IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Super Fake Love Song de David Yoon
S'està carregant…

Super Fake Love Song (edició 2021)

de David Yoon (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
1299176,414 (4.17)Cap
An NPR Book Concierge Pick of the Year "The fun of this engrossing read is that underneath the slapstick lies a finely nuanced meditation on how we perform as ourselves." --New York Times Book Review   From the New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a moving young adult novel about friendship, identity, and acceptance. Perfect for fans of John Green and To All the Boys I've Love Before. When Sunny meets Cirrus, he can't believe how cool and confident she is. So when Cirrus mistakenly thinks Sunny plays guitar, he accidentally winds up telling her he's the front man of a rock band. Before he knows it, Sunny is knee-deep in the lie: He gets his best friends to form a fake band with him and starts dressing like a rock star. But no way can he trick this amazing girl into thinking he's cool, right? Just when Sunny is about to come clean, Cirrus asks to see them play sometime. Gulp. Now there's only one thing to do: Fake it till you make it.… (més)
Membre:cassiewason
Títol:Super Fake Love Song
Autors:David Yoon (Autor)
Informació:G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers (2021), 384 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

Super Fake Love Song de David Yoon

Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren 1-5 de 9 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at his wealthy, white California high school. He is introduced to Cirrus Soh, a very cool, worldly, beautiful girl. To impress her, he impulsively tells her he is the front man of a rock band. He starts wearing his rocker older brother's clothes. He ropes his friends Milo and Jamal into forming a rock band to maintain the deception. Along the way, Sunny's perception of himself and those around him changes. He gains confidence. His relationship with his older brother and family improves.
Super Fake Love Song is hilariously, cleverly funny. Gut busting, roll-on-the-floor funny. David Yoon definitely has a way with words. Because I am an ancient, pre-internet fossil, I was a huge fan of the John Hughes movies from the 80s. In many ways this book echoes the themes of those movies: breaking down stereotypes, dysfunctional families, being true to, and standing up for yourself. Super Fake Love Song goes further and also addresses racism and diversity. The characters were relatable. I loved Sunny's friends Milo and Jamal. I thought they were the big heroes of the story in terms of standing by Sunny throughout all the insanity. Super Fake Love Song is a funny, fast-paced entertaining read that also makes the reader think. ( )
  PennyOlson | Jan 8, 2021 |
I received an ARC of this book for free from the publisher (Penguin Teen). Since I received an ARC, my quotes from the book are tentative.

I had previously read Yoon’s other novel, Frankly In Love, and loved it, so I knew I had to pick this one up.

It should first be said that this book is different than Frankly in Love. This book is less serious and more light hearted, so don’t go into this book expecting it to be just like Frankly in Love.

I thought this book was so fun. I found the whole “fake being in a band to impress a girl” premise to be well executed. I loved seeing how it all came together.

As for the actual romance, it was not the most exciting thing. I didn’t find Sonny and Cirrus’s relationship to be all that interesting or compelling. I just didn’t see the chemistry. In terms of relationships and dynamics, the book really shined in regards to Sonny and his brother. I loved seeing them reconnect. I also liked the friendship dynamic between Sonny and his two best friends, Milo and Jamal.

I was really glad that Gunner, the school bully, was so much more than that. Oftentimes YA authors just use bullies as an adversarial cliche, but in this book we discovered that there was more lurking under his tough exterior.

Lastly, I just love Yoon’s writing style. It flows so well and is highly entertaining. He is also so good at making big points in very subtle ways. For example, there is a short mention of the racist background of the national anthem. He writes, “ the crowd groaned along with its hoary antiquated lyrics, as always omitting the third stanza threatening murder for free former slaves” (pg 107). It was a brief nod, but I liked how it brought attention to it.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading what he writes next! ( )
  oddandbookish | Dec 30, 2020 |
I read this in early December......I put off writing a review until now because, aside from laziness, what I had to say about it wasn't coming to me very easily. I read "Super Fake Love Song" quicker than I do most books. David Yoon has a very easy to read writing style that makes speed reading pretty easy.

It is what I was expecting, after reading the preview, and also Yoon's "Frankly in Love." In fact, it's just the kind of book I was looking for. Something fast and lighthearted and a bit predictable with a happy ending, maybe something that was an improvement on "Frankly in Love," which, while I liked, I had a few problems with...

In the end I think I feel about the same with both of them. "Super Fake Love Song" is the solid, lighthearted narrative I was looking for, but nothing amazing. Aside from a lot of the humor not landing for me, my one big issue is that Cirrus is underdeveloped to a point that I find ridiculous. Also maybe it's just me but I was more interested in a story about Gray lol.
  alliepascal | Dec 18, 2020 |
This was my first David Yoon book. It was really good! I truly enjoyed it! But, I do feel like something was missing, I'm just not sure what.

The story itself is about Sunny who, when he meets the new girl, doesn't correct her when she assumes he's in a band. He proceeds to convince his best friends to help him with the charade.

In reality, he's more of a Dungeons and Dragons kind of nerd. (If you've never played, it's actually really fun!) And has to constantly try to pretend like he's this rockin' lead singer of a band.

As you can imagine, things don't really go as planned. At first they do, and he really feels on top of the world! And there is this beautiful girl completely enthralled with this fake version of himself. But, of course, in the end (as in all stories) he has to come clean.

The story was definitely really funny! And I could definitely see someone attempting this! (Although, I don't think they'd be as successful!)

I recommend this for any Young Adult and Romance fans!

Also, I absolutely LOVE this cover!! ( )
  Yodareads12 | Nov 30, 2020 |
I really didn’t think David Yoon wrote books I would like. Only after receiving an advanced reader copy of Frankly in Love and thinking, “What the heck... the cover has great typography!” did I give his debut book a try. Well... I fell in love with the writing, the plot and, most of all, the characters. I couldn’t put it down.

So when Super Fake Love Song was announced, I knew I just had to read it! And what do you know?... it did not disappoint! Yoon’s narrative is fun, witty and written with a maturity that anybody could enjoy the story. His characters come alive and each of them possesses a trait or relays an experience that all of us can relate to, thus making them even more genuine.

And don’t get me started on the author’s humor... some of the dialogue is seriously laugh out loud funny! The cover design is adorable complete with fun 80s colors and eye catching illustration. It’s a safe bet to say that I’ll be looking forward to more of David Yoon’s books!

Super Fake Love Song is a super cute book! ( )
  jnhk | Nov 17, 2020 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 9 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

An NPR Book Concierge Pick of the Year "The fun of this engrossing read is that underneath the slapstick lies a finely nuanced meditation on how we perform as ourselves." --New York Times Book Review   From the New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a moving young adult novel about friendship, identity, and acceptance. Perfect for fans of John Green and To All the Boys I've Love Before. When Sunny meets Cirrus, he can't believe how cool and confident she is. So when Cirrus mistakenly thinks Sunny plays guitar, he accidentally winds up telling her he's the front man of a rock band. Before he knows it, Sunny is knee-deep in the lie: He gets his best friends to form a fake band with him and starts dressing like a rock star. But no way can he trick this amazing girl into thinking he's cool, right? Just when Sunny is about to come clean, Cirrus asks to see them play sometime. Gulp. Now there's only one thing to do: Fake it till you make it.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.17)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5 3
4 6
4.5
5 5

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 170,361,265 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible