IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Dark Things I Adore: A Novel de Katie…
S'està carregant…

Dark Things I Adore: A Novel (edició 2021)

de Katie Lattari (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
893263,495 (3.63)Cap
"This vengeful tale that pits artistic genius against mental health and happiness will captivate fans of dark suspense."--Library Journal, STARRED review A debut thriller for fans of Lucy Foley and Liz Moore, Dark Things I Adoreis a stunning Gone Girl-esque tale of atonement that proves that in the grasp of manipulative men, women may momentarily fall. But in the hands of fierce women, men will be brought to their knees. Three campfire secrets. Two witnesses. One dead in the trees. And the woman, thirty years later, bent on making the guilty finally pay. 1988. A group of outcasts gather at a small, prestigious arts camp nestled in the Maine woods. They're the painters: bright, hopeful, teeming with potential. But secrets and dark ambitions rise like smoke from a campfire, and the truths they tell will come back to haunt them in ways more deadly than they dreamed. 2018. Esteemed art professor Max Durant arrives at his protégé's remote home to view her graduate thesis collection. He knows Audra is beautiful and brilliant. He knows being invited into her private world is a rare gift. But he doesn't know that Audra has engineered every aspect of their weekend together. Every detail, every conversation. Audra has woven the perfect web. Only Audra knows what happened that summer in 1988. Max's secret, and the dark things that followed. And even though it won't be easy, Audra knows someone must pay. A searing psychological thriller of trauma, dark academia, complicity, and revenge, Dark Things I Adoreunravels the realities behind campfire legends--the horrors that happen in the dark, the girls who become cautionary tales, and the guilty who go unpunished. Until now. "A smart, nuanced exploration of victims and villains, inspiration and theft, and the intersection of these things, in every artist. Pay attention to Katie Lattari. She's the real deal."--Sarah Langan, author of Good Neighbors… (més)
Membre:Jazzybabs
Títol:Dark Things I Adore: A Novel
Autors:Katie Lattari (Autor)
Informació:Sourcebooks Landmark (2021), 420 pages
Col·leccions:Llegit, però no el tinc
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

Dark Things I Adore de Katie Lattari

Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren totes 3
The setting: the beautiful, forest filled small town in Maine. Dual timelines weaving the past and the present in an impressive way we follow Professor Max Durant and his most elusive student to date, Audra, as they travel from Boston to Audra's home town of Maine for a weekend escape filled with anticipation, lust and possibility We get to read about this scandalous get away from both Max and Audra's point of view, the back and fourth allowing for the reader to slowly inhabit the minds and intentions of Professor and Student; The stark contrast between perspectives is shocking and beautifully executed.. Next we travel back to the 1980's, an artists retreat nestled in Maine, a tight knit group of friends enjoying the creation of their respective art projects and the company of the group. What was supposed to be an amazing time goes awry leaving the group with secrets, and nightmares after the murder of one of their own. There is only one person left who knows just what happened that night, and they are determined to settle the score. What happened all those years ago? Why is a tenured professor risking everything for a weekend with a student, and just who is calling the shots?

This is an incredible dark and twisted tale, in the tradition of Gone Girl and The Secret History readers are sure to fall in love with this perfectly calculated game of connect the dots. Hooked from page one, and still obsessively pondering this story days after I've finished Dark Things I Adore is sure to become an instant sensation.

A big thank you to Netgalley, Katie Lattari, and Sourcebooks for a digital e-copy of Dark Things I Adore in exchange for my review. It is my extreme pleasure to present to you my humble opinion of one incredible novel. If you read any new releases this fall, let it be Dark Things I Adore. ( )
  chasingholden | Apr 26, 2022 |
Dark Things I adore by Katie Lattari is a 2021 Sourcebooks Landmark publication.

Well, that was different.

In 1988 a group of offbeat artists gathers at a remote campsite located in the Maine woods. They each go by an ‘artistic’ name and not their give names. This even applies to those who are on staff at the campsite, which includes Cindy- who goes by the name, ‘Coral’. Coral was hired to clean up after the campers, but she too has an artistic flair, so they allow her to sit in on their art sessions. What should have been a nice and place for artistic exploration and inspiration turns sinister, dark and ugly, as jealousy and desires boil over, made even more tense by Coral’s battles with her own demons and those who wish to use for their own creative ambitions.

2018- Max Durant, an esteemed art professor is keen on mentoring a brilliant art student named Audra- and naturally, he’s also entertaining the idea of seduction.

When he’s invited to visit her home to look over her artistic thesis, he’s beyond eager to get her alone. What he doesn’t know is that he’s stepped right into Audra’s trap…

I admire the ‘artistic’ approach the author utilized to keep this book from looking and sounding like every other psychological thriller out there. Unfortunately, it was a little too artistic at times, and I struggled to keep all the characters strait, on top of dealing with a dual timeline which didn’t always transition smoothly.

Nevertheless, I was invested enough in the story to stick with it, if for no other reason than to see how it all came together in the end. I finally started to get into it, in earnest, in the last quarter of the book and began to understand the method to the madness a little more.

The wrap-up is solid though. It does all come together in the end, and it is obvious the author put some thought behind the plot and the way it would reveal itself. Her method is successful, to a degree, as it kept me in the dark for a long time. Sure, some portions of the mystery become obvious in time, but it took me a while to finally piece together what had led to such a strategic and intense line of retaliation and to figure out all the whodunit parts, too.

Overall, this is an interesting concept for this genre. It’s a weird story in some ways, but at least it had some originality. I just wish the execution had been better.

3.5 stars ( )
  gpangel | Apr 15, 2022 |
I found this one a bit hard to get into at first. There were quite a few characters to sort through but as the story progressed, the main characters started to emerge. While there were no great twists and most readers will quickly figure things out, it’s still a very compelling, dark and suspenseful revenge story. I stayed up way too late reading the last quarter of this book and couldn’t wait until the next day to find out what happens and how it all pans out. The fact that this story takes place in the art world was an added plus for me. I found this to be a very well-written thriller that slowly builds momentum to an explosive conclusion. I’ll certainly be looking for future works from this author.

Highly recommended. This was a Goodreads giveaway win for me. ( )
  hubblegal | Sep 14, 2021 |
Es mostren totes 3
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

"This vengeful tale that pits artistic genius against mental health and happiness will captivate fans of dark suspense."--Library Journal, STARRED review A debut thriller for fans of Lucy Foley and Liz Moore, Dark Things I Adoreis a stunning Gone Girl-esque tale of atonement that proves that in the grasp of manipulative men, women may momentarily fall. But in the hands of fierce women, men will be brought to their knees. Three campfire secrets. Two witnesses. One dead in the trees. And the woman, thirty years later, bent on making the guilty finally pay. 1988. A group of outcasts gather at a small, prestigious arts camp nestled in the Maine woods. They're the painters: bright, hopeful, teeming with potential. But secrets and dark ambitions rise like smoke from a campfire, and the truths they tell will come back to haunt them in ways more deadly than they dreamed. 2018. Esteemed art professor Max Durant arrives at his protégé's remote home to view her graduate thesis collection. He knows Audra is beautiful and brilliant. He knows being invited into her private world is a rare gift. But he doesn't know that Audra has engineered every aspect of their weekend together. Every detail, every conversation. Audra has woven the perfect web. Only Audra knows what happened that summer in 1988. Max's secret, and the dark things that followed. And even though it won't be easy, Audra knows someone must pay. A searing psychological thriller of trauma, dark academia, complicity, and revenge, Dark Things I Adoreunravels the realities behind campfire legends--the horrors that happen in the dark, the girls who become cautionary tales, and the guilty who go unpunished. Until now. "A smart, nuanced exploration of victims and villains, inspiration and theft, and the intersection of these things, in every artist. Pay attention to Katie Lattari. She's the real deal."--Sarah Langan, author of Good Neighbors

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.63)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 2
4 2
4.5
5 1

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 176,698,768 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible