IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Wish Book Christmas de Lynn Austin
S'està carregant…

The Wish Book Christmas (edició 2021)

de Lynn Austin (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
4114503,808 (4.37)2
Membre:BBCLibraryPortage
Títol:The Wish Book Christmas
Autors:Lynn Austin (Autor)
Informació:Tyndale House Publishers (2021), 304 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Christmas, 1950's, 20th Century, Historical Fiction

Informació de l'obra

The Wish Book Christmas de Lynn Austin

En préstec

Prestat 2021-12-19 — Venciment 2022-01-19 — Vençut
Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 2 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 14 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Thanks to The Book Club Network and Tyndale House Publishers for a gifted copy. All comments and opinions are my own.

I loved the cover, with its promise of a nostalgic Christmas story, so was looking forward to reading this novella provided by Christian publisher Tyndale House of two young boys being raised by their single mothers in 1950s America. This was a follow-up to Austin's earlier novel If I Were You, which I hadn't read. I was thankful Austin provided plenty of background throughout, so I didn't feel lost. And at the conclusion of The Wish Book Christmas is the first chapter from the earlier book, which described the way the two single mothers who had been friends in wartime Britain, came to be living together in the United States. Now I'm motivated to read the first one.

The story format is a twenty day countdown to Christmas, beginning with two five-year-old boys discovering a Christmas Wish Book magazine and adding all the toys featured in it to their Christmas list. The mothers are dismayed at the greedy selfishness of their sons, and plan a strategy to teach the boys the true meaning of the holiday.

The concept of gift giving and receiving those gifts we least expect and often don't deserve is reinforced throughout the novel, as well as the notions of forgiveness and healing. These Christian themes are introduced by the author and reiterated clearly by the mothers, as well as by some of the other characters. An additional plot element is the romance angle for both women, with a happily ever after ending.

If you're looking for an uplifting, Christian-themed Christmas-time book that's a quick but meaningful read, you'll enjoy this story with a feel-good message. ( )
  PhyllisReads | Jan 26, 2022 |
The story of Eve and Audrey from “If I Were You” continues in this Christmas novel. The year is 1951, and their boys are obsessed with the Sears Christmas Wish Book. Pouring over the pages, wanting everything they see, they can think of little else. The mothers decide to try to make them understand the real meaning of Christmas. They steer the boys into making “wiseman gifts” for others, and before long, the boys throw themselves into the new venture. They meet new people, make new friends, discover the joy in giving, and even plan a birthday party for Jesus. It’s not without some problems along the way, even for the adults as they struggle with some life-altering decisions. It’s a heartwarming tale, well written with the characters readers have come to know and love, perfect for anytime, but especially for Christmas time. ( )
  Maydacat | Jan 20, 2022 |
Best friends Audrey Barrett and Eve Dawson are looking forward to celebrating Christmas in postwar America, thrilled at the prospect of starting new traditions with their five-year-old sons. But when the 1951 Sears Christmas Wish Book arrives and the boys start obsessing over every toy in it, Audrey and Eve realize they must first teach them the true significance of the holiday. They begin by helping Bobby and Harry plan gifts of encouragement and service for those in their community, starting by walking an elderly neighbor’s yellow Lab - since a dog topped the boys’ wish list for Santa. In the charming tale that follows, Audrey and Eve are surprised to find their own hearts healing from the tragedies of war and opening to the possibility of forgiveness and new love.
  wpcalibrary | Jan 10, 2022 |
The Wish Book Christmas by Lynn Austin follows Audrey Barrett and Eve Dawson from If I Were You. The author recapped just the right amount of information from If I Were You to refresh my memory. I recommend reading the books in order as The Wish Book Christmas felt like a beautiful continuation of If I Were You.

In many ways, The Wish Book Christmas deals with personal growth. Eve, Audrey, and their sons work through expectations, ideals, and thought patterns. As the characters developed, the story gained a depth that is rare for Christmas novellas. When the plot introduced certain ideologies, I questioned where each character would land in the end, but continued reading. Turns out, I liked the outcomes even though I would not embrace some of Eve and Audrey’s parenting methods.

The Wish Book Christmas is perfect for fans of Lynn Austin’s books, including If I Were You. I read this as part of a ladies book club and we had plenty to discuss.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I was provided a copy of this book by the author or publisher. All opinions in this review are my own. ( )
  BeautyintheBinding | Dec 23, 2021 |
Title: The Wish Book Christmas
Author: Lynn Austin
Pages: 304
Year: 2021
Publisher: Tyndale
My rating: 5 out of 5 stars
What a timely book for our times! The story is about two young women whose lives are intertwined by events that occurred during WWII. These women are best friends who are raising their sons to be more focused on giving than receiving during the Christmas season. Audrey Barrett wants to continue her schooling to become a nurse while Eve is working full-time to help support her son. Audrey and Eve live together to share life together and help make ends meet during a tough economic time. However, as I read the book, I realized there is more to the story.
These two women have suffered heartache as well. Through it all, they have remained best friends, encouraged each other and supported each other through thick and thin. Their boys keep looking at the Sears Christmas Wish Book, as usual for kids, wanting every toy they see. Together the moms come up with unique ways to teach the value and blessing of being givers to others in the community.
The hardest part for Audrey and Eve is being willing to open their own heart to romance. I didn’t realize when I started the book that the two characters are from the novel, If I Were You, which I haven’t read. I still enjoyed the book as it brings to the forefront that people can make a difference right where they live. I loved how the two moms worked together to teach their sons to look up from the wish book to see folks who they could bless in creative ways.
Lynn Austin did a superb job of showing how friends can support and encourage one another, as well as how faith can embolden people to step out of their comfort zone. Throughout the book, there are references to what each character experienced before their current living situation and season, which is revealed in If I Were You. Whether you read that book or not, I highly recommend reading The Wish Book Christmas and sharing with family and friends.
Note: The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility. ( )
  lamb521 | Dec 1, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 14 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.37)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 2
3.5
4 3
4.5
5 9

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 166,328,252 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible