IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

Amari and the Night Brothers (2021)

de B. B. Alston

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
4782443,691 (4.13)17
New York Times bestseller! Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a trilogy filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor. Amari Peters has never stopped believing her missing brother, Quinton, is alive. Not even when the police told her otherwise, or when she got in trouble for standing up to bullies who said he was gone for good. So when she finds a ticking briefcase in his closet, containing a nomination for a summer tryout at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she's certain the secretive organization holds the key to locating Quinton--if only she can wrap her head around the idea of magicians, fairies, aliens, and other supernatural creatures all being real. Now she must compete for a spot against kids who've known about magic their whole lives. No matter how hard she tries, Amari can't seem to escape their intense doubt and scrutiny--especially once her supernaturally enhanced talent is deemed "illegal." With an evil magician threatening the supernatural world, and her own classmates thinking she's an enemy, Amari has never felt more alone. But if she doesn't stick it out and pass the tryouts, she may never find out what happened to Quinton. Plus don't miss the thrilling sequel, Amari and the Great Game!… (més)
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 17 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 24 (següent | mostra-les totes)
I was looking for something lighter to read and I came across this story. It is good to see a young black female as the protagonist. That being said, this book never really grabbed my attention as the plot felt disjointed and rushed in some places.


( )
  ArcherKel | Aug 17, 2022 |
"People assume stuff about you based on things you can't change about yourself. So I just do my best to prove them wrong, to be the person they're not expecting."

Amari and the Night Brothers by B.B. Alston was everything and so much more. Amari will forever be one of my all time favorite heroines. She was strong-willed, resilient and unstoppable. I was ready to fight everyone for her because the amount of racism and microagressions she had to overcome was infuriating. She was basically being bullied for being a poor, Black girl but still she stayed in the fight and was determined to prove everyone wrong. She was the epitome of #BlackGirlMagic.

I loved the world building and magic system despite hating Amari's assignment. I think it subjected her to even more unwanted abuse and persecution. I appreciated the people who stayed in her corner the entire time and gave her the support she needed to come into her own potential. The writing was solid and kept me captivated the entire time. I wanted to stay up all night to read and the ending has me itching to pick up the new installment immediately.

The main points were timely and relevant:
🔮 Black students face daily microaggressions in schools with majority white students.
🔮 People make many assumptions about others, especially Black students even about things they can't change or control.
🔮 Black people are forced to practice restraint because the cover sequences can cost them their life.
🔮 Positive role models are needed in poor communities to foster better outcomes in youth.
🔮 Black women and girls are forced to carry so much.
🔮 Sibling love is powerful.
🔮 The education system upholds racism and fails BIPOC students.
🔮 Black students are overly surveilled and punished at higher rates.
🔮 Adults fail students when they don't speak out against oppressive systems that abuse marginalized students.

If you are looking for a story full of magic with a curious, brave female youth as a lead, then look no further. You will fall in love with Amari the moment you meet her. Her tenacity and fortitude will win you over. Felix @tarot_and_libros was not lying when he was screaming about the wonders of this book ( )
  Booklover217 | Aug 15, 2022 |
This novel is a 2022 Lone Star novel.

Amari's brother disappeared. Amari is determined to find him and prove he's still alive. Because they are poor and live in a bad part of town, the police assume Quinton was into selling drugs or something illegal like that and had to leave town or was killed. Amari knows better--Quinton received a full scholarship and tutored kids on the side. On the last day of school when Amari gets kicked out of her private school for which she has a scholarship, the doorbell rings. A small creature has a message for her; in fact, he has a briefcase. Somehow it's been delivered to Quinton's bedroom closet. She finds the briefcase with instructions to open it at midnight. She must lie down, put some weird glasses on and wait. Quinton appears. He takes her on a supernatural boat ride, showing her that there's more to the world than one can imagine. He says he must be dead or something bad has happened if she gets this message. Quinton nominates Amari for a summer tryout at the secretive Bureau of Supernatural Affairs.

Amari's life changes. Her mother believes that Amari (and Quinton--back when he did this) is going to a summer camp. It's really a place to learn about the supernatural world and discover where you want to work within it. There are jobs filing papers, keeping track of the unknown, being an agent who fights evil, etc. There are many departments. In this "summer camp," Amari must choose where she want to work and then pass exams/challenges in hopes of being what she wants. Amari chooses Agent, the hardest, most difficult job. She wants to fight the bad guys. Someone/something has Quinton and she wants to investigate and free him. She finds a good friend with her roommate, who is a dragon. How cool is that?! She also finds a friend in one of the most well-established families who chooses to help has as well.

As the novel progresses, you'll meet all sorts of creatures and supernatural departments. Amari will compete against kids who have known about the supernatural world their whole lives. She also has to investigate the disappearance of her brother, so she has a full and challenging plate. There's one surprise for Amari and the entire supernatural world that changes everything. Amari must prove herself to everyone even more now.

I found the novel to be similar in some ways to the plot devices in Harry Potter. I actually read it all in about two days and really enjoyed reading it. There will be more books coming in the series, but this novel does end. There is no cliff hanger, which is nice. Give it a try! ( )
  acargile | Apr 19, 2022 |
Spectacular book -- magic summer camp with a really wonderful main character. Amari is smart, full of integrity, and doesn't give up. When her older brother Quinton disappears, she stops at nothing to find him, even when it means navigating a whole new magical world, her own powers, and significant bullying from rich white kids. I love that she makes up her own mind and grows in confidence as the book unfolds, and that she stands up for herself. It's a new and interesting world, and the adventure is at breakneck pace. Not to be missed! ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
What a fabulous read "Amari and the Night Brothers" turned out to be! Well-written with great pacing, I found it difficult to put down once I started. I adored Amari. She was resilient, persistent, had strong convictions and loved her brother, Quinton, fiercely. She was a breath of fresh air. I also loved her friends, especially her roommate, Elise. They were both outcasts but bonded together to try and solve the mystery of Quinton's disappearance.

The world building was amazing. There was so much detail interwoven with myths and legends which swept me away and the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs felt like a real place. As for the twist at the end - I did not see that coming at all! It was quite a shock but I am looking forward to the next instalment.

"Amari and the Night Brothers" has been likened to the "Harry Potter" series by some readers, however, I have only read the first half of book one as Harry never grabbed my attention. This novel, in comparison, had me from the start so, for me personally, I thought it was a better read than "Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone". Congratulations Ms Alston on a wonderful debut. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Dec 11, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 24 (següent | mostra-les totes)

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

New York Times bestseller! Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a trilogy filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor. Amari Peters has never stopped believing her missing brother, Quinton, is alive. Not even when the police told her otherwise, or when she got in trouble for standing up to bullies who said he was gone for good. So when she finds a ticking briefcase in his closet, containing a nomination for a summer tryout at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she's certain the secretive organization holds the key to locating Quinton--if only she can wrap her head around the idea of magicians, fairies, aliens, and other supernatural creatures all being real. Now she must compete for a spot against kids who've known about magic their whole lives. No matter how hard she tries, Amari can't seem to escape their intense doubt and scrutiny--especially once her supernaturally enhanced talent is deemed "illegal." With an evil magician threatening the supernatural world, and her own classmates thinking she's an enemy, Amari has never felt more alone. But if she doesn't stick it out and pass the tryouts, she may never find out what happened to Quinton. Plus don't miss the thrilling sequel, Amari and the Great Game!

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.13)
0.5 1
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 7
3.5 3
4 19
4.5 5
5 22

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 176,608,317 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible