IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Duplicate Death (Inspector Hemingway #3) de…
S'està carregant…

Duplicate Death (Inspector Hemingway #3) (1951 original; edició 2010)

de Georgette Heyer

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
7552229,991 (3.61)77
Classic Literature. Fiction. Mystery. HTML:

Double the murder means double the stakes in this Golden Age mystery from Georgette Heyer

Inspector Hemingway has his work cut out for him when a seemingly civilized game of Duplicate Bridge leads to a double murder. The crimes seem identical, but were they carried out by the same hand? Things become even more complicated when the fiancée of the inspector's young friend Timothy Kane becomes Hemingway's prime suspect. Kane is determined to prove the lady's innocence??but when he begins digging into her past, he finds it's more than a little bit shady...

Classic country house mystery, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers!

"Ranks alongside such incomparable whodunit authors as Christie, Marsh, Tey, and Allingham." ??San Francisco Chronicle

"The wittiest of detective story writers."??Dail… (més)

Membre:amai
Títol:Duplicate Death (Inspector Hemingway #3)
Autors:Georgette Heyer
Informació:Sourcebooks Landmark, Kindle Edition, 352 pages
Col·leccions:Read
Valoració:***
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

Duplicate Death de Georgette Heyer (1951)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 77 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 22 (següent | mostra-les totes)
London is the scene for a card party given by a social-climbing hostess. Suddenly, the seemingly civilized game of Duplicate Bridge is interrupted by a double murder, both victims murdered by the same sinister method, strangled with picture wire. The crimes seem identical, but were they carried out by the same hand? And, what was the connection between the first, a mysterious man of the world, and the second, an ambitious widow? Inspector Hemingway has his work cut out for him, and the odds of solving this crime are stacked up against him.

Things become even more complicated when Miss Beulah Birtley, the fiancée of the inspector's young friend Timothy Kane, becomes Hemingway's prime suspect. Kane is determined to prove the lady's innocence-but when he begins digging into her past, he finds it's more than a little bit shady... That morning, Miss Beulah bought the weapon. Before supper, she had spit out her hatred for the victim in poisonous--and public--words. And at the party, she was the last to see him alive. They found him slumped in a chair-his handsome head lolling forward on his well-cut dinner jacket--his florid face hideously distorted. A horrible death, observed the Inspector. But very simple for a young lady like Beulah to arrange... Mrs. Haddington, the second victim, is found strangled in the exact same spot where one of her daughter's many suitors had also been strangled. Fortunately, the first-rate detective doesn’t miss a trick. Hemingway #3 ( )
  Karen74Leigh | Jul 3, 2023 |
Mrs. Haddington is giving a bridge party, inviting some 50 or so bosom buddies to play cards all evening at her home, with an eye perhaps to restoring her beautiful daughter Cynthia to the heart of someday-to-be Baronet Timothy Harte. But Timothy loves Mrs. Haddington’s secretary, Beulah Birtley, while the rather dapper but slippery Daniel Seton-Carew seems to be making inroads with Cynthia despite being her mother’s age. When Seton-Carew is found dead in Mrs. Haddington’s boudoir, Detective Chief Inspector Hemingway has numerous suspects to examine, but when a second murder occurs that is almost identical to the first, his theories are baffled by the possibilities…. This is one of the “country house murder” series, although the house in question is set in London rather than in the country; also interesting to me is that the book was published in 1951 and is set perhaps a couple of years earlier, certainly after World War II, but there is no mention of issues like food rationing (which continued in England until 1953). Then again, the characters are all within the upper classes, so perhaps that omission is reasonable. In fact, aside from a few mentions of WWII, a reader would think the setting to be in the 1920s - or even 1890s, come to think of it! In any event, the book is a slight but engaging bit of fluff, with the outcome hinging on a very obscure bit of British legalese which I found quite amusing; mildly recommended. ( )
  thefirstalicat | Jul 15, 2022 |
I simply could not be interested in finishing this mystery. In fact, the story dawdled so terribly that I didn't get to where there *was* a mystery. Normally I don't rate DNF books, but Heyer is such an excellent author in her Georgian- and Regency-era novels that I wanted to try this mystery. A story that takes so long to move forward is never going to engage my interest, especially considering that GH generally is very adept at drawing in the reader. ( )
1 vota SandyAMcPherson | Sep 26, 2021 |
Not among my favorite Heyer tales. Just not much in it and largely unlikable characters. ( )
  JBD1 | Sep 1, 2021 |
A select dinner party followed by a more general bridge evening goes horribly wrong for the hostess Mrs Haddington. On taking a telephone call in the Boudoir a guest at the party is found murdered. Thankfully for most of the guests they are not suspected. Inspector Hemingway is called in to investigate. Just when he believes he knows the killer another body is discovered. Killed in the same way. What could be the possible connection between the two dead people and what motive for their deaths.
Originally written in 1951.
I found this to be an enjoyable read and an interesting if slow-paced mystery.
A NetGalley Book ( )
  Vesper1931 | Jul 29, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 22 (següent | mostra-les totes)
"Pungent dialogue and A1 characterization."
afegit per SaraElizabeth11 | editaTIME magazine
 
"Ms. Heyer is one of the most entertaining writers I have ever read."
afegit per SaraElizabeth11 | editaReading Extravaganza
 
"Miss Heyer has the delightful talent of blending humor with mystery."
afegit per SaraElizabeth11 | editaBoston Evening Transcript
 
"Georgette Heyer is second to none."
afegit per SaraElizabeth11 | editaSunday Times
 

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (11 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Georgette Heyerautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
Addis, MattNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Birvé, UlliNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Kožená, LudmilaTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Liebe, Poul IbTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Meunier, DeniseTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Stiehl, HermannTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Pertany a aquestes col·leccions editorials

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
This book having been written in response to the representations of certain members of the Bench and Bar is therefore dedicated to them with the Author's humble duty.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
There were several promising-looking letters in the pile laid on Mrs James Kane's virgin breakfast plate on Monday morning, but having sorted all the envelopes with the air of one expectant of discovering treasure-trove, she extracted two addressed to her in hands indicative either of illiteracy or of extreme youth.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Classic Literature. Fiction. Mystery. HTML:

Double the murder means double the stakes in this Golden Age mystery from Georgette Heyer

Inspector Hemingway has his work cut out for him when a seemingly civilized game of Duplicate Bridge leads to a double murder. The crimes seem identical, but were they carried out by the same hand? Things become even more complicated when the fiancée of the inspector's young friend Timothy Kane becomes Hemingway's prime suspect. Kane is determined to prove the lady's innocence??but when he begins digging into her past, he finds it's more than a little bit shady...

Classic country house mystery, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers!

"Ranks alongside such incomparable whodunit authors as Christie, Marsh, Tey, and Allingham." ??San Francisco Chronicle

"The wittiest of detective story writers."??Dail

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.61)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 8
2.5 2
3 49
3.5 8
4 55
4.5 6
5 18

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 206,093,676 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible