappy dresser and has a swordcane. Along with her girlfriend Siti she is investigating a murder that seems to be setting things up for more death and destruction. There's also politics involved and power hungry cultists when that power can be magical. It's worse when there are people who have half an idea what they're doing but also have wealth that they can abuse to get avoid the repercussions of what's happening.
When I first started to read this I found it hard going but when I returned to it this time after the initial hump I found it a compelling read, the latter half was closer to a 4 star but the start was a problem. It's set in an alternative 1912s Egypt where magic has changed how Egypt changed and developed and I liked the worldbuilding. I would like to read more of the back stories to see more of the characters and in some ways I think I was helped by liking the Haunting of Tram Car 015 and I dearly would love to have more description of some of the clothing to help me visualise what people were wearing (the ereader did not help much with those and I hate picking up my phone to check things as that way leads to too much distraction) ( )
  wyvernfriend | Jul 12, 2024 |
A murder mystery in alternate reality 1912 steampunk fantasy Egypt. Sure, bring it on.
I could have done with less descriptions of snappy suits, and a brighter detective, but I liked the world building and characters in general. Also, the descriptions of the food made my mouth water. ( )
  Yggie | Oct 12, 2023 |
Fun read. The ending was simple to figure out, but didn't detract from the fun Egyptian setting.
  Tom_Wright | Oct 11, 2023 |
A book filled with magic and murder could only be heightened by smart, competent, kick-ass women! So, settle down for a treat as this book has all that and so much more.

Fatma, is an amazing character and I absolutely got the biggest thrill following her thought process and seeing her work. This book was just a whole lot of fun with a great pace and I feel like saying more would start spoiling it.

If you like great worldbuilding, dialogue, characters, read this. Come for the magic, and stay for the other deeper meanings or not, but I guarantee you will have a great time while here. ( )
  DramPan | Sep 6, 2023 |
I love the setting of this novel, an alternate-historic Cairo where Djinn, Jann, "Angels," and other magical beings live amongst regular mortals. Because of the reintroduction of magic to the world, and Cairo being the epicenter of it, the city has become a world power again in the early 20th century. Because of the amount of magical beings now in existence, a new governmental agency was created to investigate magical crimes, events, or incidents, the Ministry of Alchemy, Enchantments and Supernatural Entities. Our protagonist, Fatma el-Sha’arawi, is tasked to investigate a grisly group murder, one where a secret Brotherhood devoted to al'Jahiz, the man responsible for bringing djinn back to the world, is murdered in a mysterious manner. The investigation leads Fatma to the lowest slums in Cairo, to the highest echelons of society, where she uncovers a plot that won't just destroy Cairo, but will destroy the whole world. The book has funny moments, riveting action, plenty of suspense, romance, and interesting characters, who also appear in the novela and short story set in this world. I recommend it if you are interested in alternate history, djinn, non-Western settings, or steampunk. ( )
  quickmind | Aug 19, 2023 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 59 (següent | mostra-les totes)
With its richly imagined world and characters and its high-stakes and thrilling plot, this novel would make such a fantastic show in the vein of The Nevers and Carnival Row, but better.
afegit per Dariah | editaBuzzfeed
 
What a wonderful world P. Djélì Clarke has created here ― an Arab world never colonized, where magic-powered trams glide through a cosmopolitan Cairo and where djinns make mischief among humans.
afegit per Dariah | editaNational Public Radio (NPR)
 
Clark deftly explores colonialism and the history of Cairo with an immersive setting that acts as another character in this delightful combination of mystery, fantasy, and romance. Give this to alternate history enthusiasts and mystery readers who enjoy a dose of the magical.
afegit per Dariah | editaBooklist, starred review
 
Clark reconfigures history with a keen, critical eye toward gender, class, and imperialism. An epic tale of magic and mystery, this is sure to wow.
afegit per Dariah | editaPublishers Weekly, starred review
 

» Afegeix-hi altres autors

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
P. Djèlí Clarkautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
El-Attar, SuehylaNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Foltzer, ChristineDissenyador de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Hong, KevinIl·lustradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Martiniere, StephanAutor de la cobertaautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Pertany a aquestes col·leccions editorials

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
For Claudette,
who many others called Liz, and I just called Mom.
Thanks for all those library visits.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Archibald James Portendorf disliked stairs.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

"Nebula, Locus, and Alex Award-winner P. Djèlí Clark returns to his popular alternate Cairo universe for his fantasy novel debut, A Master of Djinn Cairo, 1912: Though Fatma el-Sha'arawi is the youngest woman working for the Ministry of Alchemy, Enchantments and Supernatural Entities, she's certainly not a rookie, especially after preventing the destruction of the universe last summer. So when someone murders a secret brotherhood dedicated to one of the most famous men in history, al-Jahiz, Agent Fatma is called onto the case. Al-Jahiz transformed the world forty years ago when he opened up the veil between the magical and mundane realms, before vanishing into the unknown. This murderer claims to be al-Jahiz, returned to condemn the modern age for its social oppressions. His dangerous magical abilities instigate unrest in the streets of Cairo that threaten to spill over onto the global stage. Alongside her Ministry colleagues and a familiar person from her past, Agent Fatma must unravel the mystery behind this imposter to restore peace to the city-or face the possibility he could be exactly who he seems..."--

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.92)
0.5
1 5
1.5
2 8
2.5 4
3 41
3.5 33
4 116
4.5 21
5 62

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 208,936,238 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible