IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Twice Shy de Sarah Hogle
S'està carregant…

Twice Shy (edició 2021)

de Sarah Hogle (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
495420,061 (3.88)No n'hi ha cap
No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren totes 5
Maybell is a daydreamer and Wesley is a serious non-people person. They don't seem like they would be a match, but as they learn more about each other they are drawn together.

Cute romance of forced proximity. I sometimes got a little confused during Maybell's daydreams, but after I got used to them I found them a fun part of the overall story. ( )
  sdbookhound | Jun 17, 2021 |
This is a light, predictable rom-com that might be perfect to read in between more serious historical fiction or edge-of-your-seat mysteries. The best word to describe this novel is "sweet" and maybe a little too sweet, depending on your taste buds. The characters (Maybell and Wesley) start out as polar opposites but end up falling for each other - remember it's a rom-com. Great Aunt Violet bequeaths them jointly a huge but ramshackle manor in the Smokie Mountains. Each has a different vision of how they want to renovate and to what purpose. Maybell, who is a dreaming romantic and a top-notch baker, has a vivid imaginary life that includes the perfect coffee shop. She envisions a hotel/retreat that can also accommodate weddings, reunions, and holiday events. Wesley is a strong, moody hunk who has a green thumb and is a talented artist. He envisions an animal sanctuary and protector of the environment.

The book is divided into four parts: 1. Maybell's harsh experiences as a child and then working at a hotel, 2. Maybell and Wesley meet and learn of Great Aunt Violet's wishes for them to co-inherit her hoarder-crowded old mansion, 3. Maybell and Wesley can't communicate and misunderstand each other, 4. they admit their feelings for each other, compromise on their visions for the renovation, and live happily ever after.

I haven't shared any spoilers as to how they get from #1 to #4 because after all, that's for you to discover when you read the book. ( )
  PhyllisReads | May 20, 2021 |
Super cute! Very much written in the same style as her first book, which was also very enjoyable. ( )
  iewi | May 18, 2021 |
I'm honestly not going to say it, but I want you to all know that I'm absolutely thinking it. In fact, in private notes, there will be a 'note to self' about this book and author. But it's my secret.

Twice Shy was not a big departure in many ways from the sparkling You Deserve Each Other, and I won't really compare, I need to set it aside, and I will after this: You Deserve Each Other was a bittersweet gut punch that made me laugh and cry and was a heavily personal reading experience. This book didn't touch those deep unspoken spaces for me. (But few do, so that's an aside)

But TWICE SHY was still a bittersweet gut punch that stung my eyes and made me laugh. I *suspect* that this will work for others in ways that You Deserve Each Other didn't. Unfortunately, I am just not going to talk about the book much. There are pieces here that remind me of the genre's finest authors and some of their best work. And there are pieces here that smack of that style - effervescent and yet gorgeous - a bubble maker of thoughts - that so many try for in contemporary and few truly succeed. I think Hogle, by and large, succeeds. Some of it was patchy, maybe a little over-the-top (not that I'm one to complain) and I felt a tiny bit of a void in the setup. The only other characters that played any significant role on page were dead or antagonistic (or a device), and I think this could've been more well-rounded with something else. Appropriate as it was due to the conflict, that always leaves me wanting.

But man oh man are there scenes in this that will stick in my brain. Nothing near perfect and therefore perfect in a romance. Because this is Hogle's second romance, I will say I do enjoy her ability to explore the antagonistic and internal conflicts in a relationship with a refreshing voice. The self-doubt and mistrust comes off as more genuine than others offering the tired "I'm not good enough for you," etc conflict. And while communication is once again a central piece of the conflict here, it is done in a different and authentic way.

"Is it too much to ask you to be less nice," I bemoan.
He gives me a once-over. "I don't understand that thing you're wearing. Your top is attached to your shorts. How do you go to the bathroom?"
"Yes. More comments like that. And it's called a romper, by the way."

As a romance, Twice Shy is one of the most successful contemporaries I've read. While maybe I could've used more time, a little less conflict and a little more *something* between our characters to be a perfect romance for me, it's perfect in the sense that I finished the book truly believing these two would do nearly anything to make the other happy in an honest and genuine relationship. And what's better than that? Late night confessions and fantasies come to life? Oh, Yes.

4.5 rounded up b/c I'm on the upside of a slump, and honestly, I'm nice. ( )
  samnreader | Apr 9, 2021 |
Maybell Parish, a dreamer and a hopeless romantic, inherits a charming house in the Smokies from her Great-Aunt Violet. Seizing the opportunity to make a fresh start, she moves out of her shared apartment and quits her job before discovering it seems her troubles have only just begun. When she arrives at her newly inherited home that is in the brink of collapsing, she is informed that she isn't the only inheritor. She has to share everything with Wesley Koehler, the groundskeeper who's as grouchy and as it turns out he has a very different vision for the property's future.

Convincing the taciturn Wesley to stop avoiding her and compromise is a task more formidable than the other dying wishes Great-Aunt Violet left behind. As renovations begin to restore the home, Maybell uncovers something unexpectedly sweet beneath Wesley's scowls and cold-shoulders—leading readers in a heartwarming tale about two strangers that find love where they least expected. Love that had me wanting more, more, and more of this sweet romance!

Shortly after putting this highly anticipated release down (with a show of hands, who else has been waiting for this since 2020?) and devouring it in one sitting (not the first and surely not the last with this author), I had to take a moment to gather myself… because this was absolutely phenomenal. Sarah Hogle is hands down the new queen of romance! She has me 2 for 2, 5 star ratings!

Oh my goodness!

‘Twice Shy’ was perfect.

It’s the only word to describe how she was able to bring these characters to life with the romance, storyline, humor, and real life issues (death, anxiety, etc). This slow burn romance hit me right in the feels! And the characters were incredible—so what’s not to love?

One hand we have Maybell—epic one-liners, hopeless romantic that more often than not daydream of being swept off her feet by ‘Jack’ in her AU where she owns a cute retro coffee shop. Then the other, Wesley—brooding, grumpy, grouchy loner who has an unexpected soft side to him. He’s so book boyfriend material. Wesley was adorable and I couldn’t help but want to hold him when he got shy, flustered, and struggled with his social anxiety. Seriously as the story progressed, I fell more in love with the main characters. They’re so charming, real, raw and I simply couldn’t get enough.

Honestly I never have much success with authors follow up novels. There is always a major flaw that makes them fall flat and I didn’t think it was possible for the author to top ‘You Deserve Each Other’ but ‘Twice Shy’ pars for sure.

‘Twice Shy’ is perfect for fans of “The Hating Game’, ‘You Deserve Each Other’ and ‘Shortcake’, especially for readers who are looking for opposites attract romance, laugh out moments, amazing characters with a decent plot that glues everything together. ( )
  ayoshina | Jan 13, 2021 |
Es mostren totes 5
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.88)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 7
4.5 1
5 2

GenreThing

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 159,183,416 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible